We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,206)
Filter reviews
1,206 results
Traveller rating
274
473
270
132
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
473
270
132
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location opera house close to nyhavn amalienborg palace kongens nytorv water front nyhavn area walking distance room was large superior room little mermaid the hotel offers business trip breakfast was excellent top floor free internet visit copenhagen
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,206 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Spacious rooms with extra bed. Breakfast was good, somewhat noisy hall for breakfast. Refurbishment going on outside, but they should perhaps start inside with the elevator which felt like it was from ancient times. The bathroom in our room, would after a closer visual inspection, need a renovation.

Room Tip: Even though we had a room on the 5th floor (second top) there was traffic noise surprisingly well (although not a well traffic street). Ask for a room at the top if you have trouble sleeping.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear MalinL,

Thanks for taking the time reviewing our hotel. The refurbishment on the out side is soon over we have made some repairs on the facade of the building. Our elevators might be ancient but they work well and we find the to be charming.

You can be right about the breakfast environment especially at peak times, something fore us to remember for future planning.

Kind regards
Johan Åséll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

Travelling with 2 small children we booked a family suite. We can recommand the family suite at the Scandic Front very much as it was the best family room we ever had.
The rooms are on two floors: room nr 1 is the living room with couch and table, room nr 2 is the room for the children to sleep. Both rooms go directly to the very big balcony. The parents bed and the bathroom are on the gallery in room nr 1.
We had some lovely evenings on the balcony after the kids went to bed...

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sifizue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Sifizue,

Thanks for your review. Nice to see that you liked our family room and had weather good enough to enjoy the evenings at the balcony, we have not had many of those in Denmark this year... ;)

Kind regards
Johan Åséll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My family and I stayed here pre-cruise and it was very nice. The exterior is forgettable, but the location, interior, and the fact that breakfast is included in what is now a very expensive city, makes this place jump to near the top of my list for fulfilling wishes. Nyhavn is, in my opinion, the perfect location for your visit to Copenhagen. It is near the restaurant row there, as well as near the Amalienborg Palace. It is on the water, next to an open air performance venue. The neighborhood is beautiful.This is the far more preferable location than near Tivoli and the train station, where burger kings and other fast food places abound, as well as being a very crowded and dirtier area to boot. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and after a good night's sleep, the breakfast is welcome, varied and good. I love their chalk wall where traveler's share their sentiments, the fireplace and of course, who can forget the foosball table....great for relaxing and having fun!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the water!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reginalampert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear reginalampert,

Thank you very much for your kind review . I am very glad to learn that you enjoyed Copenhagen and our hotel.

I hope that your cruise was equally good.

Kind regards
Johan Åséll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Simply put, this is the all time worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my entire life, which includes almost 30 years of traveling throughout the world. I cannot imagine a worse hotel experience, and to think that this hotel has the nerve to consider itself a "4 star" hotel is just a complete sham.
I booked four nights at this hotel after reading a positive review of it in Conde -Nast Traveler magazine. How WRONG they were!
I arrived late at night on an evening when there was a big soccer match going in Europe. Gigantic outdoor TV screens were mounted in a plaza near the hotel. Driving up in the taxi, we had to circumvent throngs of very drunk people, drive over beer cans, before getting to the front door of the hotel. It was disgusting. I entered the hotel and asked the young man at the front desk of this "4 star" hotel, if he could please help me carry my two heavy suitcases up the front stairs of the hotel. He told me "no" he could NOT HELP me because he was alone at the reception desk. WHAT? Gangs of unthinkably drunk soccer fans at the front door, a hotel bar full of still drunker fans, a FULLY BOOKED hotel, and management had ONE person manning the entire front of the hotel?? Idiotic, and certainly posing a SERIOUS DANGER to everyone at the hotel.
After lugging my own suitcases up the stairs, the young man told me that the only rooms that he had available were on low floors either facing the noise and drunk fans in parking lot, or in the back, facing a brick wall. He shoved two keys in my face and said, "go look for yourself and take which room you want." Really, a "four star "hotel? Up the filthy, rickety elevator, down a welfare hotel- level dank, dark hallway, one key did not work and I had to go to the front desk to get it replaced. Each room was worse than the next. The one I chose was the size of a closet, on the second floor, overlooking a very noisy parking lot and street with screaming drunk soccer fans. The condition of the rooms is so bad that it really defies description: filthy 3 inch shag carpeting that looks like mice live in it, cheap rayon fabric panels, that do not cover that windows, that serve as "curtains", NO light to speak of, a bathroom with a door that had so much paint peeling from it that I was surprised that it didn't fall of its hinges, a disgustingly stained and filthy bathroom floor, and the best: the beds have no mattresses! There is a box spring with a cheap, thin pad on top with a sheet tucked around it that got entangled the minute you tried to lie down. AWFUL does not begin to describe this place.
As soon as I got to the room I began to call around to see if I could get a reservation anywhere else, which I finally did, but not for my first night. GOOD GOD, I would have to stay in this dump for one night. In the process of calling other hotels, I accidentally dialed the switchboard, with NO LIGHT in the rooms this is an easy mistake to make. I immediately realized my mistake and hung up the phone, not realizing that someone had answered on the other end. Several minutes later I got a call from an IRATE young woman at the switchboard who BERATED me for "HANGING UP ON HER HEAD" (sic) . Yes, an employee of a "four star" hotel yelling at a guest for dialing a number in error.
The night was sleepless, I could not WAIT to get out of this dreadful, filthy, god-awful place. I called EXPEDIA ,with whom I had booked this reservation, and asked them to call the hotel manager and get a refund as I had pre-paid for 4 nights. Expedia did call and told me that there was no management on duty and I should talk to the manager the next morning.
I checked out as early as possible. I asked to see the manager before I left. His name was CHRISTIAN. He approached me with a swagger, I began to explain my awful experience at the hotel and asked for a refund, he stopped me mid- sentence and aggressively began to DEFEND the actions of his 20-somehting completely inexperienced and immature staff. He did not listen to my complaints, never offed an apology, and was just as rude and offensive as could possibly be imagined. After a brief discussion he then turned his back on me and walked into his office, JUST SHOCKING. I guess the FISH STINKS FROM THE HEAD DOWN..awful management=awful, ill-trained staff.
I am still in the process of trying to get a refund for the THREE nights I paid for in advance, to no avail.
DO NOT! DO NOT! DO NOT! STAY HERE..Conde Nast Traveller SHAME ON YOU for recommending this place.
Anyone wanting to stay in this area..go right around the corner, less than a 1/2 block walk away, and check into the ADMIRAL HOTEL great hotel, great restaurant SALT, on bottom floor.

Room Tip: there are no good rooms, period
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mrponcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear mrponcy,

Thank you for your very detailed review of your recent stay with us, a review which was not unexpected.

In a capital city like Copenhagen one must expect that there are events, happenings and festivities going on. The city of Copenhagen arranged a number of events in connection with the European Cup in football, there amongst big screen live transmission of the games on the harbor front close to our hotel. This is out of our hands, however luckily most of our guest find events like this a local pleasure.

I am sorry for the fact that you find our hotel to absolutely dreadful and that we were not able to meet your expectations nor to satisfy your needs. I though want to point out that we clearly specify that our single rooms are not larger than 14sqm and that we were fully booked and therefore unable to find you another room.

My hopes though are that you where happier whet the other hotel you found and that the rest of your vacation went well.

Kind regards
Johan Åséll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Pros
- Good location
- Nice and clean environment and rooms
- Efficient staff
- Decent pricing in comparison to other hotels in the area
- Quiet
- Good gym

Cons
- Not that friendly staff (maybe they put in an extra effort only for long-distance travelers)
- Mediocre restaurant

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dexter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swedan2900, General Manager at Scandic Front, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear Dexter777,

Thank you very much for taking the time writing this review with your pros & cons. I will pass the positives on to the team and address the cons and see what we can do to improve.

Kind regards
Johan Åséll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews