We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for little princesses”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #45 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
oslo
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“for little princesses”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Très chic! Sweet room with nice wallpapers, great location, generally quiet and absolutely excellent breakfast! Yummy. I start salivating by trying to think of that breakfast. Take time and a closer look what is offered, you won't regret. The room had a great modern bathroom, very thick window curtains (got a side view over a little piece of Gamla Stan). They introduced an interesting idea of tea and coffee self-service in the lobby, which could make the guests mingle and makes the lobby lively. You will find tea or coffee inside the closet in the lobby and then choose your sofa. Helpful and kind personnel. On the down side, the room ventilation (air conditioning?) cannot be switched off and I was quite cold. Couldn't find any floor heating in the bathroom, so had cold feet. The bed hosts very soft mattress. The door only locks with an old fashioned key, so safety might not be the best, but Gamla Stan is probably not a high risk area. The only thing I really hated in the room was wobbly closet and even if it would be fixed, the style was not appropriate for the room. I think the place has slight room for improvement (better closets, mattresses etc.), but I would definitely come back again, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anaiiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    316
    85
    25
    9
See reviews for
81
253
79
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is a very short walk from the T-Ban subway system, which makes the entire city easy to get to. More importantly, the hotel is located in the best part of the city, Gamla Stan. This is the historic area, full of wonderful buildings and churches. The palace is a short walk. There are numerous restaurants and shops on the island. We arrived very early in the morning and we're hoping to drop off our luggage to go sightseeing. However, to our surprise, they let us check in. They also held our bags after check out so we could continue to enjoy the city before our ferry left. They offer a more than adequate breakfast each morning and coffee/tea in the afternoon. The room was lovely. The bathroom was on the small side, but still more than acceptable by European standards. They had a one piece queen bed!!! This is a very rare find because most hotels put two twins together, which does not make for comfortable cuddling with the husband. The staff was very nice and assisted with every question. We loved this hotel and would absolutely stay here again. The location alone made it a wonderful trip, the hotel was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelandGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This isn't the most modern of Swedish hotels but it has a lovely inviting, warm, authentic feel. The location in the central and beautiful Gamla Stan is great but a slightly disappointing breakfast is the only negative.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views and are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I stayed there for one night. Chose it on a recommendation from a Swedish friend and were not disappointed. The place is small and the rooms not overly large9 or at least the one we had). But the room was very nicely furnished and the service was excellent. This was in October and might have been less appealing in the summer since this room, at least was not air-conditioned. Though the hotel is only a few blocks away from the main shopping drag in Gamla Stan-- a great place to be located--it was quiet. The breakfast was very sumptuous and the breakfast room inviting. If you wish to have a glass of wine in your room, the state run bottle shop store is virtually across the street (hours M-Sat 10AM-7PM)-- a good way to avoid very high Swedish prices in bars and restaurants

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Beautifully decorated hotel tucked away in the Old Town with comfortable beds and chairs, but very little storage space. The single wardrobe was only about one foot wide and there were no drawers for clothes, but cupboard space had been made for a large mini-bar (although those who can afford mini-bar prices presumably stay in more expensive hotels). Unfortunately, our room faced the back (despite the position, I gather that no rooms have sea views) and was excessively dark and gloomy even on a sunny day.
The hotel was furnished throughout with fresh flowers and the whole place was filled with the fragrance of lilies – in October! Also worthy of mention is the excellent and extensive serve-yourself breakfast where you could easily over-indulge in breads, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, yoghourts and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#30 of 154 in Stockholm
465 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,287 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
256 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#76 of 154 in Stockholm
168 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing