We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Johanna R
Vaasa, Finland

Great location, simple standard, but nothing for the sensitive ones

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Jul 2019
We stayed here two nights with a family of four. We had booked a family room and got a room with two rooms in it, one with two single beds and one with two bunk beds, which was perfect for our party. Our room was located in the annex, so the easiest way to get to it was to go outside. The room was big so there was plenty of space for the kids to spread their things out. The bathroom easily became a pool after showering, so a tool to scrape the water to the sewer could have been a nice addition. Otherwise, prepare yourselves with a pair of bathing slippers.

The location is perfect if you want to be near to Tivoli and Centralstation. Tivoli was our main goal for this trip so that was why we chose this hotel. There is a grocery store nearby (Netto) if you want to fix your own meals and there are a lot of restaurants nearby as well if you prefer eating food that somebody else has made. We did not try the restaurant at the hotel.

The street was quite noisy in the night with quarreling junkies and other drunken couples and the trash car (how many times in the night do you have to pick up the trash, I wonder..) and sport cars driving rally on Vesterbrogade, so if you have trouble sleeping, this might not be the best choice. Our room was on the first floor towards the street, so I suppose we got the most of the noise, but I would suppose it is better on the other side of the hotel or higher up. But, if you want to live in the city, that's the price you pay, and none of us were really bothered by it.

The personnel that we came across was really nice, nothing to complain there.

The breakfast was mediocre. Toast, buns, different cereals, cheeses and ham, marmalades, cucumber, lettuce, tomatoes and fruit, yoghurt. Coffee, tea, orange and apple juice to drink. What I missed in the breakfast was something sturdier, cooked eggs e.g. would have been a nice addition, now it was mostly carbohydrates. But the kids loved the chocolate bread! We loved eating our breakfast outside in the inner courtyard, where we found an outside gym as well.

The public areas were well kept and nice, but we did not use those much as they were close to the reception and, as mentioned, we lived farthest away from it in the annex. What we did use was the lockers, they were easy to use, just see to it that you have coins available (there is an exchange machine in the reception accepting 50 DKK and 100 DKK -bills).
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Urban H, Front Office Manager at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER, responded to this review
Responded 6 Jul 2019
Dear Johanna,

thank you so much for taking the time to write us such detailed and great feedback which allows us to keep on improving ourselves! We are sorry about the incoveniences caused but greatly appreciate your comments about aspects that need updating.

Kind regards,

your Urban House Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€201
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    €222
  • Agoda.com
    €175
  • Vio.com
0.1 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Room service
€306
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    €306
  • Agoda.com
    €243
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €133
  • Hotels.com
    €133
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€306
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    €306
  • StayForLong
    €263
  • Hotels.com
    €306
1.6 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Restaurant
€122
  • Official website
    €123
  • StayForLong
    €114
  • Expedia.com
    €127
1.8 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
€94
€87
  • Expedia.com
    €94
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    €94
1.0 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
€147
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    €147
0.0 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Nyhavn canal
€108
No prepayment needed
  • Official website
    €101
  • StayForLong
    €103
  • Expedia.com
    €108
0.6 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Lobby Bar at the Copenhagen Downtown Hostel
€79
€58
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
    €63
0.9 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
€95
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €101
  • Agoda.com
    €86
  • Hotels.com
    €101
4.6 km from Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Copenhagen
Reviews (4,552)
Filter reviews
4,552 results
Traveller rating
2,100
1,651
482
185
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,100
1,651
482
185
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station common areas private bathroom nice bar your luggage family room perfect location city centre tivoli gardens lockers hostel dorm laundry checkin train storage corridor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 4,552 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

nice tidy and clean room, lovely the common area, good price! it is close to the station and some market as lidl and pubs it was perfect for going aroud copenhagen easily spending less comparing with the city center area really enjoy it

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Urban H, Front Office Manager at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Dear Maria,
we are pleased to hear that you find our location to your liking. On your next visit, we are happy to share with you a sample itinerary that will help you maximize your stay in the area. .
Thank you for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2019

Good location. Not fare to walk to Strøget and other sightseeing. The room and beds were ok, but it was very noisy and hot. We had towels just one time, but we were promised more. Breakfast was also ok.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank hildefyllingenot2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Urban H, Front Office Manager at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for sharing your experience!
We are happy to read that our location was convenient for you in order to explore the city.
Concerning the towels, Housekeeping is cleaning the rooms every 3 days in our property however our guests are always welcome to ask for towels at the Welcome Desk and get them right away.
We hope you had a nice time in Copenhagen and to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with our two adult kids. The staff are extremely strict about the 3:00pm check-in but provide pay-lockers to store your bags while you explore the area until you can check in. The location was excellent as far as being close to the train station and shopping, but there is a sports bar and a strip club on the main street which were very loud quite late into the night. The room was comfortable and the staff were great, but the card to get into the rooms would not work for us to get up and down the stairs. The room was also very hot and uncomfortable; a fan would have been nice to have. We did not partake in the breakfast but it looked good.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JillyBean9827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Urban H, Front Office Manager at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We are happy to read that our location was convenient for you but we feel sorry to read for the inconvenience you experienced during the night because f the noise - however as you might understand, there is not a lot we can do as far as this noise concerns especially since we are so centrally located.
We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas that we can improve in order to offer the best guest experience.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

This is one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in. They have tons of space downstairs, complete with a restaurant/bar, luggage storage, a garden area, a workout room, several hangout rooms, and more. I stayed in a room with 5 other girls, and we had a private bathroom and shower. All of the girls were very friendly. Although the first night it was pretty loud outside (we later found out it was a national holiday), things quieted down the next couple of nights. It's just about a block away from the central train station, which was very convenient. It also wasn't a far walk from Tivoli Gardens, Nyhavn, and a lot of the other main sights. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. Saw people of all ages, families, solo travelers, and all sorts of combinations of people staying here. Would absolutely stay again and recommend to others.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimberlyt757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Urban H, Front Office Manager at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2019

Hej Kimberly,
what a wonderful review, thank you for sharing it with us and other travelers.
We are very happy reading your comments and we are glad you had a nice time with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019 via mobile

I visited Urban House when travelling alone in Copenhagen. I wondered whether it was unusual to travel alone, but my experience at Urban House told me otherwise, as many travellers were doing so alone, and they were people of all ages, not just youngsters. I found this reassuring as it was my first time abroad alone.
I checked in with ease at the self-service desk, but had to queue to collect the key card. I was then pointed in the direction of the room. I stayed in a shared single-sex dorm room for 6, which had 2 single beds and 2 sets of bunk beds. All beds are pre-allocated, so there is no fussing over who gets which bunk. There were only 3 lockers large enough for a suitcase, which was a shame, but each bed has an underbed drawer which you can lock with a padlock. The room had a shower which was in good order, and included shower gel and handwash.
The top bunks are quite high, but comfortable, and each bed has a lamp and plug (European plug and USB socket) which is handy for charging devices after a day of sightseeing.
The room had a small desk and chair, and a shelving unit with small hanging rail.
The hostel is large, over several floors, and had a few social spaces on the ground floor.
I didn't spend much time in the social spaces, but they appeared to be well used by other travellers.
Urban House is just a couple of minutes walk from the Central train station, which has links to the metro, so it's a great base.
The road it's on is a bit noisy at night, and there are fireworks at 11.45pm on Saturday nights at nearby Tivoli, but I was out enjoying the city most of the time so wasn't bothered by this.
The hostel was very clean and modern, and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank IceGemzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Urban H, Front Office Manager at Urban House Copenhagen by MEININGER, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2019

Dear guest,
thank you for your detailed review of our House after your recent stay.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time in Copenhagen.
We look forward to having you again as a guest soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews