We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
€168
No prepayment needed
Priceline
€168
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
€137
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,059)
Filter reviews
2,060 results
Traveller rating
923
727
274
85
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
923
727
274
85
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cozy hour norreport station food market medium room large room torvehallerne market la rocca food hall free glass of wine wet room sister hotel cozy hotel top floor kong arthur lounge area the hotel offers location was perfect
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 2,060 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2019

We enjoyed a stay of 4 nights and the hotel is close or convenient to many sites and one of the busiest subway stations. We had one of the small 'attic' rooms which met our needs and was relatively quiet. This is the 6th floor so the single elevator that holds 5 people will be a challenge at times. We chose to go without the breakfast and we are glad we did. First off, it is really expensive and would have added about $50 per night. Second, it was one of the most crowded areas adjoining/ sharing the reception area and finally there are good options nearby for coffee and pastries.

The hotel does have 2 nice restaurants on its main level, a Spanish and Italian specialty. Reception was friendly and efficient. There is the nightly cozy hour and the first drink is on the house.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VirginiaViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2019

Thanks a lot for your positive review. So you had one of our special attic rooms. Some love them because the are a little irregular and have beams in the ceiling. Others prefer a more square room. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us. We urge people to use the stairs, which is a good daily training, but we also fully understand when you want to go by elevator. Especially if you stay at the 5th or the 6th floor.

Regarding breakfast you mention the price 50 Euro. That must be for 2 adults and a child. The price is per person 21 euro which is not expensive in Copenhagen. Of course, you can have a coffee and a croissant for less, but if you are a person who like real food to start the day, we don’t think it’s possible to find it to that price. If you are a family of eg. 2 grown-ups and 2 children, 1 child is free. Children under the age of 18 years pay 1/ price. And by the way, it’s organic.

We hope to welcome you next time you visit Copenhagen, and that you will give our breakfast a try then.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019

My husband and I stayed in a lovely simple attic room at the Ibsens 8 years ago, and I returned this spring with our son so he, too, could experience this charming neighbourhood of Copenhagen. The hotel must have been very busy in the intervening years because it looked and felt a little tired. The quality of the room we were in could have been much better for the rate charged. It was lacking in the little details that add to a certain comfort level - something as simple as a box of kleenex so you don't have to use the dirty toilet paper, proper glasses or cups instead of cheap disposable plastic ones, a kettle would have been nice, and even good pillows for a good night's sleep!
The front desk staff was mostly friendly and helpful, and I really appreciated that the management accepted my painting for the Artmoney room exchange deal for half the stay!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GVerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2019

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry you didn't like to stay with us. At our website, you can get an overview of the prices at all dates. The rates vary after request like flight prices. The same applies to all hotels in Copenhagen. But we can assure you that there is no other hotel in Copenhagen where you can pay with artmoney.

Ibsens Hotel is equivalent to a 3 starred hotel, but we are actually offering a lot more. The hotel is kept by our very competent housekeepers who are normally getting a lot of positive feedback from our guests. We recently changed the carpets and we are refurbishing the bathrooms at the moment, but we haven't made all floors yet. Our bathrooms cups are not made of plastic, but of bioplastic, We have before experienced that some of our guests thought our cups were made of plastic. We don’t want to add yet an extra sign telling about the material, so we are seriously considering to change to another type. Our electricity is being renewed, and that makes it possible to have a coffee / tea kettle at all rooms. If it is important for you, you can ask at the reception for a room with that. Again, we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay as much as you were supposed to.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

The hotel is ok, the room was small and no amenities. The breakfast room and the reception area are the same place. Even though the hotel sends you an email a few days before your arrival with all the wonderful things one can do in Copenhagen, no one informs you that a surcharge will be applied on all credi card payments....too sneaky for me to be completely honest. Will stay elsewhere next time. Thank you very much.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
4  Thank Alex6679
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2019

Thank you for telling about your complaints. It gives us a chance to explain. Surcharge is not something we invented. It's the credit card issuers who impose a fee on transactions. They charge different percentages going from 0,80% - 6,26%. By the way, it’s not a hidden surcharge. We are sorry that you didn’t feel informed, but we have signs at the reception desk telling about this.

In the EU they are only allowed to charge company cards, but overseas credit cards are all charged. As you can understand we forward the fees to the credit card issuers. It’s not in our interest at all to have transactions fees and we wish we shouldn’t handle it. Shops and everybody else are also charging transaction fees because they are governed by the same rules.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

The junior suite was very nice. The location and area was bohemian. Good walk to Stroget. The breakfast staff was super and the breakfast was good standard. The Cozy hour was a nice surprise. We can recommend this.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Masseman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Your recommendation is the best praise we can get. You make us smiling. Our location at the corner of Nansensgade is both close to the pedestrian streets, the food market and Norreport Station, and at the same time it's a local area with small shops and restaurants. We are glad you liked our breakfast. Welcome back next time.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

I usually stay by the Central train station when visiting Copenhagen but this time I picked to stay near Nørreport which is the metro station to use if you are coming from the airport (it takes about 20 minutes).
Nørreport is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Very convenient if you want to do day trips to Kronborg and Frederiksborg Castle, Roskilde, Louisiana Museum and even Malmo & Lund in Sweden.
The hotel is modern, the front desk staff is very attentive and friendly and the rooms are very comfortable.
I stayed for one week at a Large room with windows facing to the street on the second floor. The windows are quite new and very soundproof. It was nice to be able to open them to get fresh air. The blackout curtain was perfect to block the lights from the street and the building facing the hotel. You are able to control the heat as well. The room had a kettle, tea and cups. The floor was laminated hard wood, the beds were extremely comfortable, same with the pillows and duvet cover. The room had a big desk, a nice size TV, didn’t have a closet but had nice sized shelves and lots of hangers.
Some people complain about the bathroom size but that is what you get in Copenhagen and many cities in Europe. Bathrooms are smaller compared with North America.
The shower had very good pressure, the soap and shampoo smelled divined and the towels were big and soft. I had a chance to take a peek to one of the Junior Suites and if you want a BIG room (and bathroom) you should go for that.
The hotel is very close to Torverhallerne Market, there is a grocery store a block away, is in front of Kallaset (great brunch everyday, opens late), lots of 7Eleven in Nørreport, 10-15 minutes away from the Strøget and basically walking distance to everything. Oh yes, Copenhagen is a very walkable city. I will recommend the Ibsens Hotel to anyone visiting the Danish capital.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sophie_3611
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ArthurHotels, Gæsteansvarlig at Ibsens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Thank you, thank you. Your recommendation is the best. We highly appreciate. We love you review, but maybe you forgot to mention our delicate breakfast featuring local and organic produce - a taste of the food culture here in Denmark :-) We are looking forward to welcoming you again next time you are visiting Copenhagen.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Ibsens Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews