We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable subtle luxury”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The distinguished Elounda Bay Palace is home away from home, offering relaxation amidst verdant greenery combined with subtle and refined luxury draped along the shores of the ever-blue Mirabello Bay. The twin sister to the adjacent ‘Beach’ the Bay is a member of ‘Leading Hotels of the World’ and promises and delivers cultivated hospitality and coutured refinement. Sharing facilities with its sister, this hotel offers a lower-key alternative luxury destination, yet not shirking on the level of luxury and comfort. Business folk will love the expansive conference facilities where commerce or science can be seamlessly blended with exceptional pleasure.

Room Tip: Research the website to locate the very room you want
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
There are newer reviews for Elounda Bay Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2017

I stayed here with a friend in September 2016 and delayed my review whilst I waited to hear why Thomson state on their website that all rooms are superior rooms. With this in mind and not being fussed about a sea view I saw no reason to pay a supplement, and indeed I am sure there was no facility to upgrade the room anyway. On arrival at midnight we entered our room to find the curtains drawn, but the room was cheerless and cramped.The bathroom was small and although it looked as if it had been renovated at some point it only had a hand shower held shower in the bath that when fully extended did not reach above the head of anyone more that 5' 2". My friend appeared in the bathroom doorway holding the "safe' which was not attached to the cupboard door. In the morning when we drew back the curtains, it looked as if a door had at some point been replaced with patio doors to the balcony - the only problem was that the wall had not been removed so there was still only the width of a standard door to access the balcony and of course not much light coming into a drab room. The only chairs were two uncomfortable rush seated chairs with wooden arms which were only wide enough for an average size person. The table was about 12 inches high which you had to be careful not to hit your shins on and where there would normally be a desk there was a huge air conditioning unit. There was a very narrow table partly blocking the access to the balcony, and despite the lack of furnishings there was very little room left. The double bed was permanently fixed next to the wall blocking the balcony, so only one bedside table and only accessible from one side. Overall it reminded me of my first visit to Greece in the early seventies when I could only afford basic accommodation. This is a shame as the location is good, but not sure who gave the hotel a five star rating.

Room Tip: Review says it all
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
19  Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We visited Elounda Bay Palace a week in late September/early October and had a very good and relaxing vacation. The staff and service were excellent all the way through; from the booking (which we did on their homepage) and subsequent contacts with the guest relations manager, to our departure with a late check-out. Even though you expect that from a first class hotel, in reality it doesn't always happen. Travelling off season also gives you the chance to strike some good deals, so look out for discounted rooms and offers...which we did and got a very nice discounted package.

We had booked a bungalow with a garden view but were upgraded to a bungalow with sea view upon arrival, which was a very nice and appreciated surprise. In retrospect we should have booked the sea view already from the start, as it really made a difference (at a higher cost though). The bungalow wasn't free standing, but rather 5-6 rooms adjacent to each other. Each room had a small terrace with a table and chairs, and a small lawn with your own sun beds and umbrella. The room itself was nothing special but clean and neat with the things you need; a bed, sofa, desk, tv etc.

Upon arrival we found out that the hotel had more than 80 % occupancy even though it was off season, but as many rooms/bungalows/villas had their own swimming pool/sun beds it never felt crowded, which was very good. Furthermore it is possible to use the neighbouring Elounda Beach Hotel's facilities, which provided even more options. Our room was quite near the Beach hotel so we regularly used one of their small, and almost empty, beaches. Elounda Bay Palace also have a lot of sun beds around the pools, beaches and gardens, so it was never difficult to find one (mind you it was off season though...but on the other hand still a high occupancy).

We had booked a half board which included breakfast and a buffé dinner in the evening. The first night we arrived late and missed the dinner, but were given complimentary sandwiches, chips and a bottle of wine in the room. The sandwiches were nothing special, but we really appreciated the gesture.
We do appreciate good food(!) and usually are a bit suspicious of having buffé dinners every night as it can get a bit boring. The hotel, and the neighbouring hotel, also offers several à la carte restaurants apart from the buffé - and if you have booked half board you'll get a 25 Euro voucher to use in these restauarants - very generous indeed. With that said we actually took the buffé every night as it was both varied and excellent, so for us it was no need to look for something else. Huge cred also to the staff in the restaurant who were very friendly and professional, even though the restaurant almost always was full.

Anything negative? Not much really. The price on drinks were a bit (too) high though, but Elounda is within walking distance so it's easy to buy your wine/beer/water/whatever there...and as you can buy the same wine in the supermarket as they serve in the hotel, you also notice the huge price difference.
It would have been nice to have a water boiler in the room and some tea/coffe; but for us personally it's more of a 'nice-to-have'-thing and not one of the essentials, so it was a minor thing.

Summarizing the above, we had a great and relaxing vacation. Maybe we would have looked at it differently if we had paid twice as much during high season, but in our case we were generally very happy.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Medvedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, Quality Assurance at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Elounda Bay Palace this autumn. We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed the hotel and facilities and that our staff made you welcome and ensured that you had a relaxing stay. If you decide to return to the Elounda Bay Palace please ask for complimentary kettle and cups etc. as we do parovide them when asked for. We would look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another holiday in the near future.

Kind regards
Angela Kokolaki
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Stayed here for 10 days in October.
As soon as we arrived, someone came out from reception to greet us, took us inside while instructing someone else to deal with our luggage, gave us a welcome drink while we filled out the arrival form, told us about the hotel, took us to our room, and shown us around the room. This is exactly how I felt we should be treated as it makes you feel welcome & individual - well done - other hotels take note.

The room we booked is probably the cheapest the hotel does and is described as a mountain view. The bathroom was small (but clean and sufficient) and the room & balcony were bigger than I was expecting it. There was a 2 seater settee as well as table & chair and TV etc. The room was clean and okay but you do not get the wow factor as you enter it - just a "this is okay and will do", and could do with a revamp, but basically okay. Outside on the balcony (plenty big enough) was a very nice view towards the mountain and it faced west which gets the afternoon sun.

Possibly because it was October and the hotel was not full, we never had any problems getting sun loungers, swimming pools were empty, service at breakfast and evening meals were excellent, and the food good (not 100% excellent but still good).

The weather was just right for me (don't like it too hot) between 21 and 25C every day and with the lack of crowds it seems like the best time of the year to come here.

On day 7 of our stay we were asked to move to their sister hotel next door because they said they had decided to close for the end of the season due to a lack of guests. I thought this was a bit of bad management planning, but as this sister hotel was 5* and we were given a much better & bigger room with a sea view (and an aircon system that was not noisy), then reluctantly were decided to move (as quick as we possibly could). Incidently, we were refunded £80 by our tour operator JET2 for having to move to this hotel, even though it was better and not their fault - well done.

The only negative was noise, not enough to spoil the holiday but it was enough to comment on it. I was expecting some noise from the highway several hundred yards away, but this was not a problem. However we were woken up every morning with dog(s) barking. I think they were guard dogs NOT in the hotel grounds but on a property next to the hotel. Another noise is a constant drone or humm of either an industrial pump or a generator, again NOT in the hotel grounds but next door. This was not noisy enough to hear inside the room but it you sat on your balcony for any length of time then it became irritating. The main noise however is as several other reviewers describe - the aircon system. Because it was October it did not bother me too much as for example we did not need it on at night, but it is so loud that you cannot have the TV on at the same time as the aircon because you cannot here the TV. Just to give you an idea of how noisy it was, at night when our aircon was switched off you could still hear the one on in the next room, even though I am partly deaf and even though I put ear plugs in, I could still hear it. We only had this for one night and the rest of the time it was quiet, but I think it would be a problem in the main summer months when it gets very hot and the hotel is full.

Overall, this is a very good hotel in a good area of Crete with fine views, good food and excellent staff. If they can just upgrade the room & aircon ihen it will go from very good to excellent.

TIP: I hired a car from a small company just outside the hotel - to the right, about 100 yards on the left next to the bakery. They were excellent (and cheap) and said "no
problem" even when we returned the car with a bit of the front bumper missing (before you say anything, it was not to do with my driving but someone actually stole it while it
was in a car park - honest).

Another TIP: If you are flying home via Heraklion airport, it is old, small, overcrowded and the prices are a rip off. Example: Coffee - Regular euro4.20, Large euro8.40, one pizza slice euro6.20, and duty free items approx 50 Higher than a UK supermarket. If you think you are going to want something to eat on the way home, pick something up from a local shop and take it with you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to get a view - some lower floors only see trees.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dudley-Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, Quality Assurance at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Thank you for your review of your stay at our properties this October. We are delighted to read that you felt that you had been welcomed in a friendly and professional manner. We appologize that we had to move you during your stay with us to our sister hotel the Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas. During our winter closure we renovate and refurbish where necessary in readiness for our next summer season when we would be pleased to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Elounda Bay Palace for another stay.

Kind regards,
Angela Kokolaki
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We visited the hotel with the daughter. The room was clean, but it was not renovated long time. The hotel has facilities with renovated rooms. First three days we had the problems with the cleaning. The lady visited the room at 6pm for 5-7 minutes. After my conversation with the manager at forth day the room has been cleaned 2 times in the days as it should be. The meals are good and tasty, but it is not for small children. There was children menu, but it is not for children under 9 years. In the pool and beach area was good services. Due to place location it was nice swimming at the sea within the day.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Екатерина К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCrete, Quality Assurance at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read your compliments regarding the astonishing location of our hotel. Elounda Bay Palace along with its sister hotel Elounda Beach are set in a 1000m coastline of Mirabello bay, offering to our guests great views to the sea and crystal, clear blue waters for swimming at our private sandy beaches. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable holiday experience.

Kind regards,
Marianna Kafetzaki
Quality Assurance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
3.5 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 km away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
1.7 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
4.7 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: €143 - €618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing