We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for a good price.”
Review of Kronos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kronos Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for a good price.”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Heraklion is a good place to stay while in Crete and to visit the island. The hotel is well located in the city, at a walking distance of the bus station, the main things to see in the city, and a few good restaurants. The people working there are very helpful and nice. Free internet and wifi. The room was comfortable and clean.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    239
    72
    10
    10
See reviews for
71
286
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Pros: The room was clean & had a nice sea view. Good location - just a few minutes from the bus station and main square.

Cons: The beds were so uncomfortable. They have some sort of cushion covering the mattress so it's just way too soft & 'spongey' and you wake up aching all over. And because of this strange cushion, the fitted sheet is too short to be tucked in so we often woke up to find that the sheet had shifted during the night and we were sleeping on the cushion/mattress itself (which isn't the cleanest). We also had one of the glass shelves in the bathroom suddenly crash to the floor during the night & when we went downstairs to inform reception, she just handed us a broom.

All in all, the hotel was ok but not very comfortable or memorable. We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yenniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My partner & I stayed there October 21 after a long flight from North America. we arrived at 10:30 with partial luggage (1 bag was delayed until the next day). The reservation was there on the desk. Check in was fast & friendly. The room was very clean and comfortable, even though a bit small it was a great value. The recommended late night restaurant was around just a few steps away. The place was hopping, the food fairly priced and the free raki a nice digestive settler. Kronos is family-owned & run. This makes a big difference in how clients are treated - very well. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are available at extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We just had one night at the Kronos hotel booked one day ahead via the hotel's website. In the comments field we specifically asked for a non-smoking room with sea view and a double bed. Interestingly, the lady at the checkin was not aware of our booking, but anyway managed to allocate us a room with a double bed, an ashtray sitting on the bedside table but luckily without any smell of cigarettes in the room.

However, we could only get a glimpse of the sea when standing outside on the balcony (neither chairs nor table there). Keep in mind that we travelled in the beginning of November, with outside temperatures of around 15 degrees Celsius and strong winds from the sea. Our corresponding complaint with the lady at the reception desk was just acknowledged with the words "Well, if you can spot it from your balcony, you obviously have a view of the sea".

When we mentioned the issue again during checkout, luckily the receptionist (this time a man, obviously the hotel owner) showed more understanding and told us that rooms with a double bed and sea view were rare. He took the blame for his other receptionist not telling us that we would have had a view of the sea from a room with twin beds, and considerately only charged us the non-sea-view room rate.

Although the rooms were (obviously retro-)fitted with bathrooms, these were really small in size. Don't get me wrong: I highly appreciate that this hotel has individual bathrooms instead of shared facilities - it just wasn't an easy job to wash hands without spilling lots of water on the ground. Also the bathrooms were fitted with swinging glass doors (photo attached), which provided no noise insulation whatsoever and also permitted one to guess what the other one was doing inside. I personally don't mind that, but others might be more sensitive to this.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Kronos hotel, and must also positively remark that we could use the computers provided by the hotel to check in for our flights and also print the boarding passes free of charge. For reference, apart from a number of greek TV channels, one could also watch BBC World News, CNN, and the German ZDF channel.

As far as parking is concerned, there were a couple of free spaces in the omnipresent no-stopping-zones. We still chose to follow the signs around the hotel which directed us to a parking garage. After a mention that we stayed at the Kronos hotel, its daily rate was lowered from more than 20 to just 6 euros.

The biggest negative point about this pretty good hotel was its breakfast. First of all, the breakfast buffet comes at a charge, which was six euros per person during our stay. Unfortunately, as we were obviously too late and did not stay during the main tourist season, the buffet (available from 7 to 10) was out of some things by the time we got there (around 8.30), see photo. Specifically, I recall that once we got there, only one croissant and three bread rolls were left, which just weren't refilled after we and other guests had finished them.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pithansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Flying in to Heraklion it was great to get a 5 minute taxi ride to this hotel. The room was clean and inviting and the double glazing very effective. We always take ear plugs and I would recommend them here if like us you like to sleep with the window open.
The shower room was light and felt almost new, so presume some of the earlier photos are no longer relevant.
The staff were helpful and efficient - not really a 'family' feel, but no complaints. We had to move rooms on our first stay when we needed an extra day because of a cultural strike, and although the second room did not have a sea view it was spacious and very clean.
The best thing was the location, overlooking the harbour and sea front but only a few minutes walk to the Archaeological museum and bus station for Knossos - or the rest of the island. Just out of the main door and along the sea front towards the harbour is the excellent Ippokambos Ouzeri which I thought was the best place to eat.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful and on the first few days included fresh water melon. The orange juice is poor quality, but coffee is on tap and the staff were happy to make Greek coffee for me - so I was happy with it. Lovely boiled eggs.

Room Tip: If it ends in 1 it has the best sea views. If it ends in 2 it has the view of the fort, but when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UponATime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.3 km away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,724 reviews
1.4 km away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,680 reviews
0.2 km away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#7 of 58 in Heraklion
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
826 reviews
0.4 km away
Marin Dream Hotel
Marin Dream Hotel
#16 of 58 in Heraklion
573 reviews
0.4 km away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronos Hotel

Property: Kronos Hotel
Address: 2, Monis Agkarathou & Sofokli Venizelou, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Heraklion
#11 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Kronos Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kronos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronos Hotel Heraklion, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing