We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
173
34
6
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
34
6
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun city regular guest pots and pans poolside bar within walking distance agii apostoli minute walk clean pool sheets and towels this family run hotel until midnight bus stop beautiful town samaria gorge venetian harbour gina beaches
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Would go back today. Great people in great Greek tradition. Hard working, warm, and they provide very pleasant accommodations. Stayed 10 days and the time flew by. Close to Chania city, bus stops right in front of hotel. If we travel back to Crete, will stay at SunCity.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Deanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I spent around 10 days staying at this hotel with my 8yr old daughter...

It was a last minute decision, so we didn't have much to go apart from a few old TA reviews, which all seemed very positive.

First impressions were a little daunting as it was the first time we had ever decided to stay in a hotel with only 1 star and on room only. But we stayed positive and optimistic.

Check in was quick but as we arrived early are room wasn't ready so Gina (hotel owner) kindly offered us a coffee and fresh orange juice as we waited.

Once the room was ready we were taken up to a room on the first floor.

In the room we had everything we would have needed and then some, a kitchen area with all required utensils including a kettle and pots and pans etc. A safe which is operated with a key as is the air con. It also had a fridge which was perfect to store all our drinks.

The beds were a little hard but we didn't mind and didn't ask for the mattress to be changed which I'm sure would have been possible.

The bathroom was tiny, well actually it was more a wet room. Everything was functional and the water pressure in the shower was excellent!

The rooms come with a balcony either facing the rear fruit trees or he pool to the front.

In summary the rooms are basic but totally functional for a nights sleep and we loved our stay in this hotel...

The hotel has a nice big and deep pool at 2.8m with a nice shallow side for kids. It was perfect to cool off. I have to say I was extremely pleased with the cleanliness of the swimming pool and all areas of the hotel including our room.

Food wise the hotel offers lights snacks which can be purchased at the pool bar, I would highly recommend the chips, omelette and toasted sandwich! Delicious every time!

Drinks are reasonably priced too and in line with local tavernas in the area.

The hotel is positioned perfectly so that you can get to 3 really nice beaches or jump onto a bus from the bus stop outside the hotel to get to Chania or take a wonder around the local area and discover some great tavernas.

It's also in walking distance of two supermarkets and a fun park where the little ones can have a game of crazy golf or bowling.

The people are what makes this hotel special. It's owned and run by a Greek family and from the moment you enter you feel like one of the family.. The hospitality shown to my daughter and I was more warming and special than I've ever experienced in any 5* hotel... This is because it was sincere.

I miss them all already from the fantastic laugh of Gina's husband to Gina and her daughters all very kind and exceptional in delivering a super 5* service to all guests... It's probably why so many of them have been returning since the 90s!

If you want a hotel that is close enough to 3 amazing clean beaches and to all the tavernas then look no further than SunCity, it ticks all the boxes and you will meet some very special people on the way!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank Unicornbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

SunCity hotel was an excellent surprise! We booked in the last moment and this was one of the few choices left so we did not know what to expect.
They have a big wonderful garden with a place where you can eat (bar food but very tasty and prepared on the spot), a big swimming pool and a part with grass which gives color to the whole place.
Parking is right in front and it is free. The rooms are big and clean and they have all that you need. The shower is something that can be improved (I could barely move in it and I'm 1.74 and 70kg) but it does the job. The WiFi sometimes has problems in the upper levels but if you also have packet data available in roaming then you shoul be fine (or go down in the loby - garden).
Gina and Maria are awesome people. They helped us with every little detail. We caught Maria less busy one afternoon and she drew on the entire map of the region all the nice places we should visit and how to get there.
The bus to Chania (10 min) is in front of the place while 3-4 beaches are in short distance (10min walk).
I would definetly recomend staying at SunCity in Kato Daratso! We will come back here the first chance we get.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank Adrian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

It was perfect staying in lovely charming hotrel.
Thanx to zena to do our time better and her husband Manolis and both girls.
This is very< important- how to treat the guests.

Swimmingpole is nice and breakfast in garden really perfect. And Zena serves it till 12 am !!

So - nobody will be not satisfied in Suncity hotel¨¨

Room Tip: ¨rooms on the nord side - are more cold even there is Aircondition
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daša G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016

If tou wish to take a break and be made to feel part of a family you could do no better than join Gina, Manolis,Maria,Ilianna and staff at suncity Chania for a great relaxing time in there oasis.
Step outside you will find good beaches and plenty of good taverns all within easy walking distance a local bus just outside which takes you to Chania which is also walkable along beach Gina will book trips nothing to much trouble for her or family
Please try for yourself you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Front of hotel looks over the pool and gets sun in morning rooms at rear gets sun at night a small 3 storey hotel with lift
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews