We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,757 results
Traveller rating
1,261
328
108
40
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,261
328
108
40
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub family pool luxury residences private pool kids club private residence beach restaurant quiet zone spinalonga island one bedroom suite adult pool half board olive trees guest relations golf buggies family suite main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,757 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Pros

Room was 10/10 - two bedroom family suite with sea view and whirlpool was incredible - lounge, balcony, views of Spinalonga, spotless, hot tub on balcony lots of fun for my teen daughters - we were lucky to have corner higher room and not too far from main building though

Breakfast buffet excellent

Friendly waiter and cleaning service

Well situated - 1km from small Plaka - casual tavernas and 5km from Elounda (Ferryman restaurant highly recommended)

Cons

Service is sometimes snooty at entrance to restaurants - could be warmer and dial down attitude on occasions - eg. try and place 11 and 14yo in children's section of buffet every time (with toddlers throwing food around) but charging the 14yo adult prices, Japanese restaurant creates New York vibe to get a table when clearly not full

Cancelled seafood BBQ on beach Wed night (fair enough - was a little windy and spots of rain) but cancelled 9am Sat too and turned out to be most magnificent evening in 2 weeks - had superb dinner at Ferrymans in Elounda - can't help thinking they weren't truthful and maybe didn't have enough bookings - what forecast were they looking at at 9am in the morning? Found this quite frustrating.

Main pool lacks atmosphere and far away from 'good side' of hotel - 10-15 minute uphill & downhill walk, albeit buggy service if you wait

'Adult pool' should be changed to no kids under 12 - my daughters (11 & 14) did spend 2 hours there and were well behaved and not hassled - it is a lovely setting and adds to the slightly 'un-warm' feel having such a strict policy given the main pool is a 15 minute walk from the hotel (see above)

Room tip: Sea view with whirlpool / hot tub - private pool would be cold and a waste in our opinion
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margofam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

The amazing hospitality started the second we arrived. We're were met by Evi the concierge and she was gracious and helpful. We didn't even have to go to the reception desk. She took care of requests got us keys and set us up with a welcome drink and snack. She looked after us during the entire stay. The golf cart drivers that wisk you around the property are always helpful and friendly. One Christos in particular was always kind to our kids and they always looked forward to getting a ride with him. The restaurant staff were always amazing and the manager there, Elena was always stopping by to be sure we were kept happy and satisfied with the service. The hostess at the buffet, Anastasia always greeted our family with a huge smile. The manager of the hotel is named Christos and he was a total professional. The resort is nothing short of spectacular. It sits on a hill overlooking Spinalonga island and the sea of Crete. We never tired of the view as it was spectacular. There are several different types of rooms and villas. We had a family room facing the water high up on the property. it had a jacuzzi bath tub and separate shower, a huge balcony with an outdoor hot tub, table, chairs and incredible views. Many of the other villa rooms have there own swimming pools. The pool is a walk or a quick golf cart ride up over the hill to the back side of the resort. It is a beautiful pool with a lovely restaurant and bar. On this side the "kids club" can be found and we used it everyday. Our two boys loved the activities they had to offer. The beach was especially good as the water is warm, shallow and hardly any waves so its perfect for kids. Food choices are available there as well. One thing to mention is the staff. They absolutely made this trip special. We were celebrating our sons birthday and our anniversary on this trip and once they heard that we found a bottle of Champagne and desserts in our room. The staff are always friendly and respectful, happy and always and I mean always willing to help out no matter what. They will stop at nothing to make sure you the customer are happy. I travel quite a bit and I'm a lifetime Platinum member with Marriott. This was the best family stay ever!!

Room tip: Higher on the hill provide the best views. Easier access to the pool. Farther from the beach.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

The overall stay was fantastic. We were upgraded on arrival to a villa which was exciting and the staff really stood out throughout as extremely charming and helpful.

The crèche was excellent - our son really enjoyed it there (although would have liked to go outdoors a little more perhaps?) and the crèche staff were superb...

...Which gave us a wonderful opportunity to relax in the mornings down by the beach. The beach was one of the best 'all round' beaches we've come across - having trees all the way down to the water is both very attractive and provides shade for those who burn easily, while the shallow, sandy and sheltered water was perfect for both children and adults, with plenty of space for both. The watersports team were also very helpful - we rented a boat for a morning and found a lovely deserted beach, and got the speed boat across to Spinalonga (very interested Venetian fortified island & leper colony) which was great fun!

The restaurants were all good; breakfast by the pool every morning with plenty of options. We didn't use the buffet much in the evenings as our son found all the options & children too disruptive (he wanted to play instead! :-) ), so the kitchenette in our villa really helped. We decided to eat out mostly in Plaka for dinner (fresh, local seafood - 5mins walk from the hotel), although we did eat at the Asian restaurant once which was very good. The Italian didn't appeal as you can have Italian anywhere. Topos 1910 - the seafood restaurant on the beach - is the hotel’s greatest wasted asset. If you're by the seaside...you want to eat fresh seafood...yet Topos is rarely open and has one of the best locations in the area. Such a waste of a great location.

Small things to improve:
- egg cups for boiled eggs in the morning...otherwise how are you supposed to hold them?
- lids for tea pots! Or tea just goes cold!
- provide mugs in the rooms; the coffee cups offered are too small for tea.

Big things to change:
- Pool temperature (NB: September): Heat the pools - very few little children wanted to get in because the pools were so cold! The adults weren't so keen either! Defeated the point of having so many pools!
- Sunbed Reservation: this was the strangest thing we have ever seen at a hotel - and is extremely un-democratic/Greek! Every day a whole row of sunbeds would be 'reserved' at the beach, yet no one would appear. Eventually everyone just got annoyed and started using them. This practice must end. It's just wrong.

We had a fantastic time and will definitely recommend the hotel to our friends and hope to come again ourselves!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bear5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

A very high standard hotel with super facilities. The fact that all the staff and entire hotel focussed on young children made it very relaxing and enjoyable for parents and babies alike. The staff in particular are superb.

The only items I would suggest as feedback, which would be the polish on an already brilliant holiday are:

1. Plaka shuttle through the day to save the walk with children along the road

2. Toddler pool temperature warmer. I know there are rules about outdoor pool temperatures but if there is a way to cover the pool/make it indoors to enable this it would mean toddlers have somewhere to go for longer periods of time in cooler days

Thank you and definitely see you again!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rupertstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

If you are going to visit Crete, please do yourself a huge favor, and stay at the Domes of Elounda! We stayed five nights in a three-bedroom private residence with a pool and the kids loved it. I have to applaud the resort on their customer service. The concierge staff, the HL concierge, the house manager, the food and beverage manager, the club car drivers, the wait staff, and the maids were all gracious and bent over backwards to ensure that we had a fantastic stay! We traveled with a child with severe food allergies and the Food and Beverage manager went out of his way to ensure that our child was safe. He met with us upon our arrival, talked with the wait staff for us, and showed up at every meal to check in with us. They were very careful to cook my son's food separately and to ensure that he was able to eat food that he enjoyed! I can not praise Konstantinos enough! As for things to do at the Domes, we had so much fun swimming in our pool, swimming in the big pool, and we really enjoyed the beach. The kids built sand castles and played in the water for hours! We also made use of the sports hut to take sofa rides (so much fun!) and to book a boat ride to Spinalonga. If you are at all considering Domes of Elounda, I highly recommend that you make a reservation!

Room tip: Our three bedroom residence was an easy walk from the HL breakfast spot & Living Room, main pool, and kids club!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathierucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews