We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast”
Review of Scandic Ferrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Ferrum
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This is a very good hotel price / quality ratio. It s 10 meters from the LKAB bus tour start visit. There is a shopping center as well as system bolaget at 5 min walk. The breakfast is exceptional. There is a suana at the top with view on the mine center. It was booked with SAS points - only 10 000 - for one night. Very good deal.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Bruno J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuula H, Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Hi, thank you for your kind words and your nice rating. Hope to see you soon again and hope you have a lovely New Year. Kind regards Tuula Harju, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The room was functional and looked clean but what really took our breath away was the stunning breakfast spread.

I could go on and on and on from the beautiful cheeses available to the cold cuts to the do- it-yourself waffles to the oatmeal porridge to the warm ginger team. They even had 2 bonus dishes of shrimp cocktails and baked fish on 1 of the mornings. We were so satisfied, we skipped lunch on all the days we stayed at the Scandic

Another important reason why you wouod want to choose this hotel would be the location. It is central to everything. And i do mean everything - from the afternoon markets on Sun to the resturants nearby (burgers, thai or swedish) to the Kiruna guide tour office to the Visitor Centre. Everything is just less than 5 mins away which makes this a very convenient choice.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Albert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuula H, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Hi, thank you so much for you kind words. One can allmost feel the taste of the breakfast just by reading your poetic story. Hope you have a lovely Christmas and we look forward to see you as our guets soon again.
Kind regards Tuula Harju, Manger Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

I liked staying at Hotel Ferrum with their attentive and helpful employees, nice rooms (except from a scratch in the ceiling) and great breakfasta. We also booked a conference room with "fika" (coffee) and lunch. It was a nice stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank martinT3943NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuula H, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Hi and thank you so much for your ind review. Hope to see you soon with us again.
Kind regards Tuula Harju, Manager Front Office.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel is dated and average. Gets extra star for location. Central walking distance to centre of town shops ect. Has good bar and restaurant. Staff friendly and speak English. Good location. Be aware that due to the mine the town is moving a few km so it may all be different next year.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuula H, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi and thank you for your kind words. Our lovely hotel is getting a bit old, and we are really working hard to kep her nive and beatyful while waiting for the new "Ferrum" that will be built in the new citycenter. Hope to see you soon again.
Kind regards Tuula harju, Manager Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Great hotel in the heart of the city! I can really recommend this hotel for your vacation in Kiruna.
They have free parking lot just outside the hotell and tourist information in the building next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuula H, Front Office Manager at Scandic Ferrum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi, thank you so much for your kind review. Hope to see you soon again in Kiruna and Scandic Ferrum.
Kind regards Tuula Harju, Manager Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiruna
0.8 km away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
442 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
152 reviews
15.6 km away
Icehotel
Icehotel
#1 of 1 in Jukkasjarvi
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
31 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Samegarden
Hotel Samegarden
#5 of 8 in Kiruna
42 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Arctic Eden
Hotel Arctic Eden
#3 of 3 in Kiruna
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Ferrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Ferrum

Address: 15 Lars Janssonsgatan, Kiruna 981 31, Sweden (Formerly Scandic Hotel Ferrum Kiruna)
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Kiruna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Kiruna
Price Range: €124 - €337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Ferrum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic, a hotel chain with over 160 hotels in eight countries where you can make a conscious choice when you are travelling. All our hotels have their own personality and character but some things are always the same to make you feel at home. Organic breakfast, wifi and gym are always included at Scandic. Scandic Ferrum is located in central Kiruna, the northern most city in Sweden, 200 km north of the arctic circle. Our newly renovated hotel have 171 rooms, all furnished in Scandinavian style. We offer seven flexible meeting rooms for up to 135 persons. For larger events we cooperate with Kiruna Folkets Hus, a congress center with room for up to 400 participants connected to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Ferrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing