We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
413
168
30
10
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
168
30
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nautical theme unique design special hotel fabulous hotel bar and restaurant breakfast was amazing junior suite the river excellent location city centre reception staff breakfast buffet waffles comfortable beds interior krog ship
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Nicely styled upper-mid hotel in central Umeå, right by the river and town square. Hotel has a nice and lively bar&bistro (Gotthard’s). All staff give very friendly service. (There’s only a small gym.)

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Johan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

This historic hotel is in the center of Umea, which is an extremely pleasant college town of 130,000 people. The hotel is decorated in a nautical theme, with dark wood and nautical artifacts throughout the hotel. Even though we upgraded our room on arrival and paid for parking in the hotel's secure garage, we only paid $177 per night, which I thought was very reasonable by Swedish standards given the quality of the hotel. Great water pressure, Ironing board, real wine glasses, and a hair dryer. Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading from the standard room. The Jr. Suites are huge, but have 3 big windows and may get some street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The decor is different to anything I have seen before and the colour scheme is rather dark, but it is all very nicely done. Room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom excellent, breakfast very good. The only drawback is that it doesn't offer very good value for money, as at this particular price point I would have expected more luxury. Umea does seem like a very expensive town though, as we found out when we attempted to find somewhere to eat and discovered that a main course in a restaurant started at approx 250 SEK and something like a steak would set you back approx 350 SEK.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

This is hotel is located right in the city centre of Umeå. We had a junior suite, good bed and large bathroom. The rooms are good isolated, no noise from outside or from the corridor. The breakfast is the best in Sweden I have ever had in a hotel, a huge variety of local and organic products. The freshly baked bread is amazingly delicious. Staff at the reception is really friendly.

Room Tip: View to the water is nice
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Hendriksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Receptionschef at Stora Hotellet, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi A_Hendriksen,

Thank you kindest for this lovely review of Stora Hotellet in Umea. We are so thankful and delighted by your nice words.

It is wonderful to hear that you liked your sailor inspired room and felt that our staff was friendly. Thank you also for your amazing words on breakfast at Gotthards Krog! We are so glad that you have enjoyed the vide variety of local and organic products and that the bread that we bake ourselves at our bakery Kulturbageriet was delicious.

Thank you again for sharing your experiences of your stay in our sailor house Stora Hotellet in Umea. We hope you lay anchor at our harbor soon again!

Kindly,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time and it’s just as unique as we remembered. Dark and mysterious interior, good service and good beds. Practical location and I recommend parking in their garage under the hotel. All inn all a good experience and I would have rated this as «excellent» if the breakfast had been good, it’s not bad, it’s just basic. In a place like this I expect more.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelExplorePassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer N, Receptionschef at Stora Hotellet, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Hi TravelExplorePassion,

It is truly special to us that we have had the pleasure of welcoming you back to Stora Hotellet in Umea. Thank you kindest for laying anchor in our harbor again, and for your nice review. I am glad that we have kept our sailor house as unique as you remembered, and that you had a good experience.

Thank you also for your feedback regarding breakfast at Gotthards Krog. We have chosen to focus on local products of high quality, and we are sad to hear that we did not exceed your expectations.

We hope to see your sails in the horizon in the future – we would be honored to welcome you back to Stora Hotellet in Umea again.

Kindly,
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews