We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very nice experience”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

After our stay in Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen which was not up to expectations, this hotel was really pleasant experience!
Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and mostly organic, furniture in the room was of very good quality, (unlike Copenhagen Hotel).
Location is perfect, walking distance to all central city locations.

Would recommend this hotel and would like to visit again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    50
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
44
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Frankly, I found all of Denmark a bit pricey; but since we were using a Eurorail pass to get to our friends in Norway, we had to go through Denmark. I couldn't have chosen a better stop off than Arhus, and Hotel Guldsmeden was icing on the cake. I really wish we had had more time to enjoy the wonderful breakfast. Yes, the room was small, and at the top of the the very steep stairs, but the bathroom was wonderfully large. The woman at the desk even went to the restaurant next door to fetch me some ice after our trip to get there (an injury that was already with me when we came to Denmark). We walked around town, after a short rest, and had a great time. I would go again, and stay at this Hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojo01267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Small rooms, lousy shower and no bathtub, lousy breakfast, no tea or coffee in room, no minibar, internet didn't work, not very clean. One good thing: Location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 189541Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Friendly staff, good breakfast and cosy room, though the walls looked a bit tired. Good value hotel with central location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Stayed a single night with my wife and frinends.
In general a nice small "family-like" hotel with nice extra touches such as complimentary wine and snacks. Very cozy atmosphere and service oriented staff. Breakfast selections while not overwhelming in varieties very good quality and mostly organic.
The rooms are generally small and of a "not luxary" standard but clean and ok - especially for a short stay.
In my opinion the rates are a bit too high for the value you get, but considering the alternatives we have useed in Aarhus (Hotel Royal, Radisson Blu, Ferdinand and Havnehotellet) I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorbenFromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.7 km away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
412 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#9 of 22 in Aarhus
282 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
779 reviews
1.1 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
1.1 km away
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
#7 of 22 in Aarhus
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel

Property: AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel
Address: Guldsmedgade 40 | Central, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Phone Number:
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel is a small boutique-hotel with a total of 27 individually decorated rooms; all in French Colonial style. The hotel is located in the very centre of Aarhus - in the charming, old Latin Quarter - with romantic restaurants and amazing shopping facilities just around the corner. We take pride in offering our guests a personal and warm service in homely surroundings - hoping to provide a feeling of being at home away from home. Being a garni hotel we serve a full 95% organic breakfast buffet, which exceeds all expectations. At the back of the hotel you will find our beautiful garden and terrace area - with candlelights, flowers and cosy furniture. The perfect place to have a cop of organic tea, a glass of wine or just enjoying the calm ... We look forward to welcoming you at the small hotel - and sincerely hope to give you a magical stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your AARHUS Guldsmeden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guldsmeden Hotel Århus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing