We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$117
View deal
PricelineUS$117
eDreamsUS$117
FindHotel
Destinia.com
Agoda.comUS$117
Etrip
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
75
103
25
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
75
103
25
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Booked as an overnight stop while visiting Mystras. It turned out to be a city centre boutique/business hotel which is sort of what we expected but not much more. The room was satisfactory but fairly Spartan in terms of any extras. Going to bed we discovered and did intermittent sleeping thanks to noisy aircon.
The hotel boasted a pool which was an attraction. However it was not heated and, being walled all around, doesn't get very warm - especially in September.
Parking was limited to finding a place on the street. A little assistance from the hotel staff would have been appreciated.

Room tip: Probably best to make sure your room doesn't face on to the street
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mna109
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2019

Hotel Menelaion is right in the middle of Sparta's center, which is terrific, but not so good if you arrive by car : they have no dedicated parking, so you may have to haul your luggage from around the corner. It looks the part from the outside and that good feel continues into the lobby and front desk. Past the front desk there is a generous pool with some seating for drinks around.
We were given room 101, but when we got there it had a terrible smell, which made us turn around and ask for another room. They gave us room 113 ; an older style room with 2 single beds pushed together, leaving enough space to walk around. The room had a small sofa, which we used to open up our suitcases and a desk. Wifi was extremely weak in the room, but reasonably good in the foyer. Our bathroom had a bath, but no separate shower ; it really could do with a make-over.
Breakfast was downstairs in a light airy room adjacent to the reception ; it was the usual buffet style. The quality was average, but I did like the fact that they offered freshly squeezed OJ. I don't think they made eggs "on order".
Overall, the Menelaion is a good hotel, but considering their nightly charge, they should do substantially better.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2019 via mobile

I have stayed at Menelaion several times the Last 5 years For bussines purpose. It is a nice hotel With decent and clean rooms. Recently they have upgrated the breacfast using better quality local products. The staff is nice and polite. If you want to stay at the Center of the city this is the Best choice. The only thing i did not like was the cold behavior of the owners.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank _Y9456RU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2019

We spent New Year's Eve at the Menelaion. The hotel was attractive and rooms comfortable, but the staff was less than helpful.

On NYE in Sparta apparently almost all restaurants are reserved and booked well in advance. When we asked the concierge where we might be able to get dinner, she advised that it was impossible. Could we eat at the hotel? No, all booked. Could you recommend or call some restaurants? Nope. Thanks for making zero effort to help.

This was so different from the friendly and welcoming experiences we had been having in Leonidio that it took us by surprise. Wandering around by ourselves for 10 minutes we found a very enjoyable pizza place with some delicious dishes, which I think was called Godfather Pizza. We were the only people there. The pasta and kebab dishes were terrific as was their wine list. The restaurant was a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Hard to fathom that the concierge was unaware of its existence.

In any case, the hotel was comfortable and clean and if you know Sparta or are there for business and need no help from the staff, this is the place to stay. I understand that Sparta was known for its laconic speech in ancient history, but was surprised to find that trend in full bloom in the hospitality industry in 2019.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2018

Great location, fantastic pub across the road called Ministry of Music if you like that sort of thing. I did. Staff were a bit generally unhappy and not that friendly. I can understand working in that heat. Parking was a total nightmare. There were a few places reserved out the front for hotel guests but you had to get out and move the metal barrier, then hotel staff would come running out and move you somewhere else with no explanation. Breakfast was okay. Rooms were clean and quiet. Pool was a blessed relief.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Solwaylass716
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews