We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
71
23
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
23
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning breakfastrooms were very cleannice hotelon arrivallenaairportseabalconyfridgeolivescomfort
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed there for three nights. The location is great since is away from the chaos but on a hill so very quiet and with a stunning view on the city. Most of the rooms have a balcony from where you can enjoy the amazing sunset on the city. By car then the city centre it's just a few minutes away. Spacious bedroom with a big hall too with character. Lots of light and quite clean. They provide bathrobes and slippers which is nice and complimentary water and wine which is very nice! The owners are lovely and accommodating. The only negative note was the bathroom, a bit squashed and with a constant smell of sewerage that would fade slightly in the morning or if you kept the windows open. Truly a shame because otherwise this is an amazing value for money that we highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gilda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Two bedrooms in one. When warm outside: Chill in bedrooms, even with aercondition turned off for the night. Renovated, modern bathroom. Good matresses. Breakfast, easy as expected, children ok too. Nice personell. Off course, it is Crete! Guests from Greece also. Nearest nabour is Benetton, Market hall and street to old city of Chania. We would love to visit again. Kali mera :)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank iGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We spent 12 nights at Hotel Akrotiri from July 6th-18th.

We woke up to a wonderful view every day. The breakfast was wonderful. We have some allergies, and Lena was very accomodating, and brought us fresh gluten free bread every day. The breakfast area is outside with white table clothes and a very nice atmosphere. Also very family friendly. We could also bring the breakfast up to the room, where we some days had late breakfast on our private balcony.

There is a drying rack for drying clothes, which is great after a long day at the beach. The back yard is wonderful, with exotic animals and fruit trees.

When we arrived Ilias and Lena gave us maps and showed us how to get to the city and how to travel around the area. They are wonderful hosts, and are great at including you and making you feel at home and relaxed.

We did not have car, but that was no problem. Most people had a car, and there is plenty of parking spots available. There is a bus service close to the hotel that takes you downtown, It runs several times per hour, and a costs 1.20 if you have a prepaid ticket, or 2 Euros if you buy it on the bus. It takes about 10-15 minutes. A cab costs from 4-7 Euros. We also walked a few times, but found the bus to be more convenient due to the heat.

The room was cleaned every day, everything was clean and fresh towels every day if we wanted it.

The beds were comfortable, and there was a spacious wardrobe for hanging clothes.

There a gym nearby with a great view as well, and modern facilities. It costs 7 euros for a day pass, or 25 for four days.

We had a room with a ocean view, and that was very nice to wake up to.

If you want to go to the beach by bus, there is a bus stop 5 minutes a way that will take you to many of the popular beaches.

Lena is always avaliable and very helpful. Lena and Ilias even brought us with them for a familiy excursion to a nearby beach. Lena will also help you book all kinds of excursions should you be interested in that.

This is a great place to stay, we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Øyvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night but would have for more if we could. The rooms are really good -- we had a large bedroom with an excellent bed, then a separate room with chairs/TV/fridge, as well as a bathroom and a large balcony where you can hang clothes as well as eat/relax. The decor and feel of the place is very Cretian, very local, and the lady who runs it is very helpful and professional. It has that charm that accompanies family-run establishments. We were happy to stay there and would definitely return. A nice breakfast tomorrow. It's in a quiet suburb, so you need to take the bus into central Chania or have a rental car.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank col2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Subject: Hotel Akrotiri
Location: Chania Town, Chania Prefecture, Crete, Greece, Europe

If you're looking for an all night bar, an Olympic sized swimming pool and a bustling, busy street full of bars and nightclubs then this is not for you! If, however, you want a gentle, welcoming and unique hotel experience that is quintessentially Cretan then welcome my friend to the Akrotiri hotel. In the decade or so that I have been travelling around the beautiful island of Crete I have not encountered the equal of this gorgeous, quirky little gem.

Run by the wonderfully calm and serene Lena and her equally gentle husband Ilios, the Akrotiri sits in the suburban hills above the large, busy port town of Chania. Conveniently, the local number 11 bus service stops almost outside the front door and a mini-bus shuttle service to the quietly breath taking Marathi beach is less than a ten minute walk away. Taxis in to the town are also cheap at around 8 to 10 euros.

The rooms in Akrotiri are unique, each with its own charming character though in truth they are more suites than rooms as on both occasions staying there we rested our sun blasted heads in palatial sized suites one more generous than the other! Friends travelling with us were given a "smaller room" in which you could comfortably bed down a medium sized family.

There is no bar or restaurant service though breakfast is a lovely continental style buffet with excellent coffee, fresh bread, cheese, boiled eggs, cooked meats, cereals etc. If you want a beer or two for your evening terrace there is a medium sized Lidl tucked away quite close to the hotel and your room has a good sized domestic fridge for the all important chill down. If you want a more substantial night out "Legends" bar and grill house is a mere 10 minutes walk down the road (see separate review) and I can heartily recommend it.

The hotel is situated on a small busy road so expect some traffic noise but trust me when I tell you that breakfast on the terrace with a panoramic view of the bluest sea ever will more than make up for the occasional passing car or bike. I am stopping off at the Akrotiri on my next visit to Crete in 2 months time, I'm already counting the days!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelJC747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews