We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half Board vs. Full Board”
Review of Elounda Bay Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elounda Bay Palace
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Can some please explain the difference in the half board versus the full board dining option at this property. Does the full board option include all meals at any of the 7 restaurants on property? Also, would you recommend renting a car at Herkalion airport and driving to the resort or should we just have the hotel pick us up at the airport? Thanks for your help

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chipzax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for your questions, Firstly the journey from the airport is approx. 65klms along the northeastern coast of the island and you can expect the journey to take 50 minutes. If you are arriving by day then it is an option, if you are comfortable about driving in a different country, to hire a car. However if arriving at night or after a long journey, why not start your holiday with as little stress as possible and let us bring you to the hotel being driven by one of our experienced drivers. The halfboard option in our hotel is American breakfast buffet in our Aretoussa Restaurant and a choice of evening venues between the buffet in the Aretoussa Restaurant or credit towards a meal in our a la carte restaurants.
The full board option is American breakfast buffet in our Aretoussa Restaurant, lunch in the Ariadne Taverna and choice of evening venues between the buffet in the Aretoussa Restaurant or credit towards a meal in our a la carte restaurants.
I hope this answers your queries and if you do have any other questions please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We look forward to welcoming you to The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Elounda Bay Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 410 of 708 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

The resort of the hotel are lavley, the rooms are disaster,

The normal rooms look like a 3 star hotel, very old and with bad maintenance.

The prices that you pay for rasturant and food are redicilass high it's a ripoff

A normal cost in a restaurant without noting special cost 220euro, for noting special,

There is 10 times nicer places 3 time cheaper to spend a vacation around the world

With it the audience are old if you above 60 and have 2 mil in your bank account its your place, if not do yourself a favor and choose another place.

Not worth the money

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shlomikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

We will not be directly replying to this report on Trip Advisor! Our new website is complete with photos and all the menus and prices there, for whom ever may wish to judge for themselves the things mentioned above.
With a repeater guest rate of over 40%, is proof in itself of the wonderful holiday experience that is provided by The Elounda Bay Palace and our loyal staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Elounda Bay Palace for a relaxing break in the sun in June 2011. In my opinion it's a great "4 star plus" hotel but lacks the wow factor of a 5 star. If you stay here you'll have a really good holiday with nothing major to complain about but it won't blow you away. It wouldn't for example stack up against the Amathus Beach Hotel in Cyprus.
The Best Bits:
* The hotel grounds are beautiful and it has a couple of private beaches which are visible from the main pool.
* The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Elounda village which has a lovely harbour - head down there for lunch or drinks in the evening.
* Service is of a very high standard, all the staff were polite and friendly.
*Food at the buffet was excellent as was the local wine!

The Niggly Bits:
* Air conditioning in the rooms isn't particularly strong and it's centrally controlled so you can't make it cooler which caused a few issues sleeping at night.
* The drinks are a little expensive resulting in not many people staying in the bar at night - no atmosphere. Not a huge issue though -just pop down into Elounda instead.
* The rooms are a little bit dated in terms of decor but still very clean and tidy. Don't bother upgrading to a garden room - it's not worth it. The sea view rooms are great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BGTravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. Our WOW factor as you put it is in our location, which is a cove with 2 sandy beaches and waterfront accommodation. The style of the hotel has been deliberately kept in the Cretan village style and cannot be compared to more modern styles of hotels. It is our Cretan style and hospitality that makes us unique and able to provide the kind of holiday that leaves our guests feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We enjoy a very high repeater guest rate and combined with a very loyal staff go to make a happy and familiar atmosphere in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and wines here at the hotel and we will be delighted to welcome you again for another holiday at The Elounda bay Palace.

Kind Regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed in the new seaview rooms in the hotel, and they were lovely. All the restaurants for lunch served great food with really friendly service.
The spa was also an amazing treat although more expensive than most in the UK. We booked half board and did'nt realise that meant only dinner, instead of lunch, as we prefer to eat out of the hotel in the evening, However when we did eat in the restaurant in the evening the food was very nice and we did again have good service.
I would go back for a relaxing couples break or with young children. The hotel, beach, staff and setting was fantastic and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fi7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for your review about the holiday experience that you had with us at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.
The anniversary 35th year of the hotel has given us an ideal opportunity to offer our guests a credit of 100€ for use in our spa which is part of the Herni Chenot philosophy of spas.
Our relaxing ambience and hospitable staff, whose aim is to make all our guests feel special, all set in our mature Mediterranean gardens right on the waters edge with our private beaches go to make the ideal holiday setting.
We are looking forward to welcoming you for a future stay at the hotel and hope that your memories of our Cretan paradise bring you back soon.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My friend and I took a room each for a week's break in September. I had stayed here several times many years ago when it was Astir Palace so it was a trip down memory lane. Some areas have hardly altered and their charm maintained but I was delighted by the changes that had taken place. My biggest surprise was how quiet the hotel had become. It was always exclusive but seemed to have a very low occupancy on our visit. We both wanted a rest so it wasn't a great issue. It had the atmosphere of an exclusive club. The staff said the hotel had been quiet all season because of the recession. I cannot praise the staff enough. I constantly travel with work and have stayed at numerous four and five star hotels all over the world but I have never encountered such consistently friendly staff. I kept expecting someone to be indifferent but the staff are exceptional. It's incredible. The restaurants and food quality are superb. The buffet in the main restuarant was somewhat limited because of the hotel's low occupancy but what was on offer was outstanding. The dolcelatte sauce with the roast pork at the carvery was sublime. My only criticism was breakfast. Coffee was average, poor omelettes and horror of horrors - no smoked salmon!!! I disagree with the reviews that say that drinks prices are absurdly high. I felt they were about right for a five star hotel and there were some very good value wines on the menu which were similarly priced to the tavernas. A wide variety of watersports are available. Waterskiing is reasonably priced but jetskiing is absurdly high. All in all a fantastic experience and will definitely be returning. I hope business picks up for the hotel as it deserves to be busier.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwokypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Thank you for writing about your visit on Trip Advisor and your kind praise for the staff of the hotel. Many of our staff have been with the hotel since it opened 35 years ago and are proud to be celebration this special anniversary with us this year. We have many new benefits for all our guests this year and we are bringing in new policies. We have been carefully listening to the suggestions of our guests and are now putting in to action many things that they would like to see changed, for example complimentary gym and tennis facilities, complimentary water, to name a few. With this anniversary year it is an excellent time to make changes and new policy, which we are sure will delight all our guests. We have just launched our new website and it is now possible to view all of our dining venues and their menus, complete with the prices, winelists and bar menus.
The ambience of the hotel as it nestles in its exotic gardens is one of relaxation and holiday. From the Cretan hospitality at the Traditional taverna restaurant to the Sail In jetty bar to the wide variety of choices of entertainment and dinning venues with in the resort all go to make the holiday experience at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel an unforgettable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit to this holiday paradise.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 km away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
3.5 km away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.2 km away
Elounda Gulf Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
1.7 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
430 reviews
4.7 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Bay Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Bay Palace

Address: Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Elounda
#9 Family Hotel in Elounda
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: €156 - €618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Elounda Bay Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Bay Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Bay Palace Hotel Elounda
Elounda Bay Palace Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing