We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
4
1
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

My family occupied 6 apartments & villas at Creta Seafront Residence between 22nd May - 1st June 2018, for my brothers Wedding. The place itself is quite a way away from the built up tourist parts of Rethymnon, taking roughly half an hours walk, or €7 in a taxi. Because we had little ones, taxis where often required. Those who occupied to apartments (including myself) were expecting a self catering apartment with a small kitchen. Unfortunately all there was available was a fridge next to the bed, a kettle & a brevil toaster. Not enough to cater for self catering! The shower was unstable, but after many attempts managed to keep it upright on the wall, however it flooded the whole bathroom every time used, so I found myself mopping up the water every evening with towels, in order not to slip when using the toilet. The toilet seat was cheap plastic and fell off most times used. Demetrius was in charge of managing the complex in Sophia’s absence. Demetrius was very accommodating, however the resident drunk (who aparantly owns the complex, but is too intoxicated to run it, leases it to Sophia in exchange for a permanent room and drinking money) spoilt our holiday. He kept hanging around asking for alcohol, and when we wouldn’t give it to him, he got aggressive throwing things at us, shouting profanities and following us around in an attempt to make us feel uncomfortable. One morning (at 1am) he was walking up and down the staircase screaming how he hated the ‘f#cking English’. I was at this point very scared, imagining he would set fire to the complex in a fit of rage. Not something you expect on holiday, and especially in front of small children. My 3 year old was scared to death and so was we all! We attempted to make contact with Sophia during and after the holiday via email, but she never responded. The accompanying photos illustrate the danger right outside my apartment door, as someone pulled up the floor beams and left them like that for days, knowing there were small children residing there. It’s a real shame as the villas were quite nice and the complex is situated on the beach which was excellent for the children. Safe to say we would never return to Creta Seafront Residence, even if offered a free holiday!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

This was a great find! Loved the old stone wall and wood interior with beautiful views out over the beach - started every day throwing open the shutters and french windows and enjoying a filter coffee in bed looking out over the bay (early May when we visited and the temperature was perfect for us). All the equipment you'd expect and good wifi throughout the property. Very private & enclosed pool area at the back, shared with the three other villas, though we preferred sitting out at the front enjoying the views and the sound of the sea rather than the sound of the traffic! The beach is very quiet compared with the main tourist beach on the other side of Rethymno and it's very clean. We booked this through Airbnb and it was excellent value. Everyone was very friendly and we had good early contact. Free parking right alongside the property was a bonus, though I'd spend a bit of time on google maps/streetview if you're visiting to see where the entrance is off the street (we ended up looking out for the pink building opposite it). A favourite evening for us was a 15-20 min stroll around to the base of Fortezza castle, a drink at the sunset bar/restaurant there looking back over the bay and the setting sun, then another 10-15 mins walk around the castle to the harbour & old town for a meal with a €5 taxi back (taxi stand on the beach road on the old harbour side). We strongly recommend the property and expect to be back ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Positives -
Place looks exactly like photos - right beside the beach.
Nice spacious fairly well equipped apartments.
Nice shower!
Great location - not right in the middle of the busy part of town.
15\20 minute walk from Old town.
5/10 minute walk from Supermarkets. There is a small supermarket at top of the steps.
Right beside a really cool tropical looking bar/snack bar serving all kinds of cocktails. Also serving sandwiches, pizzas, burgers and snacks.
A 5 minute walk from a couple of very impressive looking restaurants. One is called Cava. Very stylish looking and full of the beautiful people! I think we were probably the only tourists which I liked!
Negatives -
These negatives are minor in my opinion.
Receptionist is lovely but her English isn't great. Which kind of worried me when I called her from Ireland to make some enquiries before I left. But once we arrived - all good!
If you are driving to this place - the apartments are not visible from the road and there is no sign out front. Maybe because place is under new ownership and perhaps haven't got around to putting up a sign? If you are using a SatNav you should find it though. Carpark is down a slope beside the bar - I think it's called "Jungle Bar"
Cooker wasn't working.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank catriona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is the best place I stayed in Creta. The houses are located closed from Rethymno city (15 min by foot). You open windows on a terrasse which is on the beach. There is also a pool in the middle of the buildings. Houses have been renovated and are in a luxurious condition.
Manager and owner is a fantastic guy, helpfull ect. I would highly recommand this place to evrybody who wants to stay in a quiet place in Creta.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nonolu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Καλύτερη Εξυπηρέτηση και Καθαριότητα
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews