We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
14
41
37
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
41
37
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdecent hotelcomfortable bedsscrambled eggsone nightcentrebreakfastuniversityreception
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

I traveled to umeå to write an exam in umeå university, this hotel was among the cheapest when i searched, staff are friendly and rooms are clean and cozy, breakfast is acceptable, the only problem was that it was middle of the winter and i felt it very cold at nights! But it may be because of my exam stress!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Sorenaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Hotel is ok, nothing more nothing less. Although refurbished, you can still see signs of "old" however it is ok overall.

However, this hotel has thE worst receptionist I have ever encountered in my travels. She constantly talks down on you, no matter if you try to be polite, humorous or confused without info. When asked a question, she provides one liner answer, leaving you to beg for further explanations. When answering questions, often just looks at the screen, not at person talking to, or even worse - does not even stop to hear you out, but yells answer while walking away (we were only one in the ground floor, not busy at all). All the rest are perfect in every way: communication, manners, serviceability, taking that "extra mile" to make you feel welcome.
I sincerely hope management will instruct her on hotel manners, otherwise she'd be better off in some other profession.
Don't know her name (yet) but she is Jewish origin,, like Israel or similar (not that it should matter, just don't know how to describe her better).
I've never had to write such review on someone, but in this situation I feel it is very justified.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1HeMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Cozy small hotel close to the city. Their service level could have been better. The staff weren't available very often. And you had to call them either you were checking out, wanted a beer in the bar or wanted to buy something in the kiosk. Breakfast opens already at 7 in the weekends which is nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

A decent hotel. Either it is a new hotel or renovated recently as rooms were really new. Breakfast was really good. Special props go for the scrambled eggs that were seasoned with spices. A very positive suprise as normally the eggs in hotel buffets are tasteless.

Too bad the management clearly doesnt rate service as part of their product. Staff seemed to be clearly overworked and the poor girl at the reception had to attend everything in the hotel from reception to housekeeping duties and this was at 4pm on a weekday. They even had a info sign at the desk to call this number if the reception Staff isnt at the desk. This indicates that this is a normal issue at this hotel. Thankfully the girl herself was super efficient at her work.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

The hotel is old (renovated) but the girls working there are very sweet and young (I asked the bar girl, if she is old enough to serve me a drink. It turned into a running joke at the hotel) The rooms are very comfortable. Breakfast was great. Dinner was simple but very tasty. I wanted to stay longer. Also the town of Umeo is very pleasant in summer. Pedestrian street, river promenade and old town center at walking distance. .

Room Tip: Just one (slow) elevator. Try a room in a lower floor and walk up
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penguin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews