We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff beautiful food and Beverages”
Review of Mesob

Mesob
Ranked #17 of 133 Restaurants in Northcote
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 February 2018

From the moment we walked in the staff made us feel welcome. The place was decorated Ethiopian style with a musician who sang in I presumed Ethiopian playing a stringed instrument. The young lady assigned to our table describe the food selection which gained our interest. As there were so many dishes to try we were recommended the Chef's Choice of meat and veggies served on a pancake styled bread, to share. While we were waiting for our meal we sampled the beer which rivals most craft beer. The Ethiopian Claret matched our meal perfectly and I finished of with a shot of Ethiopian Coffee. Just an all round Ethiopian experience that tasted great and didn't break the bank. Value for money.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank G9017DEchrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Three of us visited Mesob for dinner and ordered the Omnivore Combination Platter to share which included lots of different foods for us to try, both vegetarian and with meat. The food was soooo tasty. There was a selection of spicy dishes and more mild dishes, interspersed with some cooling vegetables and, of course, the spongy injera bread with which to eat it all. Though all three of us arrived at the restaurant hungry, we were not able to finish the platter - much to our extreme disappointment. I would also recommend trying out some of the Ethiopian beers, if that's your kind of thing. I'm already looking forward to my return trip to Mesob!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

We booked online for 4 the night before and got a table 7pm Saturday night. Brilliant. Arrived and got the table at work he front window next to the musician. Brilliant. Studied the menu. Waited for someone to take a drinks order. 4 Ethiopian beers all reasonable prices. Finally our order was taken drinks and meals together. Waited. Drinks took a while to arrive, then the food shortly after. A unique and very tasty experience. One daughter didn’t like the Injera so we ordered rice which arrived quickly. We didn’t see the drinks waiter again all night. Very good value. Just $84 for 4 people. We would go back.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank jgundy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Very delicious food. And surprisingly filling. I decided to celebrate my sons 18th with the family somewhere we hadn't been before but had been recommended by friends and we weren't disappointed. I made a booking for 18 people including a toddler. Mesob allocated the entire back section of their restaurant to our party and had set out a high chair with colouring pencils and paper for the toddler. We had two vegans and two vegeterians in the party and they had a tasty filling array of dishes to sample. We made it simple and ordered the Omnivore platters ($26 per head) for the meat eaters and Herbivore platters ($23 per head) for the vegeterians/vegans. We let Mesob know that two were vegan on the night and that was catered for without any problems. When the food came out, it visually looked great but looked like it would not be enough to fill you. How wrong was I !!! It was not ony filling (very hard to finish it all) but it was extremely tasty. A wondrful mixture of spices between each dish allowed for the heat of beef dish to be balanced with the freshness of the beetroot dish etc. There was a good selection of 3 meat and 3 vegetable dishes with plenty of ingera (flat bread) to scoop it up with. Yes that's right, no knives and forks, you use your hands and lick your fingers afterwards. A more sensual connection with your food that was a delightful experience. Service was very friendly and helpful, just a little slow on the drinks service but that is a very minor thing and didn't detract from the wonderful experience had by all our party. They were also quite happy for us to bring our own cake and cream and store that in their fridge untill needed.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 399michaelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Having never eaten Ethiopian food we weren’t sure what to expect . The three of us decided to share which was the best way. We ordered the celebration chicken dish which was good but be warned very hot, the lamb with collard greens was everyone’s favourite and the pumpkin dish was just okay.

It comes out on a round tray with an unusual but good flat bread for dipping .

Would recommend this place when you want to try something different

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank WOJD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mesob also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Northcote, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Mesob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing