We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
816 results
Traveller rating
628
119
45
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
628
119
45
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crazy cow restaurant pool area next year welcome drink skiathos town fantastic hotel on arrival huge bed wine cellar old port air con nothing is too much trouble bars and restaurants third visit other guests reception staff beautiful island
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 816 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

My husband and I stayed at La Piscine Art Hotel for two weeks at the end of August 2017. We rarely go back to the same place twice as we love to explore but there is no doubt that after the amazing time we had at La Piscine, we will be returning as soon as possible!
As soon as we arrived we were welcomed with a complimentary drink by the pool and our bags were taken to the room for us. This hotel is family run and so you really feel welcomed like family whilst still experiencing a level of hospitality and professionalism that you would expect from a high end hotel chain.
We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms overlooking the pool. The rooms aren't huge but they are very luxurious and quirky. The bathroom in particular was very nice, with a luxury jet shower. In any event, we didn't spend much time in the room as there is a lovely pool, restaurant and bar in the hotel and it is just a short walk in to town and to the many beautiful beaches Skiathos has to offer.
The bar at the hotel has an amazing selection of high end spirits which you don't usually see when on holiday in Europe. I was very impressed by the wide selection of gins!, not to mention all the wine on offer in the wine cellar. We are quite in to our wine and never usually liked the Greek offerings until we came here.
The food is second to none. Breakfast was included - there was a huge selection including an entire cake table! We had food by the pool during the day and ate a couple of times in the restaurant at night as well. The staff are very knowledgeable and able to recommend good wine to complement the food, which is delicious!
We got married whilst we were out there and all the staff made us feel very special and went above and beyond to make the whole holiday really memorable. The owner even kindly allowed us to have our pre-wedding drinks in the reception bar with an at-seat waiter on hand too - its just those little touches that make all the difference and we cant thank them enough for all they did for us.
Most of the people we met there had been at least once before and we really got the sense this was somewhere people loved to come back to again and again and now we know why.
We really couldn't fault this hotel - it has everything from lovely rooms, communal spaces, pool, bar, restaurant .. and the location is the best in Skiathos.
We will absolutely be returning in years to come!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a private balcony overlooking the pool. Higher rooms have better views of the hills.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidandlettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear davidandlettie,
Thank you for finding time to write a review for our hotel. Thank you for mentioning almost everything that our hotel offers. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Spent one night there to get the flight back to London the following morning. We chose the hotel because of the location that was close to the tourist part of the Old town. But it wasn't that close and the location wasn't very nice. I didn't like the decoration and the room had a strange smell of some pesticide. The staff was polite and helpful, breakfast was good. The restaurant is ranked as the best in town but I didn't have the chance to try it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank FatimaDamasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Fatima,
Thank you for choosing our La Piscine Art for your stay in Skiathos. Our hotel is located in Euaggelistrias Srt. which is the second biggest road of the town of Skiathos and just 7 min. walk to the main road, Papadiamantis Str. We are sorry for not meeting your expectations, we hope you will give us again the chance to accommodate you in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

A Beautiful Boutique hotel,just 42 rooms : great staff, fab restaurant : we had a premier room with balcony overlooking the stunning pool. The hotel is in a very quiet location BUT only 8 minutes walk to Skiathos Old Town where all of the restaurants/ bars / shops are: a further couple of minutes walk and You’re at the harbour where all of the boat trips go from. 15 mins walk from there & you’re at the airport where there are cafes that you can sit at and watch planes taking off and landings. Highly recommended

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Jan M,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Skiathos. We are really happy that you totally enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This was our third visit over six years to this adult only bijou hotel. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, as soon as you arrive you are greeted by helpful staff. Leave luggage in the lobby, hand over passports then sit around the pool & have a drink on the house. You really know you are on holiday here. Reception staff sort the paperwork promptly, then the porter collects your luggage and escorts you to your room, no expectations of tips ( but we do it anyway). I would advise taking up the option to dine at their 'Mad Cow' restaurant using their three night package - very reasonably priced with a negligible increase over the years (59 euros per person covering the three evenings), for three course meal & complimentary liqueur at the end. The food is absolutely delicious true to the Greek culture with a gourmet twist, fresh, tasty & well portioned. Waiter service is impeccable. The restaurant is well known & used by tourists from other hotels & apartments.
The rooms & suites are clean & spacious, we have always had accommodation directly overlooking the pool. There are very few junior suites so book well in advance. The pool & modest grounds are well tended, some people feel the need to reserve sun beds with their towels but it really is not necessary. There is waiter service pool side. Light lunches are reasonably priced with good portions of freshly prepared food (loved the Greek salad). They have improved the toilets & installed showers by the pool so on departure day you can freshen up before your pick up. Staff across the whole complex are polite & obliging from the housekeeping staff to the owners who regularly eat & relax at the hotel. Two of the most outstanding staff are the twins (Thomas & Michael), both wait at table, one cooks (really lovely food) when the chef has time off whilst the other has an extensive wine knowledge & runs an informative wine tasting session every Wednesday at a very reasonable price, on site, according to my husband well worth the experience.
The establishment is quite, barely ten minutes from the airport, usually one of the very first drop offs & one of the last pick ups on the return journey. It is a short stroll to reach the outskirts of Skiathos town within five minutes of stepping out of the front lobby, between ten/ fifteen minutes to get down to the sea front. Local tavernas vary we found those a little off the beaten track, set down side streets or around the square & old town to be very reasonably priced serving delicious food & generous portions. You can travel on local buses to a range of beaches, we preferred to take the water taxi across to a quite island Tsougkrias (pronounced Sue-gree-ah) classed as a preservation area, it has only one taverna & basic toilets, but it is well worth a visit. Get an early ferry across you only pay one way (10 euros) don't leave it too late to return either.
We have recommended La Piscine Art to family & friends & will happily return there ourselves.

Room Tip: Junior suites get booked up very early on. Ask for rooms with balconies overlooking the pool, preferably the far end.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mumpy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear mumpy2017,
Thank you for visiting La Piscine Art Hotel for 3rd time. We are really happy to see returning guests. Thank you for mentioning our Crazy Cow Restaurant (nu1 restaurant in Skiathos acc. to TripAdvisor). We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Nice stay at La Piscine Arts Hotel.

Very nice staff - can't do enough for you and full of great advice re bus routes, car hire, best beaches etc. Very attentive through breakfast and serving around the pool.

Hotel itself is spotlessly clean, with maid service twice a day (and change of towels twice a day) and enormous beds. But the rooms lack (non hanging) storage and hooks in the bathroom. Toilet doesn't allow for paper, but fortunately the bins are regularly changed.

However the pool area itself feels a little claustrophobic, being enclosed on all 4 sides, and without an "outside view" (the hotel is maybe 10 minutes inland and unable to provide such a view, but it consequently feels very enclosed).

And whilst talking about the pool, unfortunately the predominantly (all?) UK guests have adopted the "sun bed reserving mentality" whereby 80% of the beds are reserved by 8am! However this is a great catalyst to go out and explore the fabulous beaches-whether immediately adjacent to Skiathos town, or whether you go further afield via the water taxis (only €5 or get the bus for €2) and the hotel provide beach towels on request.

Negative - dreadful Muzak played during breakfast. Whilst I like jazz, listening to the same tracks over and over isn't great. A peaceful breakfast would be such an improvement.

The Crazy Cow is badged an a la carte restaurant, but unfortunately doesn't live up to its billing. Menu was OK at best. A "blue cheese burger" was exactly that - a burger, without a bun, and served with chips. A la carte ??!!

They have an offer of €39 per person for 3, three course dinners. This sounds good, but don't bother - try one of the many great restaurants within 5/10 mins walk from the hotel.

We'd stay at La Piscine again, but they really need to step up regarding the Crazy Cow and the sun bed issue.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank StoneBalancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor.

We were very glad to read that you had an overall pleasant experience while staying at our La Piscine Art Hotel!

A very special thank you for mentioning that all our staff members were very helpful and friendly and our cleaning services were so good. Regarding the music during the breakfast, we really try to fulfill all customers' requests that's why we differentiate it regurarly. Regarding the sun bed issue you mentioned, we would like to inform you that reserving the sunbeds isn't our hotel's policy and we do our best to avoid this kind of reservations. As for our Crazy Cow restaurant, be sure that your comments and suggestions will be taken seriously by the management of our hotel and we assure you that your next stay will be a pleasant experience for you.

Best regards,
Makis Koukoulakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews