We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,250)
Filter reviews
2,250 results
Traveller rating
1,375
627
187
34
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,375
627
187
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mirabello restaurant lobby bar a la carte restaurants elounda village main restaurant greek night mythica package half board sea view all inclusive package buffet restaurant bungalow room beach area gala dinner beach bag infinity pool glass of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 2,250 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Excellent location of the hotel with very nice architecture, super friendly & helpful local staff, very good quality & variety of meals, superior view from the room to the Elounda gulf, peaceful environment

Room Tip: rooms close to seaside are nice
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas-Crete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Absolutely exceeded our expectations! Wonderful experience throughout our break.

This is a large hotel however this is not a high rise building. Many two store bungalows are scattered all over the development. All have either terraces or balconies.

Some properties have private pools. No point booking those out of season. Pools are very cold and unusable unless it's baking outside.

Extremely comfortable rooms. Very clean. Mini bar restocking is a bit hit and miss but not a problem.

Maids are always smiley. In fact everyone is smiley in this wonderful despite the heat and long working hours.

The beach bar is the best. Great cocktails and very varied choice.

All grounds are immaculate. Pools are amazing.

Service in this hotel is most certainly 5 star plus.

Food is good. Great choice. Freshly cooked. Amazing variety. Always something there for even the most fussy eaters. Their desserts are to die for!

This hotel is not good for anyone with any kind of mobility problems. Too many steps and up hill walking.

The hotel is located on a private beach. Plenty of sun beds. No fighting over those either.

My only gripe was the photographer girls. Felt constantly pestered by them. On our way to the restaurant, by the pool, on the beach...It was rather tiresome.

We loved this amazing hotel and cannot wait to return again. Amazing and memorable experience!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Izzysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stayed at this lovely hotel from the 7th - 14th August. We booked with Thomson, including a coach transfer. Our flight didn't land until around 23:45 and with a just under 2 hour transfer from Heraklion airport, it meant that we arrived at the hotel at just before 2am.

However even at this time, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff with a glass of prosecco, so that was a great way to start the holiday. We were shown to our room by a porter which was on the ground floor of the main building.

The room was a perfect size with a good bath/shower combo, fully working aircon and a nice little patio for watching the world go by.

The hotel is absolutely massive, so the map that came with the welcome pack was very helpful. There is a main restaurant, two a la carte restaurants (we were half board so didn't use these), a lobby bar and a beach bar.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner for half board guests are all served in the main restaurant. We didn't ever have lunch, so can't comment on this, but the breakfast and dinner were lovely. The format is a buffet where you can help yourself. Everything is clearly labelled in 4 different languages and the variety at dinner was excellent, as it changed almost every single day. Desserts were very impressive with a chocolate fountain available most nights, and no shortage of baklava!

We spent most of our time in the upper "infinity" pool, which has an absolutely amazing view out across the sea. The pool and surrounding area is quite small, so sunbeds do fill up quickly at peak times. However, heading there after 4pm meant that obtaining a sunbed was pretty straightforward.

The evening entertainment was classy, with the resident duo "black and white stripes" playing an acoustic set most nights in different areas of the hotel. There was an acrobatic performance one night, which was very good too.

Facilities wise, there are lots of things to choose from. There are tennis courts, a table tennis table, gym, spa and several classes during the day if you are so inclined, such as Greek lessons, salsa, toast making(!) etc.

Wifi is available but it was a little spotty in areas away from the main lobby bar and restaurant. I could receive it in our room, but it would often disconnect and was often slow.

Getting around

The hotel is at the bottom of a cliff face, so walking around can be hard work, as everything from there is uphill. There is a bus stop for an hourly bus that runs between Agios Nikolaos and Elounda, but it is right at the top of a very steep heel, so you may have a heart attack before getting there!

Elounda is a lovely little village which is around 2 miles walk away. The walk is a little difficult due to the majority of the roads been thin with no pavement and several coaches navigating the twists and turns. A taxi is roughly €7 each way.

If you're looking for something a little livelier, then Agios Nikolaos is €13 in a taxi and has a multitude of restaurants and bars.

Downsides

There were only a few minor quibbles with the hotel. The price of the drinks was extortionate in the bars and restaurants. Table water was between €3 - €4, draught beer was around €5 and cocktails were €9. If there are a few of you, it would be cheaper to get a taxi to Elounda and have some drinks there.

The waiters / waitresses in the main restaurant were efficient, but the service sometimes felt a little soulless with not many smiles being cracked in the evening. I found the live saxophone at breakfast a little cheesy :-)

The gym was tiny for a hotel of this size. With more than a few people in there, it did feel a little claustrophobic.

Overall however, the good far outweighs the bad, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank N0M0reHer0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

We stayed here a week, half board, our room was in the main building (room 213) opposite the Lobby Bar and situated above the Main restaurant. We were welcomed to the hotel with a smile and a glass of champagne.

The room was light and spacious for two, however the room could have slept 3. The bed was a king sized. The design of the room was lovely. Balcony was a good size with a drying rack. Room was cleaned everyday and to a great standard. Theres free tea and coffee facilities.
The only issues we could find with the room was 1. No lock on the sliding bathroom door, we didnt moan about this as we think that was the same in every room. 2. No ironing facilities in the room, so crumpled clothing out of our suitcases stayed crumpled. 3. Now noise, you would think the entertainment in the lobby bar opposite would disrupt your sleep but its the restaurant below that you can hear, unfortunately this noise can be heared almost all the time we were in the room during the day in intervals, to be fair the staff are working to give us great food but if you sleep light maybe avoid this room.

The pool and beach facilities were very good, pools were small but because theres no kids running around, jumping in, we didnt feel it was a major problem. The pool area was clean however the beach didnt quite keep the same standard but staff did try to keep it clean, the sea did have some plastic in but not loads. You could do watersports at the beach, we saw many scuba divers going out. There was always a member of staff around to order drinks from if you didnt want to walk to the beach bar. EVERYDAY WE GOT A SUNBED and were not early risers, we got down to the beach or pool about half 10ish and we always got a sunbed and umbrella in various positions around the pool or beach.

Lobby bar- great staff, great room, lots of seating, great drinks, great entertainment, great atmosphere, a must after dinner. Cocktails are about 9euros and beer about 4euros.

Main restaurant- great food and lots of choice. Unfortunately this is where our positives end. The room is plain and compared to the rest of the luxurious hotel its plain. For the amount of money were paying your not always greeted and shown to an avaliable table, you are expected to walk in and go find a seat of your own around the restaurant, I know were all more than capable of this but there missing a opportunity to build rapport with guests. In a 5star hotel you expect exceptional customer service and its lacking in the restaurant. This system isnt explained to us so we saw queues forming with confused guest left standing for 5minutes waiting for staff assistance. This system doesnt add to the idea of a relaxing holiday and you dont feel welcome. Most members of staff are rude and dismissive. I saw guests glared at for trying to help staff rearrange tables to accomodate larger parties, guests shown to a table but the member of staff is answering a phonecall, then staff clearing tables with guests still sat there and just walking off, no interaction. MASSIVE LET DOWN!

There are so many positives to this hotel but the main restaurant and its staff needs serious work.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 90Frankiecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2016

Dear Guest
We would like to thank you for choosing the Aquila Elounda Village for your holiday and for taking the time to write a review as your comments and feedback are very much appreciated.
I am pleased to hear that overall your experience was positive however, I was disappointed to learn that the restaurant and the service of our staff did not meet your expectations. We are committed to providing the best experience and customer service and indeed previous customer feedback suggests that the quality of our services is very well received. Nevertheless, we sincerely regret the disappointment you have expressed with the restaurant and this critical feedback will be forwarded to the relevant department to review and action.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to hosting you on a future holiday with Aquila Hotels & Resorts.

Kindest regards

Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a sea view room (small upgrade cost but well worth it) number 769. The bed was big and comfortable and the air-conditioned room well laid out, with a spacious covered balcony area looking across the pool areas to the sea. It was a short walk to the pools and then not too much further down to the beach bar and seaside area. Also a short walk up to the main reception, bar and restaurant buildings which are all very smartly finished.
Food & Drinks: we were all inclusive which covered all the food at the main buffet restaurant, so we ate all 3 meals a day there. There is a good varied selection of food, even to cover a wheat avoiding diet. Drinks were a little less flexible as the all inclusive isn't in an odd way where cocktails were concerned. Approximately half the menu was free and the rest extra, in no obvious pattern. Likewise 1 free local lager, but the other imports all paid for (about 10). I can appreciate wines being extra due to cost but couldn't understand the cocktail pricing and logic for having a long beer list at all.
Service: always friendly and helpful as possible, throughout the hotel at all levels. At busy times in the restaurant it was very slow as there didn't appear to be enough staff to cope, and likewise in the beach bar and on the beach.
Pools & sea: we enjoyed swimming in the harbour area (for lack of a better word) with all the fish swimming around too. The pools looked nice, if not a little small, and we only used them once as it was rather boring compared to swimming in the sea. The infinity pool had a good view, but we had this from our room anyway. :)
The beach area, as many have said, is in constant need of litter fishing as the calm waters of the cove appears to collect all the unwanted flotsam of the area. Nothing big but a reasonable quantity of bits of plastic packing etc. The further from the beach you swim the better it gets with the more moving water, and more fun in the waves. The beach itself requires a healthy sand top up as it was always wet and during high tides partly submerged away from the shoreline. The paved areas and cove/harbour wall provide plenty of space for sunbeds away from this though.
Evening entertainment: this didn't quite seem to be focused at the right type of people who were staying at the hotel on the whole, ie older than us (27-32). We were very much at the younger end of clientele for which the beach bar disco night would have been ok if there were more of us. But most people seemed beyond energy for this event. The in house musical duo were very good with covers etc when performing though, which was frequently around the various locations. We spent most of our evenings outside at the beach bar drinking our inclusive cocktails and star gazing. The light pollution isn't too bad, no doubt helped by the empty shell of an incomplete hotel next door, so we could see plenty of constellations, the milky way and passing satellites including the International Space Station.

Our main dislike was the inability to sit outside at bars and restaurants in the evening in the cool, and beach during the day, without getting caught in unpleasant stinking smoke. There were ash trays on all tables and parasols which felt like passively encouraging smoking, but was very off putting as it was impossible to avoid. We dined inside most of the time, fine when very hot outside, and during the evenings saw other people moving inside to avoid the smoke too.
Ultimately we very much enjoyed our restful stay at the hotel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Dear Richard,

We would like to thank you for your review of Aquila Elounda Village. It’s very pleasant to know that you loved your stay in our resort and found it a great place for relaxation. Not many hotels can boast of such a warm and tranquil atmosphere, ideal for happy and enjoyable holidays and a get-away from everyday trouble. We hope that you, being Premium All Inclusive, made the most of the opportunity to enjoy the variety of dishes that we offer to our guests, even though you found some beverage choices a bit confusing. We agree with you that swimming in our beautiful Mirabello bay is hardly comparable to swimming in a pool, even if it is our Infinity pool with its magnificent view. As you, probably, noticed, our staff cleans the beach and water regularly and does everything possible to eliminate the negative influence of human activity in the region and the wider sea area. Furthermore, as we state it everywhere, our guests’ feedback is extremely important for us, so we are happy to inform you, that we have divided outdoor areas of the hotel into “smoking” and “non-smoking” ones in order to make your experience with us even better.


Best regards,

Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews