We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elounda Bay Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$433
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$552/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Elounda Garden Suites(Elounda)(Great Value!)
US$185
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$321
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$383/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$538
US$490
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$367
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$346
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$375/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$436
US$419
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$481/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Elounda Heights(Elounda)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$414
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$805
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$894/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (737)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
367
220
86
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
220
86
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssail barelounda bayleading hotels of the worldmountain viewsister hotelhalf boardbeach staffbreakfast and dinnerfish restaurantshared poolwater sportsa sea view roommain restaurantsuperior roombottle of wineprivate beachplenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The resort of the hotel are lavley, the rooms are disaster,

The normal rooms look like a 3 star hotel, very old and with bad maintenance.

The prices that you pay for rasturant and food are redicilass high it's a ripoff

A normal cost in a restaurant without noting special cost 220euro, for noting special,

There is 10 times nicer places 3 time cheaper to spend a vacation around the world

With it the audience are old if you above 60 and have 2 mil in your bank account its your place, if not do yourself a favor and choose another place.

Not worth the money

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shlomikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

We will not be directly replying to this report on Trip Advisor! Our new website is complete with photos and all the menus and prices there, for whom ever may wish to judge for themselves the things mentioned above.
With a repeater guest rate of over 40%, is proof in itself of the wonderful holiday experience that is provided by The Elounda Bay Palace and our loyal staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Elounda Bay Palace for a relaxing break in the sun in June 2011. In my opinion it's a great "4 star plus" hotel but lacks the wow factor of a 5 star. If you stay here you'll have a really good holiday with nothing major to complain about but it won't blow you away. It wouldn't for example stack up against the Amathus Beach Hotel in Cyprus.
The Best Bits:
* The hotel grounds are beautiful and it has a couple of private beaches which are visible from the main pool.
* The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Elounda village which has a lovely harbour - head down there for lunch or drinks in the evening.
* Service is of a very high standard, all the staff were polite and friendly.
*Food at the buffet was excellent as was the local wine!

The Niggly Bits:
* Air conditioning in the rooms isn't particularly strong and it's centrally controlled so you can't make it cooler which caused a few issues sleeping at night.
* The drinks are a little expensive resulting in not many people staying in the bar at night - no atmosphere. Not a huge issue though -just pop down into Elounda instead.
* The rooms are a little bit dated in terms of decor but still very clean and tidy. Don't bother upgrading to a garden room - it's not worth it. The sea view rooms are great.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BGTravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. Our WOW factor as you put it is in our location, which is a cove with 2 sandy beaches and waterfront accommodation. The style of the hotel has been deliberately kept in the Cretan village style and cannot be compared to more modern styles of hotels. It is our Cretan style and hospitality that makes us unique and able to provide the kind of holiday that leaves our guests feeling relaxed and rejuvenated. We enjoy a very high repeater guest rate and combined with a very loyal staff go to make a happy and familiar atmosphere in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and wines here at the hotel and we will be delighted to welcome you again for another holiday at The Elounda bay Palace.

Kind Regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed in the new seaview rooms in the hotel, and they were lovely. All the restaurants for lunch served great food with really friendly service.
The spa was also an amazing treat although more expensive than most in the UK. We booked half board and did'nt realise that meant only dinner, instead of lunch, as we prefer to eat out of the hotel in the evening, However when we did eat in the restaurant in the evening the food was very nice and we did again have good service.
I would go back for a relaxing couples break or with young children. The hotel, beach, staff and setting was fantastic and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fi7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for your review about the holiday experience that you had with us at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel.
The anniversary 35th year of the hotel has given us an ideal opportunity to offer our guests a credit of 100€ for use in our spa which is part of the Herni Chenot philosophy of spas.
Our relaxing ambience and hospitable staff, whose aim is to make all our guests feel special, all set in our mature Mediterranean gardens right on the waters edge with our private beaches go to make the ideal holiday setting.
We are looking forward to welcoming you for a future stay at the hotel and hope that your memories of our Cretan paradise bring you back soon.


Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My friend and I took a room each for a week's break in September. I had stayed here several times many years ago when it was Astir Palace so it was a trip down memory lane. Some areas have hardly altered and their charm maintained but I was delighted by the changes that had taken place. My biggest surprise was how quiet the hotel had become. It was always exclusive but seemed to have a very low occupancy on our visit. We both wanted a rest so it wasn't a great issue. It had the atmosphere of an exclusive club. The staff said the hotel had been quiet all season because of the recession. I cannot praise the staff enough. I constantly travel with work and have stayed at numerous four and five star hotels all over the world but I have never encountered such consistently friendly staff. I kept expecting someone to be indifferent but the staff are exceptional. It's incredible. The restaurants and food quality are superb. The buffet in the main restuarant was somewhat limited because of the hotel's low occupancy but what was on offer was outstanding. The dolcelatte sauce with the roast pork at the carvery was sublime. My only criticism was breakfast. Coffee was average, poor omelettes and horror of horrors - no smoked salmon!!! I disagree with the reviews that say that drinks prices are absurdly high. I felt they were about right for a five star hotel and there were some very good value wines on the menu which were similarly priced to the tavernas. A wide variety of watersports are available. Waterskiing is reasonably priced but jetskiing is absurdly high. All in all a fantastic experience and will definitely be returning. I hope business picks up for the hotel as it deserves to be busier.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwokypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Thank you for writing about your visit on Trip Advisor and your kind praise for the staff of the hotel. Many of our staff have been with the hotel since it opened 35 years ago and are proud to be celebration this special anniversary with us this year. We have many new benefits for all our guests this year and we are bringing in new policies. We have been carefully listening to the suggestions of our guests and are now putting in to action many things that they would like to see changed, for example complimentary gym and tennis facilities, complimentary water, to name a few. With this anniversary year it is an excellent time to make changes and new policy, which we are sure will delight all our guests. We have just launched our new website and it is now possible to view all of our dining venues and their menus, complete with the prices, winelists and bar menus.
The ambience of the hotel as it nestles in its exotic gardens is one of relaxation and holiday. From the Cretan hospitality at the Traditional taverna restaurant to the Sail In jetty bar to the wide variety of choices of entertainment and dinning venues with in the resort all go to make the holiday experience at the Elounda Bay Palace Hotel an unforgettable one.
We look forward to welcoming you back for another visit to this holiday paradise.

Kind regards,
Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This hotel is just outstanding. I've been staying there for 7 times and only once we were a bit irritated about a big group of Coca Cola Greece. All the other times we were completely satisfied. I've been visiting a lot of other 5 star hotels recently all around the world. And this hotel is incomparable because of the very friendly and helpful staff as of the absolutely beautiful location. Of course the all extra services are quite expensive but no more than in other luxury hotels.

It's not an action hotel but if you're looking for a quite recreative holiday you'll be right there. The half-board restaurant is not exceptional but for the price alright if you go to one of the other hotel restaurants it's at least about 200 euros per dinner but definitely delicious.

In the main building not all rooms are perfect. The first time we had the two rooms next to the elevator and heard it all night. Since the rooms have been refurbished they're all very nice. The whole family very enjoyed our stay and the amazing beaches we reccomend the hotel all our friends.

While we were staying the third time we got even a free upgrade to a villa with private pool and that was just incredible. I think it's the structure of the hotel like a small village with differents restaurants and private villas which makes it a very unique resort.
There was no issue I had to worry about and even if there had been one a call would have settled it.

As soon as I find the time again I'll visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blickpositiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRassoulis, General Manager at Elounda Bay Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

As one of our loyal guests we greatly appreciate your having taken the time to write a review on The Elounda Bay Palace Hotel. As you have stayed at the hotel so many times over the years you have been able to watch the changes that have been made to ensure that the resort stays in the ways that our loyal guests enjoy and how we have adapted to meet new standards that our guests expect of us.
We take very seriously the opinions of our guests, as through this we have built our repeater guest rate to the extent it is and we hope that our guests will continue to give us the feedback to aid us in this on going process. It is the little things and the fine tuning that makes all the difference. Our staff who have been with the hotel for years become like old family friends to our guests and look forward to welcoming them year after year.
We look forward to welcoming you next summer with the family.

Kind regards,

Manolis Rassoulis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews