We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
47
75
36
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
75
36
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location old town small balcony within walking distance the bus breakfast was included reception staff central location short walk harbour sea raki hania
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

This was my first time staying in Chania and at the El Greco Hotel. I chose this hotel last minute because the original hotel I booked was not within walking distance of Old Town. The hotel is very quaint with local charm. I stayed on the main floor for a long weekend. The room did not have a window and was right next to the kitchen/dining area, so it got noisy. I could also hear people walking around upstairs and toilets being flushed, and the closet had a musty smell. Still, I was grateful to get a room last minute. I decided to extend my stay and was given a room upstairs. I liked this room much better as it had a window and was much brighter. The a/c also seemed to work better. The furniture is very simple and the bathrooms small but standard. The housekeeping staff keeps the rooms and whole facility absolutely spotless, and the people at the front desk were helpful and friendly. As a solo traveler in a foreign country, I felt very safe, and liked that I had to turn in my key when I left the hotel, and retrieved it when I returned for the night. The breakfast was also simple, but just right to get the day started. The location was excellent; easy access to Old Town shops, but on the edge so not so noisy. The rates were very reasonable for the location. If you are looking for luxury, then you should probably look into a 4-star hotel in town. El Greco was perfect for my needs, and I would not hesitate to come back again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

I last stayed in Chania in April 1977 sleeping on the beach at the Rock Raki Cafe . There have been changes ! The pedestrianisation of the old town was a great idea and has enhanced the peace and beauty of the old narrow streets. El Greco is situated in the old town , the only place to stay in Chania.
it is small all of the guests are civilised and pleasant. A very special stay in an exquisite location .

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stevewigzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018

This hotel was nice and quiet and it was in a great location....you are next to everything

The rooms are a little small, but overall it was a great stay!

There is a little breakfast buffet in the morning and the girl at the front desk was very helpful!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank daners123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Front desk staff (in particular, the girl who works the morning shift) is incompetent. Likes to sit on the computer and play games rather than attend to emails that guests have concerning their stay. Also, seemed annoyed by the fact that she had to do her job (ie answer legitimate questions that guests had).

False advertising on the site - if you like to shower where you go to the washroom - this is the place for you! Tiny washrooms that aren’t at all like the ones shown in the photos on the site.

Beds - rock hard, uncomfortable. It’s funny - if you plan to hike the gorge or even do a considerable amount of exploring and look forward to a comfortablw sleep at night, El Greco is NOT the hotel for you.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank G6658FJalexr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

El Greco delivered all it promised online and more. Clean, well-run, comfortable, friendly staff, and in the best location in old Hania. Blue sea at one end of the street, mountains at the other and surrounded by cafes, restaurants and independent shops.

Room tip: Rooms at the front have balconies over the street, but all rooms can access the 3rd floor balcony and really lovely roof terrace.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews