We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Ranked #18 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is set in a quiet street very close to Nyhavn which is a fantastic part of Copenhagen to visit for the bars, restaurants and canal side setting.

Initially we had a street facing room but asked to be moved as there was noisy building work in progress outside (June 2011). The room was a decent size and very comfortable, and plenty of seating and table options in the room to read or plan a day trip. We have been very impressed with the high standards at Scandinavian hotels (this is the 4th we stayed in).

The breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and all very fresh. There is a large reception area with water features and lots of newspapers and fruit bowls.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and as with most people in Denmark they spoke better English than I do.

Overall a wonderful holiday in a great city that was enhanced by staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthernPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    554
    204
    34
    12
See reviews for
143
543
98
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

I stayed here for 8 nights last year and have no complaints at all. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly.....the breakfast was satisfying the hotel is clean and well kept. Sure the bathrooms may be small by North American standards and the room was small....but it was perfect for my needs and the price was decent. The location is perfect for shopping, visiting museums and close to Nyhavn. The street is quiet and the harbour is nearby. I would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KClausen, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Trout13

Thank you for your nice review and comments on our hotel.
I agree that compared to American standards our rooms can be small but I think that is general for the capitals in Europe at our price level.

I am glad your enjoyed your stay and will be happy to welcome you back another day.

Best regards
Kåre
Best Western Hotel City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is very convinient for a city break. Good located, quiet street, beautiful scandinavian design and friendly stuff. We arrived very early and could check in immediately. Breakfast was delicious. And free and quick wifi! This is good choice for people, who like small, cosy hotels.

Room Tip: As rooms are quite small, I reccommend book superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liispet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. Best thing about the place was the location - just a few minutes walk to the harbour at Nyhavn. Room was ok for a standard room, a little scruffy round the edges, bedding could have been newer and bathroom was absolutely tiny, but clean. For the price we paid this was fine. Good breakfast with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KClausen, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hi Chris39

Thank you for your comments and review. Its always nice to receive feedback on the rooms and I will include your comments in our future renovation plans.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our central location.

Best regards
Kåre
Hotel Manager
Best Western Hotel City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had Superior-quality rooms on the 2nd floor, but from my point of view they seemed very average. I think that the hotel staff should really take a look at the bathroom faucets and toilets. Many of them were not working that well because calcium deposits were not cleaned in ages.

Breakfast was typical Danish. A few varieties, but nothing surprising. Service was great!

Location was great! It took only 7 minutes to walk to the nearest metro and about 10 minutes to Ströget. There is also great steak house almost across the street and couple of other restaurants close by.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jari_vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Inner Vesterbro
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#6 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#2 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Palace Hotel
Scandic Palace Hotel
#19 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#22 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,755 reviews
Inner Vesterbro
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#7 of 116 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen
Address: Peder Skrams Gade 24, Copenhagen 1054, Denmark (Formerly Best Western Hotel City)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#21 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Hotel City is a Danish design hotel in the center of Copenhagen. Located in a quiet street behind the Royal Theatre and Nyhavn, close to shopping, restaurants, museums and The Opera House.All rooms are furnished with Danish design like Arne Jakobsen and GUBI, large black/white jazz portraits, Samsung flatscreen TV and free WIFI all over the hotel.Easy access from the airport by Metro to Kongens Nytorv ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel City Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Copenhagen
Best Western Copenhagen
Copenhagen Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing