We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice on the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kalderimi Traditional Houses
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2010

I used trip advisor and several phone calls to the various properties to pick this hotel on Astypalea and, once again, I struck gold. Thanks to Greekislandnut I asked for the room he/she describes (the blue room) which was exactly as described. If I would add one thing to the review would be to stress the incredible views and the convenience of the location. The hotel is located between the Town (Hora) with its restaurants and castle on the north and the beach and the restaurants of Livadi to the south. Both are within walking distance, though coming back from the beach can be strenuous. Did I mention the unbelievable views? That's the price for it. A car is of some utility on the island, though it is better if it is rented rather than yours. There are only about 15km or so of paved roads, the rest is dirt, gravel or worse. The best way to enjoy the island is by boat. Here the location of Kalderimi is ideal as well. There is boat rental on the beach at Livadi; six canopied 30hp outboard boats are rented by the day. The owner (Giorgos) operates out of his "office", a table on the sand and under the trees with a laptop that keeps track of his boats by GPS (!) and a cell phone. The price ranges from 70 to 100 euro per day depending on the season. In July and August, make sure you reserve at least a day before (6977594703). Room prices also vary by the season. I notice Greekislandnut paid 100 euro in May; that was up to 180 in August. For the price though you get about 60 square meters of space in a duplex with 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, CD player with USB capability (bring your music on a flash drive), flat TV, 2 AC units in both floors, lots and lots of windows, a small patio on the ground floor with recliners and a veranda on the second floor with (did I mention it?) gorgeous views.
For eating out: in Hora we found the long lines for the traditional ouzo place to be unjustified. Other than the ambience, it offers mediocre food, some downright undercooked, from a harried and overworked staff. Ageri (meaning wind) across from the windmills offers much better fare; don't miss the stuffed wine leaves. Livadi offers 3 choices, all of them good. Two restaurants right on the beach and another around the corner that does not have quite the ambience but offers a bigger variety and servings about twice the size of the other two. We dined there once but we missed the ambience of a table in the sand and returned to the other two several times.
Talking about food: breakfast at Kalderimi is great. There is no buffet, but you can order fresh squeezed OJ, eggs any style, toasted sandwiches, cake, yogurt with honey and/or fruit (not to be missed). Katerina's teenage daughter runs the breakfast operation in the friendly and efficient way that is the staple of this property.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_N_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

Excellent location, amazing place, incredibly friendly staff...... I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evdokimos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We spent four magical days in the Kalderimi and were sorry to leave!
Both my husband and myself are very demanding when on vacation and we could find NOTHING wanting.
The owners , Katerina and Michelis, were friendly and extremely helpful. We felt like guests in their very well run household. They kept recommending which beach to go to every day according to the weather and their restaurant suggestions were perfect.
We stayed in the Agnandi suite which commands wonderful views.
What could we say? Perfect!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank alexsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at Kalderimi in September 2009 as part of a trip around the Dodecanese. We spent 5 days here, at the end of our 16 days.

Astipalia is a beautiful and rather "unspoiled" island, at least in September when we went, apparently it can get pretty busy and crazy during the peak season (July and August).. we therefore experienced a very laid back and relaxing stay, and Kalderimi was certainly a perfect place to stay.

The hotel/b&b is located half-way between the city centre and the main beach, giving excellent views of both. The place is family-owned and run and Katerina does bring that extra special touch to pretty much everything, from room decoration to that special breakfast served with the most breathtaking views.

Accommodation can be of 2 basic types, the traditional 1 bedroom with basic kitchenette + bathroom and the more luxurious studio which is split over 2 levels, has 2 bathrooms and a much bigger living space. Value is relatively good for luxury standard accommodation but certainly much more expensive than the average greek b&b.. which given the standard offered here is not that surprising. The rooms are very charming, cosy, clean and well equipped, with tv, nice bath linen and complementary toiletries.

Overall we loved the stay here, not wanting to sound cheesy the owners do really make the difference, with the excellent advice we received we were able to explore the different island beaches with our little scooter and find good places to eat..

On the basic stuff, there's a parking for your small car/scooter, takes credit/debit card, has wireless connection in the main breakfast area and Katerina will be super helpful to arrange transportation to and from the main harbor, we were picked up by her son on arrival for no extra charge.

Only drawbacks are a lack of swimming pool (but really.. with those beaches.. who cares) and the slight lack of seclusion from the road as it's all open spaces, but maybe that will be addressed in coming years as the recent project develops further.

Overall a fantastic place to stay and we wouldn't stay elsewhere on Astipalia even after having seen on site the other possibilities that we had considered.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise_Routard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Astypalea is dream of holiday, and especially Kalderimi. 
Staying at this particular hotel is a real treat. For those who seek beauty and poetry, this is the place to be chosen. The apartments are cozy, absolutely clean, spacious and fully equipped, similar to small cottages. Each apartment has its own character, and each is architectonically beautiful. The view of the Livadi bay is great and you really feel that you are in a peaceful and special place. But what makes it the most special is the feeling of welcome by Katerina and Michelis, the hosts, and Anna, their daughter, who serves breakfast with home made pastry, fresh squeezed orange juice and all you wish, on request. We are still thinking of them and really would like to meet them soon again! They are very friendly, just fantastic people. We would recommend this place to everyone who wants to go to Greece, enjoy a beautiful island, and stay in a wonderful place. After having visited various Greek islands and stayed in different hotels, we definitely think that Kalderimi is at the top of the list. Richard Kraemer and Sabina Gallati, Berne, Switzerland.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astypalea_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Astipalea hotels
0.1 km away
Tholaria Boutique Hotel Astypalaia
0.6 km away
Aphrodite Studios
Aphrodite Studios
#2 of 14 in Astipalea
173 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Castillio
Hotel Castillio
#9 of 14 in Astipalea
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
Pylaia Boutique Hotel
#6 of 14 in Astipalea
196 reviews
5 km away
Maltezana Beach Hotel
Maltezana Beach Hotel
#8 of 14 in Astipalea
75 reviews
0.4 km away
Anatoli Luxury Studios & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalderimi Traditional Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalderimi Traditional Houses

Address: Xora, 859 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Astipalea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Astipalea
Price Range: €62 - €167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kalderimi Traditional Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kalderimi, a picturesque place with individual houses,witch represents our love and respect for keeping alive the tradition of Astypalaia. Seeing the view towards the sea and the serenity of the landscape fills your heart with joy.The owners has given a lot of love and care for this special place so the customers will feel like being in their own house.Everything to the last detail is taking care of, and awaits you to live in a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kalderimi Traditional Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalderimi Hotel Astipalaia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing