We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
6
18
30
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
18
30
11
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Quiet location, good food. Great value for the money. We had a spacious room, but the beds were not the best possible for three, but ok for one night stay. Good and spacious parking lot, not secured though.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank TiinaH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Big hotel used by people staying at the hospital next door.

Car park beside - you have to pay.

Approx 2km walk into town for food and drink.

The hotel is a bit sterile and wouldn't have a great at atmosphere.

It's clean and ok.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sololad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Hotell Bjorken is an interesting place. I was visiting Umea University for a conference and the location of the hotel provided easy walking access to the conference. So convenient in principle... albeit there isn't much nearby in terms of restaurants, cafes, bars etc which tend to be down town. As mentioned by other reviewers, it also accommodates patients visiting the near by hospital. I was happy with the accommodation overall, and the breakfast was hearty and included in the room charge. But there are some idiosyncrasies that may affect your decision. The first is that it has a very institutional feel. Meals are served in a kind of canteen type setting where you move your tray along a bench and return it to a conveyor belt when you're finished. Also, the reception staff are very helpful and thoughtful, but also rather slow, so you may find yourself queuing for longer than usual for check in. The room was neat and tidy but a little Spartan. My room had no tea or coffee making facilities and also no iron or ironing board. To iron my shirt I had to book the guest laundry, collect the iron and a key, find the guest laundry, and then return the key and iron to reception. That was more than I had anticipated however at least I found some interesting additional facilities, like additional guest lounge rooms and kitchenettes that visitors can make use of. Some of the corridors are a bit of a rabbit warren and you may need to lift your suitcase up or down a few steps depending on which wing you are in. Plus some of the signage is confusing e.g. 'Guest stove not to be used for cooking due to fire hazard' (so why provide one at all then?) Overall it was a clean, safe and convenient place to stay if you have business on campus... but the downtown area has more services and it isn't that far away. I would try staying down town next time I visit Umea.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Condor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

This is a commercial hotel located on the University campus, partly used for out-patients who live far away from the University Hospital. Thus excellent disabled facilities, next to the bus/train hub (including stop for airport bus). Good Scandinavian-style buffet breakfast. Altogether a convenient and reasonably priced hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank Peter_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

This is less than 100 meters to the hospital and used partly as a hotel for patients. I called the hotel restaurant in advance and they kindly supplied a meal which I heated in the microwave which is placed in reception! Good food, friendly nurses in reception and good value!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews