We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phoenix Copenhagen
Ranked #43 of 118 Hotels in Copenhagen
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Stayed at the Phoenix for a couple of days and the location is great. Easy walk to Nyhavn, Amalienborg Palace and the marble Church. Room was very comfortable and clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful with suggestions. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    458
    266
    89
    55
See reviews for
118
374
61
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

Starting with an elevator that has its stopping point between two floors, continuing on to valet parking that makes the customer go and pick up the car and find the car covered with sea gull excrement and ending with a breakfast that would do the worst college dorm proud, this hotel is an overpriced, under maintained disaster. I was so put off, I will not even consider any other hotel in the owner's group.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bershires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenixCopenhagen, Manager at Phoenix Copenhagen, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Thank you for your most valued feedback.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Phoenix Copenhagen.
I am suprised that you did not enjoy the breakfast since it is an area we usually receive alot of positive feedback for. Could you clarify what about the breakfast buffet you did not enjoy?

In regard to the parking. If your car is parked on the top floor in the parking house or in the backyard of the hotel it will be exposed to the elements of nature as when you park on the streets.

Once again I am sorry that you had these bad experiences while staying at the hotel but hope that we will be able to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Copenhagen hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

great location-close to many sites, the subway, waterfront, and magasin du nord/shopping. Just walked everywhere (with stroller) or took the subway for the airport or train.
great service-very helpful front desk
great room-beautifully furnished, very clean, great bathroom. Our 2 month old comfortably slept with us in the bed. We had no rooms adjacent to us likely because we had an infant
great price
highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

We held our weeding at the Phoenix. Everything was exactly as we had dreamed of and even more. The staff was extremly dedicated and flexible for our many requests. The location is the very best in Copenhagen and very close to "our" church Marmorkirken. The part of Copenhagen is very special especially due to Amalienborg just next corner and of course Kongens Nytorv/Nyhavn. We stayed at the Amalienborg Suite which was extraordinary luxury. It was a pity that we only spent one night there. The restaurant had a very good menu and our guests are still talking about of the high quality of the food.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLAMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

The Phoenix is visibly ageing, but it is okay. Location is good. The service was a bit disappointing. I walked in wearing motorcycling gear and I felt like they were disgusted with my presence. Once I had changed into a proper shirt and was clean-shaven, I felt like they accepted me into their "prestigious" hotel. That, to me, is bollocks. They are very image-centric and for that hotel it's misplaced. It's a glorified B&B that thinks and acts as if its a 5-star hang-out for the royalty. For the money it was pretty good and I liked the breakfast. I would stay again at that price, but I now know not to expect a friendly smile from them.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Setti21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Indre By (Inner City)
71 Nyhavn Hotel
71 Nyhavn Hotel
#34 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Strand
Copenhagen Strand
#31 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Scandic Front
Scandic Front
#54 of 118 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By (Inner City)
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
Copenhagen Admiral Hotel
#21 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Skt. Annae
Hotel Skt. Annae
#44 of 118 in Copenhagen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Christian IV
Hotel Christian IV
#20 of 118 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Copenhagen

Property: Phoenix Copenhagen
Address: Bredgade 37, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By (Inner City)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Phoenix Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious 5-story hotel housed in exquisite 17th-century building, near Amalienborg Palace & Royal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Phoenix Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phoenix Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Phoenix Hotel Copenhagen
Copenhagen Phoenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing