We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
61
142
108
29
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
142
108
29
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free parking late evening family vacation scandic breakfast one person one night rooms are clean taxi city sweden stockholm gym
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Two night weekend break in late April. The hotel is easy to locate arriving by car as it is situated next to a major street crossing the city. There is some space for parking in front of the hotel but it looks as though it might easily get crowded when the hotel is fully booked. The property looks rather old on the outside and probably has not been fully renovated lately, although the public areas on the inside, including the lobby and restaurant areas, seemed to have been renovated at some point. Both the check-in and check-out were smooth and friendly.

The standard room was not very large and was rather cramped with all the furniture and there were some signs of wear and tear here and there. One major drawback was that there was no active air-con in the room (!) and, as the room was on the side of the afternoon sun, it got unpleasantly warm inside the room during the day which really made it quite impossible to get a good night's rest. We also had a pet with us, so we couldn't even leave the window open for the night. In my opinion, a contemporary hotel should really have such details covered. On a more positive note, the bathroom was quite spacious and renovated. Still, there were only towels for one person in the bathroom, although there were two of us occupying the room. There were extra towels for another person in a wardrobe but they were really dusty (as was the whole shelf)!

The breakfast was a standard Scandic breakfast, although maybe a little restricted selection-wise, and unfortunately the breakfast area could have been more spacious to accommodate everyone on a busy weekend morning. We also dined at the on-site restaurant and found the food rather tasty. However, the menu was surprisingly short and the service was unacceptably slow especially considering the shortness of the menu. The food also had to be paid for at the counter rather than at the table as usual and expected. It was a rather busy weekend but, as they say, those times really show how well a restaurant truly operates and we left under the impression that they were either poorly led or understaffed or both. Sadly, we were not very impressed by the overall quality of this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyld_heart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Umea South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Hello,
Thank you for your detailed review and feedback.
Welcome back!

Kind regards,
Sanna Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel was easy to find. Free parking, nice breakfast. Pool is not suitable for small kids (nothing to hold on to, quite deep). Room was clean & nice. We slept very well even though the location us close to a quite big street. Friendly & helpful staff.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank HerErk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Umea South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi,
Thanks for your feedback on you recent stay with us.
Very welcome back to us!
Kind regards,
Sanna Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

The room had dirty towels in the bathroom, trash on the floor and the floor was so dirty that our feet got stuck to it when we took our shoes off. So grose! Worst room ever! Got a 50 % discount and I still feel like I was ripped off.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank theresesvalkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna F, Front Office Manager at Scandic Umea South, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018
Google Translation

Hej,
Stort tack för din feedback! Vi uppskattar att du delar med dig av din upplevelse hos oss. Vi beklagar att du inte känner dig nöjd med städningen under din vistelse, det tar vi såklart till oss och ser över hur det kan undvikas i framtiden.
Vänligen kontakta mig direkt på sanna.flodin@scandichotels.com så vi kan diskutera din feedback vidare. Vi hoppas såklart att du vill välja oss även i framtiden!

Vänliga hälsningar
Sanna Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

In general, a positive impression, although I can write a little, stopping for 1 night.
I liked that the gym was open 24 hours a day, which allowed to work out on arrival. A small warm pool, unfortunately only opens at 10:00, which limits the opportunity to practice before breakfast. As a free welcome bonus in the room was given an apple and a couple of sweets, a trifle, but nice.
Given the tourist orientation of the hotel, I would like to have breakfasts not available until 10:00, and until 10:30 or 11:00.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank RomanKlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanna F, Receptionschef at Scandic Umea South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear Roman,
Thank you so much for you comments!
Very welcome back!

Kind regards,
Sanna Flodin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sanna F, Receptionschef at Scandic Umea South, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews