We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No „Grand Experience“ at Grand Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“No „Grand Experience“ at Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This was my 16th stay in a Leading Hotel in 2011 – and it was the most disappointing one.

I booked two rooms for two nights from Dec. 26 – 28, 2011 via Leading Hotels. I booked a standard and a superior room as the GH-homepage says that all superior rooms „contain a comfortable seating area“ and we looked for a bigger room whre the family could meet for tea time. Rates were SEK 1.690 (190 Euro) for the standard and SEK 2.190 (245 Euro) for the suoerior room, breakfast inculded.

At arrival no doorman was available, an emloyee of the security team called a porter after we requested help with our luggage (the second and third day doormen were available, during bank holidays obviously not). As a Leaders Club member we got an upgrade from no view rooms to harbour view rooms. The habour view superior room (no. 229) was surprisingly small, the „comfortable seating area“ were two armchairs, placed about 1,5 meters away from the bed! The room was newly refurbished, the quality oft he bed was above average and very good (in both rooms).

In total the rooms were not breathtaking, but acceptable for the luxury segment. Annoying was the service. Enough staff was available throughout our stay but they were not very well trained and a „culture to service“ was missing. For example:

- In the bar were no seats available. We asked for a dining option after our 7 hours journey. The waiter answered, not his problem, wait until guests leave the bar. I asked, if we could use one of the free tables at the restaurant and order a la carte. Answer: only if you order the christmas buffet, no other dishes like club sandwich or soups will be served in the restaurant. He finally offered my 70 years old disabled mother a barchair!
- Coats weren’t stored, a cloakroom was missing. All guests leave their jackets in the room by the seats – very nice atmosphere. Finally we got a table at the entrance. With our ordered soups we also got bread and butter. Bread knives were forgotten, we asked three times. After we finished our lunch, the service remembered: oh, now it’s probably too late.
- During breakfast: No smile, guests even take tea and coffee from the service stations on their own. The setting oft he tables does not include cutlery (never seen before; only napkin and a cup were on the place). I asked for cutlery when my ordered egg benedict was served and got the answer: please go to the buffet where cutlery ist available.
- Turn down normally puts a bedcover and decoration pillows away. Not at Grand Hotel, there the bedcover just was folded back on the bed and about six pillows placed on it - I never had this before. As a guest of Grand Hotel, you can start putting the heavy bedcover and the pillows away after turn down was present. Since the second night I knew the reason: The housekeeping maid has no storage for the bedcover in the small room, the wardrobe has not enough space. So she took the bedcover out oft he room as I asked to put it away from the bed.
- Shoe shine at Grand Hotel means moving the shoes slightly in front of the room, without cleaning them.

Why the only restaurant besides the bar serves buffets the whole day (morning buffet, lunch christmas buffet and on the evening „smörgasbord“ (=buffet)) is a secret of the f&b -anager. The Dahlgren restauarnt was closed all three days, the guest only had the chance to join buffets or to use the roomservice (besides the few snacks in the bar). For the hotel probably a perfect combination of revenue (the buffets are not cheap) and no service as there is a self service.

I guess, we had a „Grand Experience“ at Grand Hotel Stockholm – unfortunately the wrong way!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank warum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    384
    141
    58
    36
See reviews for
300
805
136
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had a lovely stay over Christmas 2011 at the Grand. We had a harbour view room which had a spectacular view over the city. Furnishings were old-fashioned (in a nice way!) but at the same time very comfortable and high quality.
Breakfast was great, all foods on offer cooked to perfection. Some hotels go in for an ostentatious interpretation of the breakfast buffet, offering everything but not doing anything particularly well. We were pleased to see the Grand did not take this approach. Service at breakfast was excellent, too; special mention must be made of one staff member, Andrea I think her name was, who should be promoted to head of customer relations immediately.
Some of the other guests did give us a creepy sense that we had stumbled onto an episode of Poirot; we occasionally wondered if breakfast would be interrupted with the announcement of who the murderer was. Obviously this isn't something the hotel can do anything about, however what they can sort out is the attitude of a couple of Cadier bar staff; I don't pay £350 a night in a hotel to be looked down on by some supercilious barman. The hotel could do with reminding them of who is actually serving who. Having said that, other bar staff were lovely and redeemed their less professional colleagues somewhat.
Despite these little niggles I would wholly recommend the Grand to any discerning traveller- we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aemwwlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I have just return from my short trip for Christmas in Stockholm.
Grand it is a great hotel in a very good location and it is the hotel to stay if you are looking for a luxury hotel in Stockholm
The position it is the best overlooking the old town and very near to the shopping center of the city also
The breakfast very nice with a lot of choises and very good quality
Very helpful concierge and very efficient he was assisting us for all the needs
The hotel it is a classical one ,old but in good condition
The room was not so big but very nice setting
The only down side when I was asking for a cofee and a table to sit the answer was than they cannot give a table in the bar just for a cofee only for the dinner if and if was 15.00 h.
The bar it is very nice with a nice view to the water but you dont have where to sit for a coffee!
All the other persons in the hotel except the bar are very nice and helpful
A very nice stay
mm1118

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with 5 like a second digit ..5..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you are looking for the classic five star this should be your choice in Stockholm. Classic interior but don’t expect a trendy boutique hotel with designer furniture and models dresses in black and where its hard to find the reception….(the original part of the hotel even in need of a make over). The rooms are nice some give you an amazing view of the Old town and Royal castle. The service is great when you need it but without people running around you all the time which I personally like. The location put you within walking distance to the most parts of Stockholm and there is a wide choice of good restaurants nearby (not the most trendy ones but very good) Berns Asiatiska, Operakällaren, Wedholms fisk, Zink, and the hotel itself houses two very good resturants and a bar with an amazing view. To top it up you have Stockholm’s, in my opinion, greatest SPA in the basement.

Room Tip: Choose one in the new wing (which have easy access to the SPA and doesn't feel worn down)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillbillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This is a great Hotel, with awesome service in a supurb location. If you are going to Stockholm, this is the hotel to stay at. The whole environment is warm and inviting, the rooms are the lap of luxury and the dining is the cat's meow. This is truely one of Europe's Grand Hotels in all the tradition that it's name encompasses.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillyMaysHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
551 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,492 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,449 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing