We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location fantastic -- sleek 4-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Location fantastic -- sleek 4-star hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

It has been a year since I last stayed at this property and they still had a record of me on file. As a Gold Elite, I was given a complimentary drink & snack coupon on check-in (which was a nice touch).

This time I was in a regular room, but there was still plenty of space. I thought the room was very well soundproofed and of course the bed was divine.

I was a little disappointed with the housekeeping this time around – my toiletries were not replenished on a daily basis (I was staying 4 nights) and there were things missing from my room including glassware in the bathroom (although it did appear on day 2). I also thought that the room could have been cleaned a little better.

Breakfast was still a high standard, but I noticed that the hot items could sometimes be rather lukewarm if you came down for breakfast after 7:30 am. There was also a little confusion about my Elite Status (as Gold and Platinums get free breakfast), but this was quickly sorted out on check-out.

I didn’t have dinner in the hotel, but did have drinks in the bar a couple of times – it had a really nice atmosphere and the service was excellent. Great for people-watching.

Check-in couldn’t have been nicer – very friendly and helpful staff.

Overall, despite the minor criticisms, this is still a top-notch 4-star hotel. I would certainly recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    246
    64
    30
    9
See reviews for
94
351
46
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Friendly receptionist and quick checking but beware, this is an extremely noisy hotel because of all the restaurants / clubs / bars in the small street in the back. Couldn't get any sleep until after 3 in the morning after the nightclub below finally decided to close. Since the kids were sleeping in the room nextdoor we decided not to ask the reception to change us to other rooms. The next morning however I learned that also my kids had trouble sleeping.
Complained at the reception upon checkout and I learned that the noise on one side of the hotel is a known isue that's a common source of complaints by hotel guests. I really can't understand why a 5 star hotel puts a family with 2 children in an extremely noisy area of the hotel.
For what it's worth.. on a future stay we can get free earplugs at the reception..... what a joke...

Conclusion: Despite the very comfortable beds and nice decorated rooms + decent breakfast I can't consider this hotel to be 5 star at all. What use is a comfy bed if you can't get any good night of sleep anyway ?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cowchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

in the middle of malmo- great location- huge room with wooden floors, normal size bathroom, clean etc, nice flat screen tv. very helpful staff- only complaint is that there a/c needs to be readjusted from time to time- it is a digitally controlled thermostat- and unless a certain button is pushed it will start blowing hot air- they had to come up and do this but they were very prompt. Very helpful and pleasant staff. One of the best hotels I have stayed at in Europe.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank AustrianGruner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Having read the other reviews on TA about this hotel, I'm pretty much in agreement with most of them. Loads of restaurants and bars nearby although you have to queue to get in some of them. One wouldn't any single customers as they wanted to sell tables to couples plus.

Rooms are large and well appointed. Mine had a walk in shower. The decor is all a bit IKEA-ish but then it is in Sweden so I guess they are forgiven. The shape of the hotel is square with corridors running round each floor. My room had an inside view which meant that it was quiet, possibly those with outside views are a bit noisier in the evening as the hotel is right in the social centre of Malmo.

Had one evening meal in the restaurant which although expensive was very nice. The bar is subtly lit, that is to say dim so if you want to read over a drink this is not the place to do it. Beer was expensive at 54Kr for 0.3 litres whereas in one of the local bars it was 64Kr for 0.5 litres (Staropramen).

The gym is in the basement and well equipped for a hotel gym but seemingly underused which meant I could use any of the machines and weights whenever I wanted.

All the staff spoke perfect English and were helpful and pleasant.

The big big drawback to this hotel is the parking. If you can stay here without having a car then I'd advise you to do so. The parking is underground and is very very tight with lots of pillars. The spaces seem to fill up early too so if you're late back you may want to phone a friend to help you park. On top of that it's 250 Kr per night for the privilege.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des_Gruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

STRENGHTS: Convenient location (walking distance form railway station means quick transit to CPH airport), Really nice new furnished rooms, plenty of restaurants nearby
WEAKNESSES: For some people lack of smoking rooms at all
OVERALL: You will find plenty of 4 ***** hotels in Malmo. Renaissance is worth of money spend and in my opinion has better location than Radisson or Hilton.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Collector582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing