We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,176)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
948
181
36
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
181
36
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus homemade cookies beautiful hotel rooftop restaurant top floor appointed rooms corner room turn down service breakfast buffet luxury hotel archaeological museum sea view small pool perfect location huge variety would definitely stay here again sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful and all amenities were of super quality. The food was wonderful- huge variety as well. The restaurant featured excellent local wines. What added even more to our experience was the hospitality we received. Staff were so friendly and positive- they made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megaron, Guest Relations Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Catherine A,
thank you very much for this fantastic review! It was our great pleasure meeting you and we sincerely wish to welcome you soon again to our premises!
see you soon!
Kind regards
The GDM Megaron team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This upscale hotel was quite nice for our one night stay. The staff was absolutely wonderful!!! Breakfast had tremendous variety, and was good. The only issue, and it was small, the room was a bit warm. We slept with windows open for a bit, but the noise forced us to shut. The shower system was fantastic, but with the strange limited glass shower door, we could not enjoy to the fullest as we were afraid of water getting on bathroom floor. We do recommend staying here, and will again if every in Herakliaon

Room Tip: Harbor side rooms provide a wonderful view, but somewhat noisy from street traffic
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kennethsY7291WH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megaron, Guest Relations Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear kennethsY7291WH,
We would like to express our gratitude for choosing to stay with us and for recommending the GDM Megaron to other travelers.
Thank you for your kind words about the quality breakfast and our attentive staff .
Regarding your feedback about the room we would like to appoint that our smallest room, the executive city view room and sea view, is 26 square meters which is considered more than the average standard European room size.
Also, all rooms of GDM Megaron hotel are equipped with the last technology air-conditioning and double glazed windows, so that we can ensure that our guests have an uninterrupted and delightful night’s sleep.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Best regards
The GDM Megaron team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at the Megaron late on a Saturday night to be warmly greeted an efficiently checked in.
We were on the second floor at the front of the hotel, which looked over the port.
The hotel is on the direct takeoff path from the airport and takes a little getting used too.
The hotel is just a 10 min stroll from the Main Street of shops and bars. If you go off in to the side street and ally’s there is a depth of experience waiting. Look for restaurant 50 50 at the top of the town worth a visit. Lots of locals very popular.
The hotel has a pool but is more for plugs n cool than swimming.
The roof terrace is great for looking out to the sea horizon, it can be a bit breezy up there though.
The whole hotel was spotless with WiFi throughout. Gym compact but you could get a good workout.
Breakfast was good and all the staff were helpful and very friendly, a special mention to the lady who ran the breakfast in the plaza cafe, her smile and greeting every morning starts the day well.
We took trips on public transport from the bus station near by, travelling to Rethymno and Agios St. Nicolas.
Walk to the harbour defences well worth a look too.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ayesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megaron, Guest Relations Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ayesy,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the GDM Megaron Hotel!
It gives us great satisfaction to read that you found our hotel, the rooms and our breakfast to your liking.
Indeed, our hotel is ideally located in close proximity to the city center, the shops, good restaurants etc. and right above the central bus station connecting all the main cities of the island and last but not least the breathtaking view of the old port!
Looking forward seeing you again
Kind regards
The GDM Megaron team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our Greece vacation. It is one of our favourite hotels! We were greeted with big welcoming smiles and treated wonderfully by the staff. Our shower leaked and it was fixed within the day. The breakfast was wonderful, nothing missing for us! The room was very comfortable although we didn’t spend a lot of time in it. The rooftop pool, chairs and bar was lovely at the end of a busy day. We left early in the morning for the airport and they had a breakfast packed in a brown bag for us! We felt very special and spoiled by this hotel and the wonderful treatment we received. Thank you so much!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank katebillesberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megaron, Guest Relations Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear katebillesberger, Thank you very much for your kind words! Our guests satisfaction is our only priority and our staff will always be there to address your every need, in order to make your holiday experience as fulfilling as possible. Thank you for choosing to stay at the GDM Megaron Hotel. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, the GDM Megaron team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We stayed here twice, on our arrival for 2 days and 1 night before our departure. The hotel location is excellent. I cannot say enough about how the fantastic staff--you are warmly greeted by 2 lovely check-in hosts who take care of all of your needs in a smooth and professional manner. They even confirmed our airline flights and found us seats, plus as our airport call was at 4:45, they arranged a take-out breakfast and a taxi. They called at 4am to wake us and called again at 4:25 to make sure we did not go back to sleep! Wow!
And the days that we had breakfast there, the buffet is beautiful and generous. A staff member makes lovely omelets, there are plenty of cakes, breads, cereals, fruits, yogurts, meats and cheeses. All of the breakfast staff are welcoming and service oriented.
Our first room was small but the large bed was comfortable and the bathroom quite large and nice. The second room was on a corner, more roomy with a wrap around balcony. Both had fantastic views of the harbor. I doubt if I will go back to Crete as we did the full island and now have other destinations on our bucket list, but if I was ever to return there is not doubt that I would stay at the GDM Megaron.

Room Tip: Get a corner room facing the harbor if possible.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designtraveler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
megaron, Guest Relations Manager at GDM Megaron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear designtraveler2015,

thank you for this great review! Here at the GDM Megaron Hotel we take our customers' satisfaction very seriously and we give extra attention to every little detail in order to provide you with the best luxury accommodation possible. Thank you for your compliments regarding our unique breakfast, the view and of course our friendly and really hardworking staff.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you if someday you come again to Crete!

The GDM Megaron team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews