We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming local place”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Aarhus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Overall is a great place. The building is full of history, fantastic paintings and murals adorn the walls. The room was small but well appointed. Place was a bit noisy at night, but is hard with jet lag. Service overall was very good. Bar and casino attached feel a little low end but it all adds to the charm of the place. Aarhus is a great city if you have a chance to spend a day or so.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freak77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 135 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

If your going to stay in Aarhus don't mess around, this place is great. The prices are competitive with other lesser quality hotels. Its right in the center of town across from the Cathedral. A short walk to the train station, tons of shopping and eating and right near the canal. There is quality inside and out, from the beautiful historic Elevator in the lobby to the mural covered walls depicting danish history to the finely appointed rooms and en-suite baths. I had a standard single which was one of their smaller rooms and it was fine. I never felt cramped. There's no noise issues. I have stayed here twice and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PercyBlakenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our room looked like a room out of a palace. Large with antique furnishings. Location is right in the center of the city. The young man at the front desk was so helpful and friendly, he seemed to really care that we had a good time in Arhus and provided us with maps and great information. Our room had a wonderful view of the city and the harbor.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyclist6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This hotel reminds you how true classic luxury city hotels should feel like. Great atmosphere good service and comfortable rooms with large bathrooms. We had a two night package with a standard room and truly enjoyed it all with a view to the cathedral and main square. Very reasonable deal.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViggoBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Ah, the Royal! We moved from the low-budget, no-frills, not air-conditioned Cabinn a block away to this magnificent, luxurious hotel, so we had quite a contrast. I have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in New York, the Four Seasons in Seattle, and the Benjamin Franklin in Philadelphia, and this little hotel could match any of them for beauty.

The view on entering the hotel lobby is old-world European of the most beautiful style. You get your 1800s-era key on a heavy fob and take the quaint 100-year-old elevator to your floor, where you are greeted with more beauty in the hallways. Flowers, plants, paintings, murals, and architecture that rivals that of a palace. Photos can't do this place justice!

The elevator itself is like a work of art. It is the kind that used to have an elevator operator, and is carpeted with a sitting chair in the corner. You can see out of it while traveling between floors. You open the door outward to go in, then the door locks behind you, and the elevator itself moves upward to your floor, where there is another door, which you simply push outward when it unlocks. For a little extra exercise, take the broad, colorful stairs between floors; the stairway wraps around the elevator shaft, and each wall panel on the stairway is highly decorated with murals depicting Denmark's history. On our 2nd floor there are several framed oil paintings - portraits of kings of Denmark throughout Danish history.

Our room is incredibly spacious - the size of many master bedrooms (or larger) in the U.S. I would estimate it at 25 feet by 15 feet (more than twice as big as our room at the Cabinn Aarhus). The architectural details in the room include lovely wooden molding on the inset ceiling, crown moldings as well, beautiful wooden furniture that made us feel like a king and queen, and tasteful carpeting in a paisley motif. Modern artworks are on the walls. The king-sized bed is actually two beds pushed together, each with its own duvet, but they are set within a massive piece of furniture that includes a headboard with shelf, two night lights set into the headboard, and a narrow closet (with a door) on either side of the bed. At the foot of the bed are two beautiful nightstands, each with a drawer and an open area underneath. In other words, there is storage available for clothing and plenty of room to set your suitcases.

The 20-inch flat-screen tv is set on a mini-bar fridge, which is itself a matching piece of furniture in the bedroom suite. The mini-bar fridge is fully stocked, with very little room left over for anything you might want to buy at the nearby Fotex (supermarket). Also in the mini-bar is a hot water kettle, and on the desk is a supply of instant coffee, tea, hot cocoa, and sugar.

The bedroom suite of matching furniture also includes a desk big enough for two laptop computers and two chairs side-by-side. There is only one desk chair supplied, and it is an elegantly designed, leather-covered chair. For relaxing, there are two matching wing chairs with ottomans. All of this furniture fits easily into the oversized room, with plenty of space to move around and store lots of luggage.

The bathroom, while not large, is lovely, with beautiful glazed tile walls and a toilet and pedestal sink that are gleaming white with gold trim and decorations. The large, glassed-in shower is roomy enough for two people and has both an overhead rain-type shower head and a hand-held shower sprayer. A hair dryer can be found stashed in one of the bedside closets. You can request an iron and ironing board at the front desk.

The rooms are individually air-conditioned. With the windows closed, we hear absolutely nothing from outside, not even the constant ringing of the church bell at the historic Aarhus Cathedral, right across the street. The beds are a bit firm compared to those in the nicer American hotels (no "pillow-top" here), but comfortable. The oddity of having a crack in the middle of the bed (because two beds are pushed together) and a duvet that is separate from your spouse's will eventually be overcome, I suppose, but it's not something you find in American hotels.

Breakfast in the lovely atrium at the center of the hotel, between the first and second floors (a short flight of steps) is taken on tables with white tablecloths, candles, and fresh flowers. It is the most elegant breakfast room I've ever seen and is actually the hotel's restaurant for lunch and dinner. There are large hanging plants and an artificial ficus tree in the center of the atrium. While an atrium can be uncomfortably warm, I have found the temperature each morning to be perfectly comfortable.

The breakfast buffet from which you serve yourself includes apples, oranges, and (sometimes) grapes; plain and berry yogurt in individual glass containers; cold meats; scrambled and boiled eggs; sausages; bacon (it was crisp one time, but otherwise looked quite soft and underdone by American standards); a variety of fresh breads, rolls, and croissants; real butter and jam; juices, hot water, coffee, and milk; musli and one or two cereals, plus honey and toppings; and a Nescafe self-serve coffee bar, which dispenses a variety of coffee drinks like Americano, latte, and cappuccino - all unflavored.

If you are a Starbucks fan, note that you CANNOT find or buy flavored coffees or flavored creamers in restaurants or supermarkets; your best bet is to take along your own powdered or liquid creamer, or go to the nearby Baresso, which is the Danish version of Starbucks and is a quick walk from the Hotel Royal. The Danes and other Scandinavians seem to prefer their coffee black, so you may be able to order a coffee latte, but it will not have flavoring. Also be aware that a container of powdered vanilla creamer in my carry-on luggage was checked two different times at two different airport security screenings on the way to Denmark (at Memphis, TN, and at Amsterdam, Netherlands). The powdery substance apparently alerted them, but as soon as they actually had me open my luggage and they saw the container, they had no problem.

The location of the Hotel Royal is ideal in Store Torv (large square), which is but one of many lively, busy pedestrian shopping and dining areas in and around the Aarhus canal. You can easily walk to the local shops and cafes; also available close by are a drug store (Apotek), supermarket (Fotex), banks, ice cream shops, and even a McDonald's. I have visited the Fotex several times for fresh fruits, nuts, and bottles of Coke; snacks are not available in the Hotel Royal lobby. Of course you could enjoy the snacks in your mini-bar, but who wants to pay those prices? I advise you to put some snacks in your checked luggage if that is important to you.

Also within walking distance is the Aros art museum, although you will need specific instructions to get there. I highly advise walking, as it is about U.S. $20 for a cab ride (I found this out the hard way), and another $20 or so for admittance to the museum, which is not nearly as large or extensive in its holdings as one would expect for this ticket price. Walking back from the museum was quick and easy, because I had a direction firmly in mind (thanks to the helpful people at the Aros), and soon after crossing a busy street (not a problem at all), I recognized where I was in the pedestrian square, since I had explored quite a bit beforehand.

The Hotel Royal is quite expensive; I understand my husband's employer is paying around U.S. $350 per night for our stay, while our previous hotel, the Cabinn, charged only U.S. $93. The contrast, however, is between total luxury and comfort and low-budget, low-cost, small and stuffy rooms with no frills. We feel very privileged to be staying in a hotel we could not afford on our own budget.

I should mention that both the flat-screen tv and the air-conditioning unit have remote controls. Also, if your appliances are dual-voltage, you can simply bring a plug converter and leave your voltage converter at home. We have used very inexpensive plug adapters in the outlets here for our phones, hair dryer, curling iron, and laptop computers because they are all dual-voltage. Depending on your adapter, you may need to spread your appliances around the room, because it has been impossible for us to plug more than one into any single outlet at a time.

Parking at any hotel in the downtown area seems to be a challenge. Although the Cabinn had a handful of designated parking spots that could be reserved (and prepaid) by guests, the Hotel Royal has no designated or reserved parking. The 20 or so spots between the hotel and Aarhus Cathedral are first-come, first-served, and require a payment. If you can't find a spot there, the hotel has a couple of other options: one is a block away, the other is two blocks and requires crossing a very busy street. All are paid by swiping your credit card at a machine, taking the ticket that pops out, and placing it on your dash, then swiping your card again when you leave (very important! as this tells the machine that you are no longer in the lot, so the hourly charge stops). Parking is free between 7 p.m. and 9 a.m. Be very careful not to park along the streets where there are no marked spots; although this is legal in the U.S., it is illegal in Aarhus. I don't know the penalty, but I imagine it's a ticket, as I've not seen a tow truck yet! We have been lucky to find parking at the Hotel Royal four days in a row.

The Hotel Royal has free wi-fi that was very reliable but is NOT SECURE. It doesn't require a password. Be careful sending or receiving any sensitive information while using it.

TV channels include English-speaking CNN and several channels that play old American TV shows (and some newer ones like Bones and NCIS) plus second- or third-run American movies in English, with subtitles. Do not expect to catch your American shows on Hulu, Netflix, Cox Cable, or the networks online; their agreements prohibit them from streaming any shows to your laptop in Europe. You will have no luck at all. The best I've been able to do is to find clips on Youtube.com (like the winner of American Idol).

If you can afford it, I would highly recommend the Hotel Royal as a lovely, old-world European hotel with modern accoutrements and historic charm, and a perfect location for walking, shopping, exploring, and dining in the heart of Aarhus's historic and charming pedestrian district.

Room Tip: Any room in the Hotel Royal will be luxurious!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JMertes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aarhus hotels
0.4 km away
Villa Provence
Villa Provence
#1 of 22 in Aarhus
438 reviews
0.5 km away
Scandic Aarhus City
Scandic Aarhus City
#3 of 22 in Aarhus
841 reviews
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Aarhus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
Hotel Ritz Aarhus City
#5 of 22 in Aarhus
217 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
Hotel Oasia Aarhus
#2 of 22 in Aarhus
821 reviews
0.8 km away
Comwell Aarhus
Comwell Aarhus
#4 of 22 in Aarhus
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: Store Torv 4, Aarhus 8000, Denmark
Region: Denmark > Jutland > East Jutland > Aarhus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aarhus
#3 Business Hotel in Aarhus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aarhus
#8 Luxury Hotel in Aarhus
Price Range: €146 - €272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Aarhus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing