We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
39
27
7
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
27
7
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk stayed for two nights coming off nice courtyard the owner tucked away sitting area one night hydra town rooms are spacious stay there again enjoyed our stay stella kitchenette studio pension wifi
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I spent only one night there after spending 3 nights at Angelica's and must stay I almost enjoyed it better than Angelica's even though the latter hotel is more elegant. Alkionidès is much better located. Plus we had one of the largest rooms,actually a studio, so contrary to other reviewers I would certainly not complain about the size of the room : it had a kitchenette, a terrace with a view on the mountains. I could hear the village ladies chatting while I was reading on the terrace and I found it very pleasant to share in the life of the village.
The air conditioning and wifi worked perfectly. Breakfast was good with freshly squashed orange juice. The only issue was breakfast was served from 9am only. But at our request they served it at 8:30 because we had an early ferry.

Room Tip: The studio is very pleasant.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParisandVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Loved Alkionides! I cannot recommend it enough. Such a wonderful location by the port and the room was lovely. The family that runs the hotel is unbelievably sweet. The breakfast was delicious, as well.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gabrielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

The room was small, much smaller than the ones depicted in the photos (based to which we chose the particular hotel)
The surroundings were nice. Close to the port and to many places to entertain oneself.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Inspirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Our stay was for one night, and for that purpose it sufficed. However, we would not want to be here for a longer stay. The room was simple, and that's OK, but lacked some basics that we appreciate. Such as a shower with the head above one's waist. I.e. the shower head mount was thigh high with no second mount above head. Combine that with the typically small European shower and it made the experience less than enjoyable. Also, the A/C unit blew directly onto the bed, so the blasts of cold air made for an unsettling night's sleep.
The hostess was not unpleasant, but she also was not particularly gracious or welcoming. Finally, a breakfast service that starts at 0900 is entirely unacceptable, and the offering is pitiful! Skip breakfast here and go to Ciao (just around the corner) instead. You get a far better breakfast for the same or less cost.
We definitely would not come back here, even for one night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WanderingTurtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Enjoyed our 5 night stay at Alkionides in a lovely studio with terrace. Studio was spotlessly clean, large bathroom with walk-in shower. Handy for harbour and tavernas. The owners were helpful and friendly. Loved Hydra with no vehicle noise and spent lots of time watching donkeys transporting people and goods. Hope to return for another visit.

Room Tip: Studio with own terrace
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews