We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
74
16
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
16
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswent out of her wayluggage transferyogurtsmall kitchenettesteep stepsnice choicehigh ceilingscould not have been more helpfulon arrivalquiet hotelrice puddingfantastic hotelbreakfast was deliciousthe air conditioningcomfortable bedsfirst floorrosie
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017

The hotel is small boutique, very clean, large rooms with high ceilings, nice views with cool breezes, very accommodating staff, great breakfast in a quaint inner courtyard setting. The steps up from Hydra port might be a little off putting to some but mostly this would be issue when going up with luggage. The decor of the apartment was minimalist but beautiful paint palette. For the money, I thought it was a great choice for a short stay. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: there is one room with a balcony but i was very happy with my non-balcony room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We stupidly refused the burro escort to carry our cases to the hotel and thought we could do it ourselves. We got lost on the windy cobblestone streets and it took us 45 minutes to find our hotel, which is only a ten-minute walk from the harbor. It would have been well worth the 10 Euro to pay a burro to take our cases up the steep steps and follow someone else to figure out how to get there! Once we found it, Rosie the manager could not have been more helpful. She showed us to the room and provided a large, delicious platter of wonderful Greek fruit. After that, we walked to the coast to find a taverna with a nice view of the aqua and navy water, and all we needed was a beer and a snack to tide us over until dinner time.

Our room was super clean and very comfortable, with organic sheets and pillows. We were in the back, so didn't have a view to boast but our room had the most private table in the courtyard where we could sit and enjoy our breakfast in peace. The continental breakfast is set out in the morning from 8:30-10:30 or so, and consists of lovely cheeses, delicious tomatoes, olives, meats, fruit, breads, and sweets, served with coffee, tea or juice. One morning we slept so late that the coffee was cold by the time we got up, and Rosie sweetly made us each a fresh cup.

The hotel is beautifully decorated and the room was large and comfortable. Rosie was quick to offer her services in helping us find anything we wanted to do on the island and was especially helpful when our ferry was canceled due to bad weather. She even called the organizers of our next tour in England to let them know we would be delayed. I can't lay the praise on thick enough! You should stay here.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank PeaSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Loved this hotel and island! Recently renovated with lovely decorations and amenities! Small hotel with only 9 rooms. Staff was amazing; Rosi helped us change our plans when our ferry was delayed due to wind and was very patient with my frustrations! Great breakfast and lovely outdoor patio to eat it on. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, with great shower/ bathroom. Overall, a great choice on Hydra!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emptynest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We chose Hydra Hotel based on the reviews of others and we were most definitely not misled. The steps are a bit of a challenge, but also part of the 'journey'. My goal was to do all of the steps without stopping by the end of our 4 night stay and I almost made it. However, the steps played a very nice part in staying more healthy while enjoying the lovely breakfast at the hotel and the wonderful meals w wine at the local tavernas.
We chose room 202 and absolutely enjoyed the balcony, early morning, late afternoon, evening and even middle of the night.
Rosie is a treasure and she could not be more committed to your comfort. She regularly asks if she can provide any additional support. She ensured our bags were picked up at the port and delivered to the hotel and vice versa via Mr Panagiotis & his horse.
Hydra was wonderful & Rosie at Hydra Hotel played a very large part of our positive experience.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlinsurrietrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Hydra Hotel for 4 nights in August was very relaxing.
The hotel is quite small, only 8 apartments so was very cosy.
Rosie, the hotel manager went out of her way to make us comfortable. She was very hospitable & asked us what we would like for breakfast, spinach pie / Greek rice pudding & made them both was amazing !!
Very healthy breakfast which included the best watermelon & peaches we have tasted.
Must also mention Georgia who was also most helpful for breakfast.
Must warn you lots of steps to climb (140) but keeps you fit & good exercise !!
Would recommend this hotel to my friends.
Cheers
Rita P

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews