We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spacious character cottage in centre of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sofia's House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Patricia...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spacious character cottage in centre of town”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house is spacious with a patio and large veranda which is a sun trap. It is very central, 5 mins walk to the centre of town although it is a quiet location. The restaurants, beaches and fortress are easily accessible on foot. The house is well equipped with air con in the bedrooms and Internet. It is lovely to relax after a long day out. The owner Maria is fantastic, very warm and hospitable, we arrived to a full fridge, home made cake, someone willing to photocopy for us and easily contactable. I would throughly recommend this house. We were there for 10 nights and got round on buses. If you like all inclusive however the rustic charms of this house may not appeal to you. Rethymno was also a great place to stay, with some lovely restaurants to eat out in at a variety of prices and the beach was good too.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Beautiful apartments in old town”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We had a holiday in Crete with my family in June 2017. Sofia House is an authentic apartment in the old town. It was very interesting to live in a house with such an atmosphere. Maria, the owner of the house, thank you so much for warm welcome. In spite of our late arrival, the dinner was waiting for us in the kitchen. There were all products which need for breakfast in refrigerator.
The location of house allowed you to quickly reach the parking, shop's and the center of the old town. We are very glad that we stopped at the Sofias House.
Separately, I want to say about the owner Maria. She is very benevolent and responsive, every week she pleased us with gifts from her garden, and immediately responded to our requests.
We are very glad to get acquainted with her and hopefully we will return again.
Roman, Julia, Gregory, Anastasia and Lavrentii.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anna_c20
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing house in the heart of the old town ”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I stayed here for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful -very old with lovely original features and very nicely furnished and well equipped. It was fantastic to be staying right in the beautiful and atmospheric old town. The house is very centrally located - within walking distance to everything in Rethymno with lots of great restaurants close by.

We hired a car so we could see a bit more of Crete and it was easy to park it just a few streets away.

Maria is a wonderful host and could not have been more welcoming. She really went above and beyond to ensure we had a great stay which we very much appreciated.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely house and hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First holiday together and a magical memorable experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first holiday together and it was a really wonderful experience. The house itself is full of rustic charm but also has modern facilities.

We enjoyed drinking wine on the balcony and signing songs in the fading evening sun.

The location was great, in the middle of the picturesque winding streets, with shops very close by.

Maria was really friendly and was there to meet us on our arrival with three glasses of raki! She also brought us delicious pastries and was generally very helpful and attentive to our needs.

Rethymnon itself was lovely, everyone was really friendly and spoke perfect English, and was very encouraging of our poor attempts to speak Greek. Brilliant Venetian Fort and harbour which are both worth a visit.

Thanks Maria!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JandM813
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great house, great location, very friendly”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely house in the old part of Rethymnon. Maria was very welcoming. When we got there she had prepared us a meal and stocked the kitchen. She was always available if we had any queries and even called to see how we were getting on and to bring us fresh figs.

The house is large with a good kitchen area, 2 outside sitting areas and is very well situated.

Maria was very helpful and we have no hesitation in recommending this property. Wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$123
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing