We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hospitality.. The Qinua Salmon Salad is to die for”
Review of Villa des Arts

Villa des Arts
Ranked #321 of 510 Restaurants in Chania Town
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Description: Villa des Arts is the one and only Art Cafe / Bar - Gallery dedicated to graffiti and Stree Art with a selection of international artists from Europe, USA and Middle East. we also host a Taschen bookstore. Chic Lounge seatings in a green beautifully arranged garden our professional team welcome you from 8 AM to 3AM with mixologist starting at 6PM for largest selection of cocktails in Chania.
Restaurant details
Description: Villa des Arts is the one and only Art Cafe / Bar - Gallery dedicated to graffiti and Stree Art with a selection of international artists from Europe, USA and Middle East. we also host a Taschen bookstore. Chic Lounge seatings in a green beautifully arranged garden our professional team welcome you from 8 AM to 3AM with mixologist starting at 6PM for largest selection of cocktails in Chania.
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Lovely waiters in french mariniera uniform, very friendly owners and the art literate Gallery is a unique place filled with midcentury furniture restored and looking very welcoming..
Try their cocktails and the Quinua Salmon Salad is highly recommended.
I would difinitely come again.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rawanrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

We reserved a table. We were seated at a pitch black table, one meter from the "band" (a man and woman doing terrible covers, over a bad and rediciously loud sound system). It took us 45 minutes to get a round of beers, another 30 minutes to pay. In the end, after asking five times, we put 20 Euro on the table and walked away. Then a "waiter" suddenly appered and took our money.
To have to use your phone's torch to see the menu and the labels is not OK. To not be able to have a conversation is not OK. To be openly ignored and met with arrogance by people who don't know their jobs is not OK. Shame on a beautiful house in a nice setting. The night was saved by the good food and service we can find elsewhere. But an experience like this calls for a review, and here it is. I have no photos. Too dark for that. I hope some professional people gets in and runs the place. If so, we may give it another shot.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selassie31, Owner at Villa des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Dear John,

looks like you are the only one who did not enjoy the band :)
we allocated you a dark table because we believe in offering different options to our clients, not everyone enjoy full bright light, that is not the case apparently and asking to be moved under the light could have been a solution but unfortunately you did not ask. 300 people that night, make the night a bit different from a usual service night it sadly did not prevent you to flame the place. No waiter never suddenly appear, your wife came to the counter and pay to my wife and nobody was arrogant to you but extremely nice and apologised for the delay. your comments about the people who run the place and hopefully will take over match very well with all your facebook selfies taken with your friends owners of other places in chania. being nasty to people who brought you the largest selection of craft greek beer is not OK. Expecting free drinks blackmailing places is not OK. returning to our place... not OK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Loved this place, worth the ten minute walk from Chania, quirky and great decor, nice drinks and very reasonable. Very friendly owners. Worth a visit!!

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Warls80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Villa des Arts is laid back, chic bar and gallery in Chania. My boyfriend and I stumbled upon it during our travels and how lucky we were to discover it! The space is beautiful and the cocktails are truly excellent. A haven in Chania, which can be too touristy in certain areas. Don't miss it!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Allegra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stef V, Propriétaire at Villa des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

We were very happy to have you at Villa des Arts, it's always a pleasure to read that our efforts to please our clients pays off. Thank you for your warm comments, have a nice trip back and hope to see you soon.

Stef and Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Everything was great at Villa des Arts;the atmosphere,the place,the music.Excellent cocktail list with delicious cocktails.As for the gallery and the pieces of art.....definetely must see

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank demilixou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stef V, Propriétaire at Villa des Arts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2016

We try our best, and our rewards are cheerful comments like yours, thanks and come back soon:)

Stef & Lena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa des Arts also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Parigoria, Chania Town
 
Agii Apostoli, Chania Town
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Villa des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing