We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not as I was expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copenhagen Island Hotel
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel location is not very close to the centrum but I chose it because I had business nearby. Anyway, if you want to get to the centrum either you can walk for 15 minutes or you can take the bus number 30 (its stop is very close to the hotel). I'd rather prefer the Tivoli Hotel because it has its own 11A numbered bus and it goes to nyhavn via centrum which is very useful. Anyway, coming to Copenhagen Island Hotel; my room was very small, had street view (I think canal views were more expensive) and not so comfy beds. House keeping service was terrible, they don't even change hand towels, or they don't clean the room. The only "very good" thing in this hotel was their breakfast. breakfast room (which is the hotel restaurant Harbour as well) has a nice view, many choises to eat and drink.
If you are going for sightseeing - touristic- I recommend you to choose another one.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelinulca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,224 - 1,228 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I used to stay in Copenhagen for my job few times, changing hotel anytime and I can consider this hotel, clean, quiet with superb breakfast and a good restaurant. The view from the restaurant is very nice and in a sunny day you can have breakfast outdoor. It is in a good area, few steps from a train station and a shopping mall with cinema and cheap restaurants. The city center is easy to reach and if the weather is nice it is perfect to have a walk. Heading for the city center you can find a nice pedestrian area with small bars pubs and restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franfellicco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel on the water and near the rail lines. Short walk to city center. Breakfast was very nice, with lots of options.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjrudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Copenhagen Island is situated close to the city center (10 min walk to Rådhusplassen), close to the s-train stop Dybbølsbro and close to Fisketorget Shoppingcenter. The rooms are nice, but nothing special. Nice view from the top floor. OK fitness room. Nice breakfast buffet. Free wi-fi, even though the signal strength on the second floor is quite bad. All in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Slightly outside the city centre but easy enough to catch a bus or train. We found this hotel 'average' considering it was a 4*. We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the canal / harbour which was nice except that you are facing a huge block of offices of a Danish Publishing company which detracted from the view. I cannot imagine what it would be like having a room on the other side of the building with a two lane main road and six railway lines within a hundred yards of the hotel. The room was very modern with a small desk, one chair, tea and coffee making facilities and a very comfortable, soft bed. Bathroom was modern, light and airy with ( Of all things) a small strip of window about 6 inches wide that ran from floor to ceiling. This is not really a problem except while we were there a manager insisted in coming into the room a few minutes after we arrived to check the mini bar whilst one of us was using the bathroom and the minibar was situated right in from of that strip window. There is a small wardrobe and a few shelves, adequate for two people for a couple of nights.
The two issues we had with this hotel were the breakfast and room cleaning. We did a couple of breakfasts and on the whole there was plenty of variety with hot food, fresh fruit, cereals, boiled eggs etc. The problem was that it was packed with guests and there seemed like an inadequate number of staff to clear tables etc. It was difficult to get near the food because of the way it was laid out, you were constantly bumping into somebody. There were coffee pots on each table with coffee that was so strong and tasted like it had been brewing from the day before. I asked for a pot of tea at the drinks area and was told by a staff member to: "Get it Yourself" The service left much to be desired. I think there must have been a staff shortage. We did think of eating our evening meal in the restaurant one evening but there was a notice in the lift saying they were not accepting any more bookings. We could see what was happening in the restaurant that evening from the balcony and there were no more than 15-20 people eating there. I had presumed they had perhaps booked a wedding party in but I think it was rather a lack of staff.
Our other concern was that on our first full day there, we went out at 10.00 and came back at 16.45 to find that our room had not been cleaned, beds made etc. When the maid came at 17.00 we felt too weary to go off somewhere so she could clean. The next day, our room was cleaned by the time we got back but the floor had not been vacuumed. The other minor irritation was that the aircon did not work but with the balcony door open, it was fine. The duvets are very thick and warm, so sleeping with the door open is fine.
As one reviewer said before, it is a four star hotel but it does lack the attention to detail. Perhaps it was just a lack of staff and too many guests. If I had to sum it up in one work, it would be adequate.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinBar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,185 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 118 in Copenhagen
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Vesterbro
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#30 of 118 in Copenhagen
3,361 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
First Hotel Mayfair
First Hotel Mayfair
#29 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,193 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Inner Vesterbro , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range: €111 - €291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copenhagen Island, a modern and stylish hotel with 326 rooms, is located in the pulsating neighbourhood Vesterbro. It lies right on the waterfront, offering excellent views of either Copenhagen’s harbour or across the city’s roofs and towers. The entire area around the hotel is buzzing with life and especially Islands Brygge and Kødbyen are well worth a visit when you’re staying in Copenhagen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing