We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
214
151
37
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
151
37
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator ancient olympia small village virtual reality short drive beautiful view rick steves small pool minutes by car mass tourism the entire hotel traditional greek cuisine cool off a great place to stay red wine very nice hotel main building
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018

We stayed in Bacchus for two nights and had a wonderful time. The room was smallish but the amenities onsite - the full, reasonably priced and very tasty restaurant, the pool and patio areas made it a very relaxed stay. The owners worked very hard to make us comfortable and we enjoyed two great dinners in the restaurant. There was no need to go to any other place for dinner.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mattb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

This hotel/pension was the only Rick Steves review that was horribly wrong! Do not ever stay here. A/C fan weakest ever seen. Owner just shrugged his shoulders. Had to sleep with balcony doors open for any air movement. They have no portable fans. In the summer it would have been unbearable.Bathroom very very tiny. Room was small and cramped Bed was very hard! They do not have a mattress topper to soften the bed. Awakened with bad backache. Thank God it was only for one painful night.Hamburger tasted like poor meatloaf. Waiter’s English so limited he did not understand “cooked medium”. One waiter for twelve tables! Slow service for very frustrated diners throughout the room. Red wine was thin and flavorless. I asked for a different wine and was told it was the only red they had. Later found they had good bottles of red for sale in lobby.Breakfast cook staff did not understand English.Breakfast most disappointing in Greece or Italy. No scrambled or fried eggs. Hard boiled eggs were the only eggs. No hot bacon or sausages like every other hotel/pension.Only fruit were grapes and tomatoes. No croissants. Poor, weak coffee.Owner (for many years) Costantino was nice in personality but totally ineffective when asked for help with A/C, slow service, hard bed and terrible breakfast.If you ignore this review you will regret it!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

You get what you pay for. The room was under 60 euros. Highly recommended by Rick Steves. The bed is a plank. The bathroom is ok at best. The gentleman at the desk is grumpy. Breakfast was a 3/10. As long as you have realistic expectations it was ok

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WiseWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

We hate to jump from site to site every day or even every other day, so we spent three nights at Ancient Olympia, staying outside town at thee Bacchus Hotel and Tavern.

There was some confusion about our room, due to a misunderstanding on the part of our travel agent. The hotel staff did their best to resolve it and were very nice about it. To no avail, but we had a good time anyway. We finally had a room across the street, so no beautiful view of the mountains. It was also rather somber. Probably great for a family tho, with kitchenette and lots of beds.

Because the view is beautiful -- quite and pastoral. Sitting on the terrace at the taverna and sipping an ouzo while watching the sun set behind the hills is a lovely and relaxing experience. The food is quite good. And the waiter was awfully nice. After three days, we had a very warm leave-taking from him.

The pool is not big, but quite adequate.

In short, a really nice place away from the busses and mobs of Olympia.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joneall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We spent a lovely evening at Bacchus. The room was lovely and all our needs were covered. The restaurant had a great view and the food was wonderful. My wife left her reading glasses and they arranged to have them shipped to us. You could not find a nicer host.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews