We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very special place”
other travellers have booked this property
25 sqm swimming pool with sun beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
25 sqm swimming pool with sun beds
Outdoors - garden and pool Outdoor dining and sitting area under the grapevine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
25 sqm swimming pool with sun beds
Outdoors - garden and pool
Outdoor dining and sitting area under the grapevine!
Sitting area right next to the swimming pool
Outdoor dining table under the grapevine!
Tastefully decorated spacious indoor open plan area
Open plan living, dining and kitchen area
Living room area
Dining area
Fully equipped antique style kitchen
Smeg retro-style refrigerator adds a taste in the house!
Smeg retro-style oven in the kitchen
Bedroom on the first floor
Bedroom with private bathroom on the first floor
Bedroom on the ground floor
Bathroom
Enjoy relaxing in our garden under the grapevines..!
The swimming pool within the beautiful garden of the villa
There are plenty of outdoor sitting places in our garden
The entrance of the villa from the garden
Sitting area with great view - feel the Cretan nature!
One of the best place to relax or sunbathe..!
Traditional wood oven, there is also a sink and a gas hob in outdoor area
Our garden is full of grapes in the summer to taste and relax under that
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Fowenn
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
“Fab Holiday ”
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We were met by the charming owners who helped us find this villa in the old village of Amnitos.

We were greeted with chilled glasses of water and traditional Greek cakes.

After a tour of the extensive facilities, we were left to get on and enjoy our holiday. The village itself is very old and has many crumbling old properties, a Mini Market which sells milk and bread but little else and a Taverna selling wholesome Greek food. A car is vital.

The main shops are in Rethymno, a busy coastal town full of restaurants and a retail store for all tastes.

I've marked the villa with only 3 stars as the kitchen fridge failed on day one due to a faulty seal, which in the heatwave of 32-42 degrees caused our food to spoil. The owner was quick to order a new seal, but this did not arrive during our stay.

Also the pool leaked two days before we left, which the owner tried to fix, only to find that it again leaked the following day making it unusable.

It needs a new liner, which they've now ordered. In the heat the pool is essential.

The villa itself is very well equipped, although a little dated and the gardens are a delight of natural shade from fig trees, vines etc, with a well equipped outside kitchen, BBQ etc, a great place for a gathering.

The owners were very apologetic about the fridge and pool failures and kindly bought us all a takeaway when they were fixing the pool the 2nd time, as they didn't finish until about 21.00.

He also gave us two miniatures of Raki and shot glasses, which was very generous, but I do feel that if the correct maintenance had been done, then these issues should not have arisen.

One bedroom leads into another so ok for kids and their parents but not entirely suitable for three couples if all 3 bedrooms are needed.

Overall a good place to stay, but needing some basic maintenance to ensure that other guests are not inconvenienced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2017
I have to admit that the problems described in the above review really happened during the stay of Mr. Fowenn and all of them are now solved.

I do not want to excuse the owner of the villa , and it is true that those problems might not have happened if maintenance was on time, but I have to mention that the owner had a serious health issue and he was in the hospital till one week before the guest arrived.

Also the guest booked the villa 3 days before his arrival and this was the first reservation of the year.. 
 
So, the owner was in the hospital for almost a month and the day he got out , I informed him that in 3 days a guest arrives in a home that it was closed for the whole winter till June..
According to those circumstances I am glad there were no bigger problems.
Also the pool broke down the last 2 days of a 14 nights stay.  
The villa is nice and well maintained and the 11 excellent reviews from past guests can prove it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Dimitra and would happily recommend this lovely house to anyone. The whole experience was great from the contact with the management company to being greeted by the owner as he showed us around his lovely home. The gardens are the highlight with Grape vines and lovely flowers all around. The outside has been really well thought out and there are plenty of places to sit and enjoy the views from different spots. The inside is well maintained and with all that you need for a stay. A car is essential as the main shopping/beach area is a good 15 minute drive through the hills, but once you walk through the doors of the villa it was well worth the drive and a welcome quiet spot. The local taverna is good and you really do feel like you are having a cretan experience. Great place, really worth considering this villa if you are planning to visit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of villa and tranquility
Liked least: no dislikes
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
YvetteMah...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical peaceful welcoming retreat”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were so lucky to find this beautiful place and had the most amazing Easter break. We loved the house itself which is so vividly a place that is cherished by the family that own it and who made us feel so very welcome. It is immaculate, tasteful, comfortable and has everything you could ever need. It is in an idyllic spot - not too far from anything but in a peaceful little village with fabulous views.. Joanna and Vangelis met us on arrival with raki and cakes and again on our departure with generous gifts and could not have been more welcoming. We all loved being in the sunny garden. We would love to return and are very grateful to have been able to stay here. A huge thank you to Vangelis and Joanna.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobyhards
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic rural villa with wonderful ambience”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As a family of 5 with a 6,4 and 1 year old, we had a wonderful stay at Villa Dimitra and felt well looked after by the owner and villa management. The house is very nicely decorated and well equipped, the garden is magnificent with a lovely pool, great views and good outdoor seating all surrounded by a well kept garden complete with an abundance of fresh figs (end of July through to Sep/Oct).
I would definitely recommend this place, it is rural so somewhat of a retreat and a drive to get anywhere but well worth it if you like that sort of thing. The village is quiet and traditional and gives a real feeling of Cretan living, it has a great Taverna in walking distance who do takeaways and 15 mins drive to some ok beaches.
Only downside of the villa would be the slightly uncomfortable beds upstairs which for a week would be fine but we spent a month there so a larger mattress would do better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural nature and beautfiul setting
Liked least: beds and quite small bathrooms
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing