We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views, quiet place”
Review of Palapa Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Umdloti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palapa Place
Ranked #4 of 8 Umdloti B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 January 2016

Very nice and cosy small place owned by a fantastic couple.
Not only did we enjoy a great night sleep, but we also had the pleasure to meet two great individuals in Kevan and Marcella.

We stayed there just one night as we had to catch our flight but we regretted we could not stay longer.
The rooms are beautiful, with stunning views of the ocean, and the place is located in a very quiet neighbourhood, which all makes for a very relaxing time.

I would recommend it to anyone heading to the area, or who needs a place before catching their flight at Durban King Shaka Intern'l Airport.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have nicer views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2015

Totally inlove with the Seacape Loft at Palapa Place!
The entire loft is so clean and neat. The sheets and blankets were like new! Every room you enter: be it the lounge, bedroom, kitchen or even the bathroom there was a view of the sea which is absolutely amazing!
The privacy you get is awesome and Marcella and Kevan were perfect hosts. I would recommend the seascape loft without even thinking twice.
Really 5 star quality for 3 star prices. Great value for money :) We would stop by every weekend if we could. A real gem :)

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristineReddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

“Where do we start?, Not just you will stay in one of the most beautiful places with an outstanding view, built by Kevan and Marcella, you will feel amazingly welcomed as well feel that you are part of their family home.
From first contact over 900 miles away to when we left, both Kevan and Marcella have been fantastic, so helpful, accommodating and an absolutely lovely couple.
We stayed at the seascape cottage which has a beautiful balcony overlooking the sea, we loved this balcony so much that we called the little sanctuary of our holiday where we could actually enjoy the beauty of nature just there, where we were. All facilities of the cottage where in perfect condition, let alone their excellent taste of art & decoration.
The cottage seats at the back of a forest, so you literally feel you are part of the nature. We had friends coming to visit us on the week and nobody wanted to leave the place!
We would love to return to this peace of heaven and wish good luck for both Kevan and Marcella

Many thanks

Bella & Jay, London

Room Tip: We chose the Seaescape cottage with the most amazing view you can have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Isabella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2015

We had the fortunate experience of staying at Palapa Place - Seascape Loft for 8 nights it was simply wonderful. The accommodation is of high standard and good quality and comfort with the most awesome view. The quiet fans were a god send in the heat and although there was load shedding this did not affect us at all as we ate out most days but there are all the necessary facilities in the open plan kitchen. We enjoyed lounging on the large couches looking out at the view and there is a wonderful high ceiling with such quiet fans hung from the ceiling it was a joy as we could sleep with them on. I would highly recommend this accommodation. We enjoyed walking to the beach which is simply down a small stretch of road and waking up to the sound of natural sunlight and the sound of birds - memories that will stay with us for ever. Thank you to Marcella and Kevan for looking after us - good luck with all the future plans/ideas you have.

Room Tip: Seascape for us was just the best and fulfilled our needs as a couple - there are a variety of diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nippers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Palapa Place is a place not to be missed! Absolutely perfect in every sense of the word. Quite, peaceful, beautifully and stylishly decorated with the most amazing views! Stay in the loft!!
The hosts, Marcella and Kevan are such gracious hosts! I will return again and again!
My hide-away and home away from home!

Room Tip: The 'Guest Suite' is perfect for solo travellers and couples. The Best of the Best is howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palapa14, Owner at Palapa Place, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review, so happy you enjoyed Seascape Loft and our seaside village.

Best regards
Marcella and Kevan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umdloti hotels
0.7 km away
Fairlight Beach House
Fairlight Beach House
#1 of 8 in Umdloti
319 reviews
1.4 km away
Dolphin View Cabanas
Dolphin View Cabanas
#2 of 7 in Umdloti
17 reviews
0 km away
Umdloti Letting & Sales
Umdloti Letting & Sales
#1 of 2 in Umdloti
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Greenfire Lodge Dolphin Coast
0.9 km away
Umdloti Milkwood
Umdloti Milkwood
#3 of 7 in Umdloti
8 reviews
2 km away
No photo provided
Sorgente
#5 of 7 in Umdloti
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palapa Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palapa Place

Address: 55 Newsel Road, Umdloti, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umdloti
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Umdloti
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates are from: R450.00Pn Single. David's Cottage:R980.00 Pn. Seascape Loft: from R950.00 To R1, 400.00 Pn. All low season rates. Palapa Place offers self catering, seaside village accommodation. Comfortable, home away from home, private cottage, AA Travel approved "Highly Recommended. Children welcome. 100 Meters from beach. 10 Minutes from King Shaka Airport. We are in a quiet peaceful cul-de-sac. Within a 20 minute walk to restaurants, 10 minutes to Umhlanga Rocks, golf courses nearby. Great spot for surfing, kite surfing, rock pools for children, relaxing on the beach, see dolphins, whales in season, nearby movies, shopping, so much more. Please note that all units have a stove to cook on, an oven, microwave, fridge with the exception of The Guest Suite. This is a semi self catering unit, so is equipped with a microwave, bar fridge, toaster and kettle. This is a unit which is suitable for those who like to eat out and just have light meals when in. Daily service, including week ends, laundry close by on a drop off and collect basis. Palapa Place 'where the living is easy' ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing