We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not as I was expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good but not as I was expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel location is not very close to the centrum but I chose it because I had business nearby. Anyway, if you want to get to the centrum either you can walk for 15 minutes or you can take the bus number 30 (its stop is very close to the hotel). I'd rather prefer the Tivoli Hotel because it has its own 11A numbered bus and it goes to nyhavn via centrum which is very useful. Anyway, coming to Copenhagen Island Hotel; my room was very small, had street view (I think canal views were more expensive) and not so comfy beds. House keeping service was terrible, they don't even change hand towels, or they don't clean the room. The only "very good" thing in this hotel was their breakfast. breakfast room (which is the hotel restaurant Harbour as well) has a nice view, many choises to eat and drink.
If you are going for sightseeing - touristic- I recommend you to choose another one.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pelinulca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    988
    334
    90
    41
See reviews for
257
872
108
446
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

I used to stay in Copenhagen for my job few times, changing hotel anytime and I can consider this hotel, clean, quiet with superb breakfast and a good restaurant. The view from the restaurant is very nice and in a sunny day you can have breakfast outdoor. It is in a good area, few steps from a train station and a shopping mall with cinema and cheap restaurants. The city center is easy to reach and if the weather is nice it is perfect to have a walk. Heading for the city center you can find a nice pedestrian area with small bars pubs and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franfellicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel on the water and near the rail lines. Short walk to city center. Breakfast was very nice, with lots of options.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjrudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Copenhagen Island is situated close to the city center (10 min walk to Rådhusplassen), close to the s-train stop Dybbølsbro and close to Fisketorget Shoppingcenter. The rooms are nice, but nothing special. Nice view from the top floor. OK fitness room. Nice breakfast buffet. Free wi-fi, even though the signal strength on the second floor is quite bad. All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Slightly outside the city centre but easy enough to catch a bus or train. We found this hotel 'average' considering it was a 4*. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the canal / harbour which was nice except that you are facing a huge block of offices of a Danish Publishing company which detracted from the view. I cannot imagine what it would be like having a room on the other side of the building with a two lane main road and six railway lines within a hundred yards of the hotel. The room was very modern with a small desk, one chair, tea and coffee making facilities and a very comfortable, soft bed. Bathroom was modern, light and airy with ( Of all things) a small strip of window about 6 inches wide that ran from floor to ceiling. This is not really a problem except while we were there a manager insisted in coming into the room a few minutes after we arrived to check the mini bar whilst one of us was using the bathroom and the minibar was situated right in from of that strip window. There is a small wardrobe and a few shelves, adequate for two people for a couple of nights.
The two issues we had with this hotel were the breakfast and room cleaning. We did a couple of breakfasts and on the whole there was plenty of variety with hot food, fresh fruit, cereals, boiled eggs etc. The problem was that it was packed with guests and there seemed like an inadequate number of staff to clear tables etc. It was difficult to get near the food because of the way it was laid out, you were constantly bumping into somebody. There were coffee pots on each table with coffee that was so strong and tasted like it had been brewing from the day before. I asked for a pot of tea at the drinks area and was told by a staff member to: "Get it Yourself" The service left much to be desired. I think there must have been a staff shortage. We did think of eating our evening meal in the restaurant one evening but there was a notice in the lift saying they were not accepting any more bookings. We could see what was happening in the restaurant that evening from the balcony and there were no more than 15-20 people eating there. I had presumed they had perhaps booked a wedding party in but I think it was rather a lack of staff.
Our other concern was that on our first full day there, we went out at 10.00 and came back at 16.45 to find that our room had not been cleaned, beds made etc. When the maid came at 17.00 we felt too weary to go off somewhere so she could clean. The next day, our room was cleaned by the time we got back but the floor had not been vacuumed. The other minor irritation was that the aircon did not work but with the balcony door open, it was fine. The duvets are very thick and warm, so sleeping with the door open is fine.
As one reviewer said before, it is a four star hotel but it does lack the attention to detail. Perhaps it was just a lack of staff and too many guests. If I had to sum it up in one work, it would be adequate.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinBar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#4 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#28 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#23 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,701 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 114 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Property: Copenhagen Island Hotel
Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 114 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotelopia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing