We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
35
26
6
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
26
6
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews traditional building old mansion recommend this hotel the ground floor lovely courtyard excellent location four nights room was large captain antiques furniture patio greece
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

NICE PLACE, BIG SCAM Please read entirely
We had made confirmed reservations at the Miranda Jan17. The day before our arrival I received this e-mail from the hotel:
On 2017-09-20, Miranda wrote:
Dear sirs
we make reservation to the apartment separate at the hotel because we have a problem with hot water and a/c . thank you, spetsioti popi

We later found out was not true. We arrived at the hotel and told that we were being given an apartment which was 3 blocks away. They said we could still walk down to breakfast each day and they would reduce our costs by $7E to $150E for 2 nights. BIG DEAL!! We were not given any help with our luggage and had to carry, not pull, 2-45# suitcases plus a backpack up about 200+ stairs and through steep streets by a lady to the apartment. My wife & I are both 69 years old. The temperature was very hot. The very small apartment was maybe a 2 star unit at most. We were both very upset. The next morning we walked to breakfast and met 4 other people who were also put in other accommodations blocks away and were equally upset as they had booked in April. They said that the Miranda overbooked. After a restless night and a morning tour, we went back to the hotel and asked a worker for our confirmed room. He called someone (know it was Popi), and very unfriendly, he handed us a key to a room. We then went the 3 blocks away and retrieved our luggage and moved. We were never offered to move to the hotel on this next day, even though the hotel had vacancies. While we were in the lobby, a man came in and asked how much a room was for the night—she told him $150E. That is when we confirmed they had vacancies. We had booked for 2 nights at a total cost of $157.50E. The locals told us that the island was unusually busy at that time because of the great weather. The hotel was canceling confirmed customers who had booked for a lesser cost and re-renting to walk-in/call-in customers at inflated prices to make more money. The room we finally received was very nice, but had a sewer smell. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. We were treated with disrespect and only nicely by Popi after we complained and moved in. This spoiled our entire time on Hydra Island. This was a total money making scam and very unethical.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel for any reason
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FRANCIS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Booked a nice balcony room and it wasn't ready our first night. The manger said our room would be ready by 1pm. It was not and we were given a very stark room for €60 .... she repeated this many times (€60) She stated our room would be ready by 11am ... it wasn't! Our balcony room was nice with a large outside area. They didn't clean our room the first day!
At checkout the lady manager tried to charge us the full price of the room. We told her we had sent a big deposit. She tried to tell us that she didn't take deposits. My wife had prove.... the lady pretended to call the bank and check. She wasn't very nice and she tried to charge us €100 euro for the first night. I would not stay here again!!!!

Room Tip: Get the room promised ..... in writing before you arrive!
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed four nights at this lovely boutique style hotel. Our room was wonderful: large with antique furniture and large balcony with views over the town to the sea. Breakfast was served in the lovely courtyard and was excellent.

When we arrived there was no one on duty at reception (6.30pm). I phoned through and was told to take room 11. Thankfully this was incorrect as the room was small and had no seaview. Once the owner arrived we were directed to the correct room which was excellent.

I would happily recommend this hotel but be careful which room you select.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank UKDavy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here and were very happy! The staff were eager to please and be helpful. Breakfast was as good as any we've had in Greece in 14 days. The beds were comfortable and thee room quiet and dark. The guidebooks warned the rooms would be small but we had two comfortable chairs and a table so we're not cramped at all. Our first 2 nights on Hydra were 135 steps up so this hotel we found easy and convenient to harbor and great neighborhood. I can see that an overly quick manager might make reservations errors or appear curt but a personal phone call and direct emails might be helpful if one is fussy about their room.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

We spent 5 days at Miranda . We were 3 to 4 friends and the Managment was super flexible adding beds and room even if it was high season.
The hotel is super charming and clean....and silent.
They make great breakfast .
We loved everything and we ll be back soon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sandrinami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews