We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, friendly and I love it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Ranked #25 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Small, friendly and I love it”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Been here a few times on business and every time I am greeted with a smile and good service.

Great beds, clean, good bar with friendly staff and the restaurants a great as well if you don't want to leave the hotel in the evening.

The only negative point I have about this hotel is that there is no real place to put your clothes but this is by far outweighed by the location, service and the friendly staff.

The manager, Sören, is genuine and is doing all to please his guest without being fake.

Room Tip: If you want to hold small meetings on your trip go for the Lily Dam Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bachram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    438
    124
    46
    13
See reviews for
105
515
56
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

overall i enjoyed the hotels style, however the breakfast service was very poor. It stated that it started at 8am on Saturday which was perfect for us as we had a train to catch at 9am. However nothing was ready at 8am, two staff members turned up a while after 8am and so it took a long time to set everything up. We managed to get some museli and bread close to 8.30 and we asked for a hard boiled egg but were told they would take at least 15 minutes because the oven was being used. When we left at 8.40 no further progress had been made for the other guests waiting for breakfast. I was disappointed in this very sluggish start to the breakfast service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

If you like design hotels here you have one, with original rooms decoration, nice lift and cozy bar and breakfast area.
Rooms size are ok; we had a small balcony with a chair.
The location, even it's not in the Old Town, it's very good, you can go everywhere on foot, and the neighbourhood is nice and plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I've read many reviews about the lack of a bulky lobby desk & other nonsense, but Who Cares?? There is a lobby/foyer with computers and a staff member available at all times for concierge, check-in/out, questions, comments, etc.

My girlfriend had a gluten-allergy, and after the first night, the staff had a gluten-free bread spread ready for her, at no extra cost or hassle, at the hotel breakfast area every morning thereafter.

The concierge (Phil) knew our names after the first day, and had maps/info to answer any Stockholm questions we would certainly have throughout our stay. He even called an old local friend of his to get more detailed reviews of some restaurants/attractions we wanted to visit. Stockholm was wonderful and we will certainly book here again upon our next trip from the States back to Stockholm!

Room Tip: Do not get the smallest room they offer (if you're staying more than 1 night). Upgrade to at le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnny_brav0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The website is much better than the hotel and suggest too high expectations!
First of all there is no real recption, which is a must if you pay a high price, secondly the personnel is not so friendly and tries to act fashionable and snob, but sometimes this behaviour might turn in a rude behaviour. The special effects offered by the structure, like the talking lift, the wanted "building site" effect, the dark atmosphere should be accompanied by some more room comfort.
I think the relationship between quality and price is out of balance in favour of the price! It's a bit too pretentious!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demetrioMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,220 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
692 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
303 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Story Hotel Riddargatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Story Hotel Riddargatan

Property: Story Hotel Riddargatan
Address: 6 Riddargatan, Stockholm 114 35, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#21 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Story Hotel Riddargatan 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique hotel in the very city center of Stockholm. The style is inspired by a combination of urban New York restaurants and bohemian Paris hotels. Located just steps away from Stureplan the Story Hotel provides full service:A lively bar and restaurant, 24-hour room service, free wireless Internet, luxurious Jensen beds, sheets made from organic wool, a safe and a fridge in every room. You should try it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Story Hotel Riddargatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Story Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing