We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for a family break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa HELIOS

Villa HELIOS romance by night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa HELIOS romance by night
The villa and the pool Spacious garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Villa HELIOS romance by night
The villa and the pool
Spacious garden
Relaxing at the pool
Relaxing in the garden
Dining outside at the pool
Living room
Dining place and the kitchen
Main bedroom
Wooden roof
Out to the veranda
Enjoying the veranda
Bedroom 1st floor
Out to the balcony
Sea view from the balcony
Bathroom 1st floor
Bedroom ground floor
Bedroom ground floor
Bathroom groundfloor
Villa HELIOS near the beach
Tavern on the beach
The beach of Maleme
The Maleme beach and the island of Thodorou
The beach of Falasarna
The famous lighthouse of Chania
A part of Chania harbour
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Maleme, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jaygoldie
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal for a family break”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed here for 1 week and were pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. The villa was clean, comfortable and had all the necessary comforts we desired....especially the swimming pool, bbq area and a much needed dishwasher.

Location was perfect, a short walking distance to the beach, supermarket and restaurants as well as a shortish drive to the beautiful old town of Chania.

Our host Maria was very friendly and helpful and we would not hesitate to return to this Villa in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: The television channnels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Vechta, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“As expected - we had a wonderful time and enjoyed the warm hospitality !”
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have been traveling to crete for many years and we know the island and the people quite well. When we come to crete its always a bit like coming home. We love the landscape, the ocean, the beautiful places and especially the wonderful and friendly people ! In all the years nothing has changed and therefore we enjoy coming back every time.
Our stay at villa helios was an extraordinary experience ! The villa is perfectly equipped and you don't have to miss anything. It is beautifully located and the pool was very welcome during the hot afternoons. Our special thanks go to Mary and Michael who were wonderful und very caring "landlords" !! We enjoyed our stay very very much and are sure to come back !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John L
South Hamilton, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“The perfect villa for the perfect island”
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The entire experience from beginning to end was absolutly outstanding - the owners Michael and Mary clearly understand how to make you feel very welcome and very comfortable!

We were looking for a villa for our family of five (including two teenagers and an 11 year old) that was near the beach, near Chania (the beautiful western port city of Crete) and that would act as a good central location for several outings during our stay. The accessibility of the villa to the Chania and the Old Road and the New Highway (less than 10 minutes to either road) made this the perfect spot.

Booking was easy, and Michael and Mary were both very responsive to any questions we had both via text and email messages. We arrange a time to meet at the villa upon our arrival to Chania and Mary was there waiting for us right on time.

Mary gave us a tour of the villa including the pool, the living area, the kitchen (that Mary and Michael had kindly stocked with fruit, local cheeses, bread and wine) and the bedrooms. Mary also spent time with us to understand how to get places we wanted to go and to suggest other off the beaten path options for us. Since this is a villa and we intended to prepare meals here too, she explained where the markets are and where to find the wonderful local wines.

We felt at home right away - the villa was immaculate and every detail was accounted for - clearly Mary and Michael have experience in this. There were plenty of towels for the pool, plenty of extra linens, a kitchen with all cutlery and dishware. The beds were very comfortable so everyone slept well, and the sound of the surf from the beach less than 100 meters away helped as well!

The staff checked and cleaned the pool daily, came in and cleaned the villa, and Mary checked in with us in the middle of our stay to make sure all was well. She also helped us book a local boat excursion to Gramvousa and Balos - Balos was without question the most beautiful beach we had ever seen!

On the last day, Mary and Michael stopped by to bid us farewell and send us off with a bottle of Cretan olive oil to help us remember our trip once we were back at home in Boston. I have to say that we felt more like Mary and Michael were our hosts and went out of their way to let us feel comfortable and at ease, just the way we would with a guest in our own home...truly and outstanding experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy and clean, comfortable surroundings
Liked least: A very minor issue - the lighting in the bathrooms could be better
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewed 22 January 2012 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: house, pool and garden
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous property in a peaceful, private setting
Liked least: nothing, it was all excellent
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Sep 2011
Dear Kate and Cornell, thank you very much for your review and for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed so much your holidays with us! This is exactly what our goal is and we do always our best for this! We trust we'll see you again or your friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing