We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveller rating
399
47
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
47
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold portmaritime museumold buildingfennel pierose petalsquiet corneryogurtperfect locationvenetian harbourmodern bathroomwatching the worldthe entire staffbreakfast was amazingfirst floorwonderful hotelrestaurants and shopsharbour front
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 454 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Eva and Eleni were exceptional hosts, giving us great information and recommendations of places to go, restaurants and shops to go to. They deserve a raise. They are the face of the hotel and live doing their jobs well!

Food at breakfast was very good as well a very helpful and friendly server!

Rooms were very comfortable.

Great location.

Hope we make it back again to stay in the future ☺

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KWinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear KWinton,

Thank you for your kind feedback!
Indeed Eva and Eleni are great hosts and we are really happy that you felt that! Great Greek hospitality!
We do hope that you make it back in the future and we will be more than happy to welcome you again at the old port of Chania!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Our week in Chania in this beautiful boutique hotel has gone all too quickly .
We feel nourished nurtured and cosseted and will miss the huge and delicious breakfasts . The coffees brought to our room .
Elena who can't do too much to make our stay perfect . The restaurant staff who always made us feel so special.
The staff lugging all our bags up the stairs to the most gorgues room like a luxurious Greek studio overlooking the quiet part of the fort .
Thank you for showing us that Crete and Greece is as it has always been. A happy nation eager to share their lives and hospitality with us . And unfailingly generous .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Linda B,

This is Greek hospitality!!
We are excited that you felt that way after a week at Alcanea!
We always do our best to provide high hospitality standards and it is very promising that our guests feel that and remember Greece at its best!

Thank you for your lovely review!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

This hotel was so quaint and adorable. It is right in the harbor area and is in walking distance of everything!

The staff of the hotel was amazing. They were always cheerful and wanted to assist in anyway to make our trip perfect.

We planned on leaving early one morning to do a day trip and the staff packed us breakfast and lunch to go. This was an amazing touch!!

Our room looked out towards the lighthouse, so we kept our windows open at night to be able to listen to the waves crashing. It was amazing.

The rooms were very nice (a tad small) but we were barely ever in the room, bathrooms recently renovated.

I would highly recommend staying here in Chania. It felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank McKenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Mc Kenzie B,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt like home! This is exactly the spirit we are trying to work on.
Early breakfasts are very helpful in case you need to go before our breakfast time, you can relax by the idea that your bag is full of fruits, sandwiches etc.

Thank you for your kindness and we hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We spent 3 nights at this perfectly located wonderful hotel. The staff cant help enough, Eva and Helen have great knowledge of area and helped us make good decisions each day regarding beaches, restaurants etc. The breakfasts are delightful, such a range of options to choose from, you have to try the different Cretan pies, our favourite was the Fennel Pie !

Our room was large and comfortable and there was a balcony overlooking the harbor where we could watch the sun set.

We had problems with our hired car and couldn't get hold of the company whom we rented it from, Eva took over and made it her mission to track down someone who could assist us, she continued in her pursuit even when she went off duty and eventually she managed to get hold of help that came to our aid, we had already checked out the hotel and were en route through the mountains to another hotel, we were stuck on the road and the only thing we could think of to do when we couldn't raise the car hire company.....was call Eva, what service !!

This hotel is highly recommended, it set the tone of our 7 day sty in Crete :)

Room Tip: Room Vi is the best , top floor, beautiful view
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john_zylstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear John_Zylstra,

Hello from Chania!
We really want to thank you for your kind and warm words!
It was a great pleasure to welcome you and provide all this service you mentioned!
We are always ready to deal with each problem and that is what happend conserning your hired car. Thankfully everything settled and you managed to continue your trip!

We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future!!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

We had room 6 for 2 days, spacious, private terrace with breathtaking seaview. Great bedding, fine (egyptian?) bedlinen, very soft towels, in one word perfect. The breakfast is a treat, fresh pastry, fresh orange juice and lots more, it's served on the seaside terrace even at 12 if you want..
But what made our stay unforgettable is the friendliness of the young staff, a very warm, genuine, greek welcome at our arrival that made us feel among friends for two days. A special thanks for Eva and Eleni, you're the best.

Alexandra & Bram

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Bram B,

We are truly happy that you had an unforgettable stay at Alcanea!!
Indeed room 6 has a great view of the sea and the lighthouse and our front office girls do their best to make you feel like friends!!
We do hope to welcome you back the Greek way and enjoy some more days at Alcanea!

Thank you friends!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews