We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location and even better service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Alcanea was the highlight of our trip to Greece and vies for the best lodging we've experienced in our travels period. The boutique hotel is perfectly situated overlooking the Chania harbor, and Suite 6 has the best balcony view in the City. Breakfast is varied, fresh and well-prepared, but the highlight of this place is the staff. Every single member is fabulous...helpful and willing to take the extra steps to make each guest's visit memorable. This includes packing breakfast to go for early morning road trips, making dinner reservations or arranging activities. We can't say enough about the level of hospitality, but recommend you plan to stay longer than the 3 nights that we did!

Room Tip: It's worth it to book a bigger room on the back side for quiet sleeps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank legr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear legr0,

It is with great pleasure that we realise that Alcanea was the highlight of your trip to Greece!
We always try to do our best and this is a reward for us!
Thank you very much for your great review and we do hope to welcome you back for more than 3 days in the future!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Eva and Eleni were exceptional hosts, giving us great information and recommendations of places to go, restaurants and shops to go to. They deserve a raise. They are the face of the hotel and live doing their jobs well!

Food at breakfast was very good as well a very helpful and friendly server!

Rooms were very comfortable.

Great location.

Hope we make it back again to stay in the future ☺

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KWinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear KWinton,

Thank you for your kind feedback!
Indeed Eva and Eleni are great hosts and we are really happy that you felt that! Great Greek hospitality!
We do hope that you make it back in the future and we will be more than happy to welcome you again at the old port of Chania!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Our week in Chania in this beautiful boutique hotel has gone all too quickly .
We feel nourished nurtured and cosseted and will miss the huge and delicious breakfasts . The coffees brought to our room .
Elena who can't do too much to make our stay perfect . The restaurant staff who always made us feel so special.
The staff lugging all our bags up the stairs to the most gorgues room like a luxurious Greek studio overlooking the quiet part of the fort .
Thank you for showing us that Crete and Greece is as it has always been. A happy nation eager to share their lives and hospitality with us . And unfailingly generous .

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Linda B,

This is Greek hospitality!!
We are excited that you felt that way after a week at Alcanea!
We always do our best to provide high hospitality standards and it is very promising that our guests feel that and remember Greece at its best!

Thank you for your lovely review!
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

This hotel was so quaint and adorable. It is right in the harbor area and is in walking distance of everything!

The staff of the hotel was amazing. They were always cheerful and wanted to assist in anyway to make our trip perfect.

We planned on leaving early one morning to do a day trip and the staff packed us breakfast and lunch to go. This was an amazing touch!!

Our room looked out towards the lighthouse, so we kept our windows open at night to be able to listen to the waves crashing. It was amazing.

The rooms were very nice (a tad small) but we were barely ever in the room, bathrooms recently renovated.

I would highly recommend staying here in Chania. It felt like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank McKenzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear Mc Kenzie B,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and felt like home! This is exactly the spirit we are trying to work on.
Early breakfasts are very helpful in case you need to go before our breakfast time, you can relax by the idea that your bag is full of fruits, sandwiches etc.

Thank you for your kindness and we hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

We spent 3 nights at this perfectly located wonderful hotel. The staff cant help enough, Eva and Helen have great knowledge of area and helped us make good decisions each day regarding beaches, restaurants etc. The breakfasts are delightful, such a range of options to choose from, you have to try the different Cretan pies, our favourite was the Fennel Pie !

Our room was large and comfortable and there was a balcony overlooking the harbor where we could watch the sun set.

We had problems with our hired car and couldn't get hold of the company whom we rented it from, Eva took over and made it her mission to track down someone who could assist us, she continued in her pursuit even when she went off duty and eventually she managed to get hold of help that came to our aid, we had already checked out the hotel and were en route through the mountains to another hotel, we were stuck on the road and the only thing we could think of to do when we couldn't raise the car hire company.....was call Eva, what service !!

This hotel is highly recommended, it set the tone of our 7 day sty in Crete :)

Room Tip: Room Vi is the best , top floor, beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank john_zylstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcanea, Διευθυντής at Alcanea Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear John_Zylstra,

Hello from Chania!
We really want to thank you for your kind and warm words!
It was a great pleasure to welcome you and provide all this service you mentioned!
We are always ready to deal with each problem and that is what happend conserning your hired car. Thankfully everything settled and you managed to continue your trip!

We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future!!

Best Regards

George Vlassopoulos
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 km away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 111 in Chania Town
893 reviews
0.6 km away
Porto Veneziano Hotel
Porto Veneziano Hotel
#5 of 111 in Chania Town
1,349 reviews
0.1 km away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
0.3 km away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcanea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcanea Boutique Hotel

Address: 2 Agelou | Old Town, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: €79 - €251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcanea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Alcanea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcanea Boutique Hotel Crete/Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing