We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Akrotiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akrotiri
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Wonderful proprietors Elias & Lena, extremely kind and go out of their way to help and make your stay perfect. Outside the main town and in an elevated position so wonderful views from your room's generous balcony. Within 15-20 mins drive of some beautiful beaches on the Akrotiri Peninsular.

Room Tip: On the front of the hotel with balcony facing over the town and out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savinhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed there for three nights. The location is great since is away from the chaos but on a hill so very quiet and with a stunning view on the city. Most of the rooms have a balcony from where you can enjoy the amazing sunset on the city. By car then the city centre it's just a few minutes away. Spacious bedroom with a big hall too with character. Lots of light and quite clean. They provide bathrobes and slippers which is nice and complimentary water and wine which is very nice! The owners are lovely and accommodating. The only negative note was the bathroom, a bit squashed and with a constant smell of sewerage that would fade slightly in the morning or if you kept the windows open. Truly a shame because otherwise this is an amazing value for money that we highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Gilda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Two bedrooms in one. When warm outside: Chill in bedrooms, even with aercondition turned off for the night. Renovated, modern bathroom. Good matresses. Breakfast, easy as expected, children ok too. Nice personell. Off course, it is Crete! Guests from Greece also. Nearest nabour is Benetton, Market hall and street to old city of Chania. We would love to visit again. Kali mera :)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank iGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We spent 12 nights at Hotel Akrotiri from July 6th-18th.

We woke up to a wonderful view every day. The breakfast was wonderful. We have some allergies, and Lena was very accomodating, and brought us fresh gluten free bread every day. The breakfast area is outside with white table clothes and a very nice atmosphere. Also very family friendly. We could also bring the breakfast up to the room, where we some days had late breakfast on our private balcony.

There is a drying rack for drying clothes, which is great after a long day at the beach. The back yard is wonderful, with exotic animals and fruit trees.

When we arrived Ilias and Lena gave us maps and showed us how to get to the city and how to travel around the area. They are wonderful hosts, and are great at including you and making you feel at home and relaxed.

We did not have car, but that was no problem. Most people had a car, and there is plenty of parking spots available. There is a bus service close to the hotel that takes you downtown, It runs several times per hour, and a costs 1.20 if you have a prepaid ticket, or 2 Euros if you buy it on the bus. It takes about 10-15 minutes. A cab costs from 4-7 Euros. We also walked a few times, but found the bus to be more convenient due to the heat.

The room was cleaned every day, everything was clean and fresh towels every day if we wanted it.

The beds were comfortable, and there was a spacious wardrobe for hanging clothes.

There a gym nearby with a great view as well, and modern facilities. It costs 7 euros for a day pass, or 25 for four days.

We had a room with a ocean view, and that was very nice to wake up to.

If you want to go to the beach by bus, there is a bus stop 5 minutes a way that will take you to many of the popular beaches.

Lena is always avaliable and very helpful. Lena and Ilias even brought us with them for a familiy excursion to a nearby beach. Lena will also help you book all kinds of excursions should you be interested in that.

This is a great place to stay, we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Øyvind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night but would have for more if we could. The rooms are really good -- we had a large bedroom with an excellent bed, then a separate room with chairs/TV/fridge, as well as a bathroom and a large balcony where you can hang clothes as well as eat/relax. The decor and feel of the place is very Cretian, very local, and the lady who runs it is very helpful and professional. It has that charm that accompanies family-run establishments. We were happy to stay there and would definitely return. A nice breakfast tomorrow. It's in a quiet suburb, so you need to take the bus into central Chania or have a rental car.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank col2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
2.9 km away
Bozzali
Bozzali
#53 of 111 in Chania Town
121 reviews
0.7 km away
Monte Vardia
Monte Vardia
#30 of 111 in Chania Town
155 reviews
15.8 km away
Stratos Villas
Stratos Villas
#1 of 1 in Melidoni
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
Esplanade Hotel Apartments
#38 of 111 in Chania Town
127 reviews
3.3 km away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#11 of 111 in Chania Town
389 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 111 in Chania Town
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrotiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri

Address: 127 Profiti Ilia, Chania Town, Crete 731 33, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: €41 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Akrotiri 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Akrotiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akrotiri Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing