We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty seafood and very warm welcome”
Review of Apagio Taverna

Apagio Taverna
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Poros
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Family run, traditional greek food,local cuisine,Apagio Taverna is situated along the harbour front.You pass the museum and the evangelismos church in the Pounta area just a 5 minute walk from the center of poros town.Apagio Taverna is away from the busy center with a beautiful view overlooking the sea onto the peleponese, whilst eating and drinking watch the fishing boats drifting by. spiros the owner is a fisherman,so fresh fish is served everyday which is grilled with a delicious lemon sauce .French english and greek are spoken.Open seven days a week from 10am all day long closing very late at night.Pets accepted, meals for vegetarians and vegans and anyone with a food allergy will be catered for on request.Elizabeth the owners wife has some specialities of her own as she enjoys cooking, especially stuffed feta,a mouthwatering lamb dish and honey roasted vegatables.
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

You feel like if you were eating at a Greek family home :) the food is fresh and tasty, the sea is just some meters from your table and the family that owns the restaurant makes you feel very welcome.

Thank AmancioReino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apagio Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστουμε πολυ !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Incredible food and service, probably the best in Poros. We have been visiting Poros for many years and this is one of our favourite restaurants.

Thank ChrissyMHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apagio Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστουμε πολυ για τα καλα σας λογια !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed in Poros just one night and had not made any reservations in advance. We took a stroll along the harbour looking at the various restaurants and when we finally came to Apagio Taverna it was clear that this was a popular place. We came fairly early but it was already completely full. We went and asked for a table anyway and that's when we first experienced the excellent service. The waiter (son of the owner) told us there would be a short wait but meanwhile he went and got an extra table and chairs which he sat up at the far end of the restaurant, just so we could sit down and wait for a better table and we were also offered a drink on the house. Ordering the food we took some of his recommendations and it was all very delicious. My favorite was the Goats cheese parcels with honey. We were so happy with the whole experience we decided to return for lunch the next day. Some of the best food we've had in Greece so highly recommended - but in high season you should probably book a table in advance !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Birgitte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apagio Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστουμε πολυ Καλες διακοπες !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

No matter which dish you would choose, you can be sure it will be absolutely delicious. The food is incredibly tasty, in every dish we ate we could feel the genuine flavours of Greece and its lovely islands. The products are so fresh and you can feel this in every bite. The owner was so charismatic and friendly, took his time to sit at our table, talking to us as if we were old friends, ready to give us the best advise about the lovely dishes they prepare so well in the kitchen. The both sons are the best hosts I've ever seen in a restaurant, always smiling, friendly and ready to help and even to share the secret of the best homemade lemonade in the world! (Thank you again, Alex!) We really felt like home and like a little part of this lovely Greek family! Another thing which I observed and enjoyed was that almost everyone who arrived to the Apagio Taverna was obviously not there for the first time. The people are always coming back and personally wellcomed by the staff. With other words, once you eat here, you will won't feel like trying another restaurant in Poros. The only regret we have is that we discovered Apagio Taverna quite late, in our last two days spent in Poros, so now we have a very good reason to come back as soon as possible in Greece. Thank you, guys!! Congratulations!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mihaellalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apagio Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017
Google Translation

Ελπιζουμε να σας ξαναδουμε στον Πορο συντομα . Να ειστε παντα καλα . Ευχαριστουμε !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Delicious food, excellent friendly staff.
Superb fresh fish & the best tatziki we found on the island.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeffearlybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elizabeth p, Ιδιοκτήτης at Apagio Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017
Google Translation

Ευχαριστουμε για την κριτικη σας !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apagio Taverna also viewed

Poros, Saronic Gulf Islands
Poros, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Poros, Saronic Gulf Islands
Poros, Saronic Gulf Islands
 
Poros, Saronic Gulf Islands
Poros, Saronic Gulf Islands
 

Been to Apagio Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing