We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hall of the Nobel price”

Stockholm City Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$58.00*
and up
Stockholm Wooden Bicycle Tour
Ranked #4 of 301 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Stockholm City Hall is one of Sweden's most famous buildings, and one of the capital's most visited tourist attractions. It houses offices for 200 people including the Municipal Council, and is also famous for its grand ceremonial halls and unique art pieces. The Stockholm City Hall is the venue of the Nobel Prize banquet held on 10 December each year. Between May and September, the City Hall Tower offers a breathtaking view of Stockholm.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Hall of the Nobel price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

If you are in the know of architecture and/or follow the Nobel prize, then this a 4. If not this is a 3.

Helpful?
Thank PerA026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,375
    1,470
    265
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very important visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Must be done the Tour inside the City Hall. It is a well oriented tour with very good explanation what happens there every year: Nobel Banquet, ballroom, graduation ceremony, etc. Nice building with nice view at rear.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilisa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good value and interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My boyfriend and I visited recently, and found it to be more interesting than we expected. Loved the gold room! Our tour guide was great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
72 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very romantic looking building, but apparently nicer to go to during Summer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Apparently you have to go with a tour guide if you want to see the building, so we joined the group of 10 o clock. The building may look old, but apparently isn't. They just used older looking bricks to create that effect. But it's a seriously impressive building. We had like 4 major stops in the most important rooms and it was very interesting. Especially the golden room was something memorable! Apparently there's a trick for the people to look impressive when descending the staircase. There's a star right in between the second and third window opposite the staircase and you just have to keep staring at it and walk slowly. We tried and it was actually very easy to do so. Apparently the designer spent 2 years figuring out the appropriate height of each step to perfect this. Impressive. Yes indeed. It's very nice and do stop by. it is so worth your time!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JK1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not worth it in winter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

The location of city hall is good for photos, but you can take them without entering. The main benefit I was hoping for when I visited was to be able to go up the tower and get a view from there, but it turned out to be closed for the winter. I didn't find it very interesting, mostly because the building may look old but it is very much the opposite.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hellfire500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockholm City Hall also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Stockholm City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing