We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
363
633
205
59
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
363
633
205
59
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews book theme health club food hall nice hotel shower curtain within walking distance executive room swedish pancakes rooms are small breakfast buffet metro station on foot central location bars and restaurants vasa museum bed was very comfortable short stay
Filter
Updating list...
303 - 308 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2015

We stayed here for three weekend nights. The location is a real plus, as it's in the upscale Ostermalm neighborhood, close to many good restaurants and some of Stockholm's best shopping. It's a 20-25 minute walk to Stockholm's old city, but only 5-10 minutes from the Nybroplan harbor area where you can catch the on/off buses and harbor boats. The first room we were given looked out on a scaffolding, and they immediately granted our request for a different room. Our standard double room was small with a small bathroom, but comfortable. It had a love seat, desk, good lighting and flat screen TV, but no bedside tables. It included the shelf of books for which the hotel is known (the lobby area has many book in effectively a working library). The bathroom had a nice tiled shower, but like many European hotels only a pull around shower curtain which allowed water to get all over the floor. The bathroom did have nice toiletries, bathrobes and slippers, which many comparable hotels do not have. There is no air conditioning, so you will have to open the window in warmer months, but there is little street noise at night.

The staff was friendly, especially Marcus who really helped us get to some great restaurants and really seemed to care about our comfort. The breakfast spread was above average. Security is good---almost too good. You need your key to get into the elevator bank and to get from the elevator into the floor where your room is located. It's all a bit of a hassle. They have a small garage under the hotel which is very tight to maneuver around. There is also a private gym, but it costs about $8 and we didn't try it. The room would be 3 stars, but the desirable location and excellent service bring the overall up to 4 stars.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. This isnt a small hotel, it has many rooms. Breakfast selection is good. First day was very busy and layout made it a challenge to get fed. Rooms are on the small side but are perfectly formed and included a seating area. Probably the smallest bathroom I've seen but again it's well designed with ample space for storage. Beds are really comfortable. Double glazing would improve the noise heard from bin collections in the weekday morning. No mini bar though which is unusual for a 4 star hotel. Good stay, friendly staff and good value. Close to two metro stations and a shortish walk to waterside.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2015

I have not stayed in Stockholm before but i imagine there are the same issues with space as every major city, not enough! Single room was comfortable but small. I liked the lobby with the books lining the walls (and in bedrooms too) and the outside terrace was a sun trap and haven of peace. Breakfast was standard self service, no cinnamon buns! Great location 10 mins from the old town on foot, near bars and restaurants. Staff were very helpful.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelpartout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

I stayed at the Mornington for 2 nights on business. The hotel is in a very good, central location, but the lobby is unimpressive with low ceilings and, when I was there, hidden partly by scaffolding. Front desk staff was attentive and helpful. Breakfast was fine, your typical selection of hot and cold foods. Coffee was from a self-service machine and not a terribly good one. My room was quiet and functional, nicely designed but very very small. The bathroom was minuscule without even a separate shower cubicle, just a shower curtain next to the toilet. There are no wardrobes, just a couple of coat hangers on a rack right next to the entrance door of the room. A kettle for making instant coffee or tea is provided. All in all, the Mornington is an okay place, but the size of the rooms and lack of comfort in them reminded me a student dormitory more than a hotel. On the upside, the wifi was fast enough for HD streaming.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lupo_mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015 via mobile

Have stayed many times and this hotel is ok, nice rooms, nice staff, good breakfast. My biggest problem is how noisy the hotel bedrooms are, some rooms don't have double glazing and due to its great location there is always city noise ( and it feels like bins emptied every morning!!) tip - ask for a room down the side street, they are not as big but defo quieter.

Date of stay: June 2015
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Housekeeping Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Sarah,

I was glad to hear that you enjoy staying with us and I hope we will have the pleasure to see you if you visit Stockholm again.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews