We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ideon Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ideon Hotel
Ranked #15 of 166 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just returned from having spent a week at this hotel. Our room had a balcony with a sea view and was big enough although the bath was a bit small on the small side.The room was cleaned daily and the hotel was clean and well kept throughout.The staff were friendly and helpful and the self service breakfast was adequate.
It was a bit noisy during the early hours from the nearby bars but not enough to spoil the holiday.
You have to pay one euro fifty a day for the safe key with a five euro returnable deposit looking at how old the safe is it must must be worth its weight in gold.
Its a great location to the nearby fort and the old town and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest if you are a light sleeper I would opt for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markdunlaoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    173
    52
    7
    1
See reviews for
89
230
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Nice hotel situated in the old town of Rethymno, close to the Venetian harbor and lots of good restaurants and shops. Quite new and simple hotel with all you need of appliances and ammenities. Nice back garden with pool and sunbeds. Breakfast served in the lobby and outside, but the selection could have been better and so could the service of the staff. Small uncomfortable beds, but a nice balcony.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We (2 adults and a 4 year old) visited the Ideon in Sept 2011. On arrival in the early hours of the morning, we were given our room key and tiredly proceeded to our room. We requested a pool view (a year in advance) but were greeted with walls and rooftops (from what we could see in the dark) and also no where for our daughter to sleep! After complaining to the reception, the sofa was made up into a bed and we were told to see reception in the morning although the hotel was full. After a further complaint to our rep, we were moved to the 3rd floor with a pool view and a bed for our daughter.

After our initial glitch, we enjoyed the rest of our holiday.

The hotel was a good 3*, nothing more, nothing less. The rooms were smallish and the beds not the comfiest but adequate. The cleaning staff did a goodish job, if you don't look under the bed.

The staff at breakfast were fantastic, especially Sophia and always greeted us with a smile and the food was good too, a great start to the day.

The hotels location is fantastic, right on the edge of the old town and a 10-15 minute walk from the beach. The pool is small, but we only spent a couple of days there as we always enjoy the beach.

Overall, we enjoyed our holiday, but unfortunately would not return to the hotel, just not our cup of tea!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmithFamilyCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I stayed 5 days in this hotel. While the greeting at the front desk wasnt all that friendly, and we were a bit surprised that we had to take our own bags to the room, though there was a lift we were quite happy with the hotel overall.
I had requested a sea view, front room and had said I would even pay extra but they said they could not guarantee it even though I booked 6 months in advance. I did request a double bed and not 2 single put together. This request was more important. The room had a small balcony over the pool on the 3rd floor and a view of the other rooms acrross the courtyard and a very very small sea view way in the distance. The room was quite spacious, very clean and the bed very comfortable, The pillows were terrible they were either so thin that I had to use 4 and had a problem getting that many, or so high and hard like rocks (the new ones) that I couldnt use them. However they managed to find me 4 old ones that I was able to sleep on.
Breakfast was adequate and there was hot food sometimes. We didnt use the pool but it was vey small and not a lot of room around it. There were a lot of package guests from what we could see and they sat around the pool all day with the children. That did cause a bit of a problem if you tried to have a late afternoon siesta as they made a lot of noise from 9am to 7pm, so a nap was out of the question.
The hotel was very convenient to walk everywhere in the old town and all the restaurants, also to explore the castle.
The reception desk were helpful when we needed information during our stay.
Altogether I thought it was an excellant hotel for the price of 79 euro with breakfast, which is what we paid.
Janderra

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on a higher floor (3) if you can, as the lower ones at the back look at a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

There are many excellent reviews of the hotel and the town here and on the whole I agree with most of them. I therefore propose to concentrate on other points.

We spent a fortnight in Room 306 overlooking the pool at the end of August. Front of the hotel has lovely sea views but not much sun on the balconies. It was not noisy and AC/fridge worked well.

The lid of the safe is extremely heavy and I often thought quite dangerous should it slip and fall onto your hand. Please be careful. Balconies in Rooms 01 to 05 face the back of a building and a blank wall and should be avoided. We like having breakfast outdoor by the pool. The fruit juice was more squash rather than juice but it was no great hardship to get Peach Nectar from the nearest supermarket for €1.50. The breakfast was cereals (no British Cornflakes – bring your own if you must have Kelloggs), Greek Yoghurt (thick but they claimed only with 2% fat), tinned and fresh fruit, six hot dishes which varied daily, cheese and ham, toast making facility, various kinds of bread, numerous jams and Cretan honey and some Greek specialities which were tasty and enjoyable. The staff kept refilling the trays all morning with fresh supplies. Excellent food.

The Breakfast was however totally ruined by the number of visitors smoking nearby, some without a break. Even when we sat away from others by the side of the pool, the smoke was smelly and sickening. Why people have to smoke right first thing in the morning and why non smokers have to put up with so much selfishness I have no idea. Ever since smoking was banned indoors, we have been plagued by this problem every time we go away on holiday. I can only dream of having smoke free al fresco meals abroad now a days.

There was an amazing show every night – with what seemed like hundreds of thousands of birds – swallows? – swarming all over the town trying to find suitable resting places on overhead cables.

We went on B and B basis. Evening meals in the hotel looked good value for money for the choice on offer. However, we ate out every night. Cost roughly €40 for the meal including a bottle of wine €15. I recommend Loggia, To Pigadi (The Well), Agira (in Panoramo), Taverna Castelo, Taverna Sokaki (Lemon Garden), Alana, and Othonas. I regret I don’t remember some other names but for lunches especially, I highly recommend a Restaurant called Fanari just across the road from the hotel by the sea wall. The view of the sea in the warm sunshine was lovely and so was the food and the service. Dimetri, the waiter, is friendly and attentive and brought us a complimentary half carafe of wine when we became regulars! If you go to have a meal or a drink say Hello and wish him the best from us.
We had to pay €20 to keep the room until 6pm on the day of the departure. It was worth it and allowed us to take advantage of the whole day in the resort. There are large lockable storage cupboards for the cases and the hotel supplied the towels for a shower before dinner! We enjoyed our stay and we may visit again. However, Crete is a large island and to see it properly, we may have to stay in different locations over a number of visits.

Room Tip: front has sea views but little sun. avoid 01 to 05 rooms on any floor as they face a wall and not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank outdoorliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 km away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 km away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.0 km away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.4 km away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.3 km away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ideon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ideon Hotel

Property: Ideon Hotel
Address: 10 Square North Plastira, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Ideon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your Ideon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideon Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing