We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Cretan Food”
Review of Oinopoieio

Oinopoieio
Ranked #31 of 510 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

I didn't read any reviews before I went there, I just looked at the crowd and saw lots of locals so I knew that place was the right place to try Cretan kitchen. I had stir-fry lamb cooked in olive oil and wine which was served with fried potatoes. It was a big portion and very well cooked. The meat was very soft and well marinated. Also they brought tasty toasted breads and complimentary desert at the end.

Both inside and outside was well decorated and cosy and service was fast and friendly.

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank NalanSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Excellent place to go for dinner. Great value - the extra deserts and fruit were great. The food was exceptional. We were 5 people dining and everything we ordered was both interesting (bitter greens which I think are chicory) but excellent. Would thoroughly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

In the street with the minaret (which you can see when sitting outside) this place does excellent imaginative food - the salad and the aubergine dishes we had were wonderful. It's far from being a tourist venue - there's no churning out of food here, but rather it's carefully prepared. The service was at the peak of Cretan charm - delightful people.

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank africaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Restaurant Oinopoieio
Is Located in an alley Away from the hectic tourism part of Chania which for me made this restaurant a perfect place to have Dinner.

The Food
When eating in an Authentic greek restaurant like Oinopoieio, my experience tells me to not order food as how you usually do. Instead we choose 4 different dishes and had then all served at once (like a meze).
The food we had was not only inviting, tasteful and fresh but Also reflected the Authentic greek kitchen which you want from a place like this!

The Service
Was top quality! The male servant was smiling, friendly and made us as a couple Feel Very welcome. This guy deserves a star for himself. God job!

Last Words
If you are tired of regular tourism food and want to have a taste of greek with quality service, then it would be a shame not to visit Restaurant Oinopoieio!
5 stars!

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank stefank294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Came here with 2 friends and we were all thrilled by the delivious food and the friendly stuff! We ordered a lot of different plates and we couldnt stop eating and enjoying every bite! Very good prices as well! Would definitely recommend everyone to try it!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oinopoieio also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Oinopoieio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing