We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation,quiet, friendly and clean...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Galini

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Heraklion, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
W4475MSin...
Mirtos, Greece
1 review
“Great accommodation,quiet, friendly and clean. And what a view!”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Villa Galini situated 100 meter above Agios Nikolaos. A beautiful view over the city. 12 apartments, fully equipped with a very tasteful decoration. A wonderful bed, good bathroom and kitchen.
The owners, a Finish lady and an Irish man, are helpful and have always time for a nice talk. They do a great job.
The swimming pool is fine, but is a 3 meter pool. So careful with children.
As owner of Villa Mertiza in Mirtos I recommend this place with love.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wywh12
Dunstable
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Villa in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed at Villa Galini at the end of May and had a wonderful time.

The villa is beautifully situated, with stunning views all around the property. The outside space was perfect, with lovely well kept gardens to the front, a huge terrace with BBQ and Pizza Oven, loads of sunbathing and dining space and of course a great pool. If you want a holiday with lots of time outdoors, in beautiful surroundings then this is it.

We stayed here as a small group of friends, but it would also be perfect for families. The two bedrooms downstairs had their own separate doors, hallway leading to the single rooms upstairs and bathrooms. So you can have your own family privacy when needed. The living/dining/kitchen space was huge! This really is a great villa.

Michael the owner, was wonderful. He was always on hand should you need him, and is respectful of your privacy offering to clean/replenish towels when you are out if you'd rather. If not, he is friendly, and happy to chat away about football, his time in London and places nearby to eat and drink. Thank you Michael for looking after us so well.

As other reviewers have said, you really do need a car if you are staying in this location, but it was totally worth it for us as the villa, outdoor space and beautiful views made our stay.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sim14
Bedfordshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great villa with stunning views”
Reviewed 30 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

If you have rented a car, and you're thinking of staying in this part of Crete, then you really should be booking Villa Gallini!

With the electric gate closed (which made us feel like Hollywood celebs!) the villa is beautifully private, with a gorgeous driveway that leads to a huge amount of outside space, that offers both sun and shade. It's also got a great covered area with a bbq and even a traditional pizza oven! There's a lovely mix of outside furniture, from tables and chairs through to the most comfy 'hammock chair' I've ever sat in! The views, almost any way you look, are stunning, and the sunsets are something to behold.

The villa itself is massive, with a lovely double height open plan living area, and then two double rooms on the ground floor that each are pretty well self contained with their own bathroom. I can't speak for the upstairs, as we only needed the double rooms therefore the upstairs was locked, but I'm sure the bedrooms up there would have been just as well kept and appointed as ours were downstairs.

As lovely as the villa is, perhaps it's biggest asset is the lovely owner Michael. Even though we were hiring a car, he made sure to meet as at the airport (even though our flight was getting in very late) and then guide us back to the villa. When you're tired and driving in a new country this was a real lifesaver (quite literally potentially as some of the drivers in Crete are not the best!).

After showing us around, he then made sure I had his number, and gave Whatsapp as an option too, so that should we need him for anything just give him a shout and he'd be there. He'd also very kindly left a lovely cake and some other bits and bobs so that we we had some food / water for the next morning.

He comes by every day to clean the pool, but checks what time you'd like that done, so if you just want privacy I'm sure he would be happy to come by when you're out. The same goes for when the cleaning is done in the villa which is once a week. We twice got fresh towels during our week which was a nice touch (in addition to the fresh ones that we had on day one), and when we did have a little problem with the water (there wasn't any!), he was there within minutes and the water was back on shortly after (it was just a pump that need a little maintenance).

Over and above how seamless he made the whole experience, he was also a really nice guy, who seemed to genuinely care about making our stay as lovely as possible. He even brought us some home made wine and a bottle of home made Raki (a local spirit which you really don't want to be drinking a lot of!!!).

I do think you'd probably need a car if you're staying there, as you about a 10 minute drive to the coast, 20 mins to Heraklion city centre (which is lovely), 15 mins to Heraklion airport, 30 mins to Hersonissos etc. but for us that was well worth it to have the privacy of our own place, a private pool, and views that were just amazing.

The only thing that wasn't great for us was the weather, which apparently was just damn bad luck on our part!

I really couldn't recommend this villa highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie E
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Villa Galini and We have the most fabulous time there.

The villa , grounds and views are so wonderful.

Michael is a wonderful host and is there if you need anything and it's never any trouble.

Highly recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkGaasb...
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great place with great host”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed in the villa with 7 people this summer for the second time. We rebooked because it is a great place to spend the holiday. Iy is not a vert touristic place so we enjoyed the rest and the great views from the terrace.

It is not a very luxureous place but it has everything you need for a super relaxed holiday. Looking at the pictures these are all correct. What you see is what you get.

The hosts a very kind people who will go through great lenghts to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Eventhough it is not very touristic, going to the beach or more crowded places is just a 20-25 min drive. I do recommend a rental car.

Thanks for the stay Michael and family! Maybe we will visit again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing