We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Immaculate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

You can hardly touch anything in the Casa Delfino without being impressed by its quality - from every offering at the breakfast table through comfortable linen, beautifully constructed marble bathroom (where for once in Greece the water goes where is it meant to and not all over the bathroom floor), right up to chromed hinges on fine hardwood shutters. As they say - no expense spared - and incredible attention to detail. The staff are terribly polite, and charming too. In most places in Europe you would expect to pay at least 50% more for this quality.

There is a but. While every individual detail of our sizeable suite was perfect, the total was less than the sum of its parts. The room was modern and in a soothing grey... everywhere. Grey walls, grey furniture, grey fabric... no complaints about modern design and something minimalist in the decor, but just grey...? The living room was large and had its own TV but it felt spartan. Two sofas and a chair were placed against walls and bore no relation to eachother - it felt a little like the waiting room of a Swiss dentist and there was nothing there which invited one to linger.

In summary, we in no way begrudged out 200-and-something euros for a night as the value is really quite good. On another occasion,however, we would most likely accept a lower level of perfection to find greater charm and warmth in interior design elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    96
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
134
467
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

A very professionally run hotel with charming people led by the owners daughter, Margerita. You start to understand the sole of the town and the beauty of Crete when taking their advice on places to visit.
The hotel has three main aspects, the tranquil open courtyard, the rooms in the original buiding and a stunning contemporary refurbishment built into the original stone walled fabric. If you 'book rooms not hotels' then the presidential suite is a must. When it became free half way through our stay Margerita suggested we try it. It is top class.
We soon noticed that the food and wine in the restaurants that they recommended us to was of a very high quality and very reasonably priced. There is a strong culture of natural methods and produce which start at breakfast in the hotel where Margerita's family seemed to make almost all the food.It was all excellent.
The weather was very good to us over Easter, the local people were extremely friendly, the scenery stunning and being based at Casa DelFino was an great choice.
Charnia Crete is a hidden gem of a place. If you find a hotel as good as this one you will have done well. Regards, 'Victor Meldrew'

Room Tip: Presidential suite has terrace overlooking port, two bathrooms, jacuzzi bath, super king bed and fib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 127robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Casa Delfino for 5 nights over Easter, Margarita and her team were on top form. Nothing was too much trouble and we were delighted with the friendly, efficient and genuine service that was delivered effortlessly throughout our visit. The restaurant recommendations and suggestions for hiking trips were spot on ..and added to our enjoyment of this beautiful location. Our suite was split on two levels, spacious well furnished and with Marble bathrooms on both levels. Breakfast was simple but delightful with fresh homemade delicacies served until 1100am every day. We've been fortunate to enjoy some of the best hotels around the world, and this place could teach many of them a lesson with respect to the attention to detail and customer focus. We look forward ro a return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Spent a weekend here. Lovely hotel, great staff, clean nice rooms. We were upgraded on arrival. Breakfast was really good. Staff recommendations on dining were spot on. Gave it a 4 only because the hot water was scarce and the Internet off and on.

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tml_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Casa Delfino from 23-25 March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We travel frequently and have high standards for both room quality and service. Casa Delfino did not disappoint. Our room was large, beautifully furnished, and equipped with a jacuzzi in the marble bathroom. The hotel was just steps away from the waterfront area, but set back from the Old Port so that the rooms and hotel were quiet and peaceful. Moreover, we were amazed with the quality of service. The front desk staff arranged for a car to take us to Knossos, organized spa treatments for both of us, and offered terrific suggestions on sights to see. Breakfast every morning was largely homemade by the owner's family -- descendants of the original Delfino family. Margarita, who manages and partly owns the hotel, is extremely impressive -- she is kind and hospitable and also extremely efficient. When we return to Chania, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad or loud room in the place -- it's set on a pedestrian street, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chania Town
0.6 km away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.3 km away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
44.7 km away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.9 km away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.7 km away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.1 km away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa

Property: Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Address: 9 Theofanous, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#4 Family Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Delfino is a 17th-century Venetian palazzo that has remained in the same family for centuries. With just 24 rooms and suites, decorated with a mix of bespoke furniture and antiques, Casa Delfino is both intimate and exclusive. A pebbled courtyard of hand laid mosaics is a romantic oasis where guests can read, relax, or simply soak up the serene ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Delfino Hotel Chania Town
Casa Delfino Hotel And Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing