We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
50
47
25
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
47
25
13
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Just arrived back from Kalithea.To be honest having read previous reviews we were expecting a bit more....Our room was not bad ....the usual bit of tape holding things together!! agree with previous person ...selling a self catering apartment when there wasn't even a toaster was unacceptable.We realise you get what you pay for as we stay basic every year ,and it was very cheap however,there is still a level of maintenance that needs to be upheld and it wasn't.
Jan was lovely and works incredibly hard to please everyone during the day on her own - an asset to Kalithea!! Did not feel the same about Nikos.....he was asked a number of times by different families if maybe a b b q could be put on one evening but he was very unwilling.Also what has already been said about the poor dog out the back.It was very upsetting ...considering the neglect and conditions he was kept in, he had such a lovely nature and we fed and watered him along with lots of others.
The views were the best we've ever had in an apartment .....they really do go all a round .You do have to budget for taxis and buses and we can recommend Plaka .Lovely restaurants and fantastic views of Spinalonga.That was a 6.40 euro bus ride there and 13 euro cab ride home.Well worth a visit!
On the whole, it was the people we met and who we were with that made the holiday for us .We are a family of 5 ..our youngest being 4 years old and sadly we would not recommend .It was almost like we were staying in a place that had been given up on and could be made so much more of with just a bit of TLC!!!
p.s the reason i have voted so highly for service was purely down to Jan, and of couse Maria who cleans the well worn apartments!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claire186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Completely agree with the previous review on TripAdvisor. Our apartment was spacious and clean. You have to get a bus/cab everywhere which is a drain on your resources. The bar is manned by Jan during the day and she is absolutely lovely and can't do enough for you. As said previously, the poor dog chained up really upset us and would have put me off going if I'd known he'd been there. We fed him every day and night. Quite upsetting really. Met lots of lovely people though and enjoyed our two week stay. The view is exceptional (as are the amount of mosquitoes - take lots of repellent!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a great place to escape to. Up high on the hill between Agios Nikolaos and Elounda. 4km from nearest town. reasonable bus service. if you want to see something of the island then a car is a must. If your a big party hire a car at the airport saves on transferes as well. ours took ages (1 and a half hours) to get to and fro. people with walking difficulties be aware there are alot of steps to most of the appartments. there was 70 to ours as we were at the top. great view though. We went self catering and expeced to be able to cook. one of the two rings wasn't working and it took 1/2 hour to hard boil an egg using hot water from the kettle. NO toaster, if you can fit one in your case take one. no microwave either so don't expect to be able to do much cooking. breakfast and snacks are available from about 8am to 6pm by the lovely Jan in reception. very helpfull font of knowledge. maid service via Maria is excellent, she really looks after you. daily bathroom bin empty and clean sheets every 3 days. The pool is lovely and deep not much of a shallow bit at all. If you've got kids there's not much for them to do. Air hockey and pool table. A big TV but never saw it on. Not manned 24 hours so if you arrive really late your keys in your room door and a note telling you which one on reception door. Our room phone didn't work so had to use my expensive mobile to phone emergency doctor who was brilliant in the middle of the night. 90 euro for his visit. Aircon paid locally at 4 Euro a day is a bit steep but very nessesary. Didn't like the fact they had a chained up dog at the back of the place, went and fed him titbits most days. not a good impression at all. To be truthfull they don't make the most of what this place could offer. All in all though a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: top gives best view but loads of stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moglentours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After reading other reviews on this place we decided to try it. I found it very quiet and relaxing mainly because you aren't near anything. It's about midway between AgNik and Elounda. There are buses that run hourly but they end at about 9pm so it taxis from then on if you don't have a car. It is not manned 24 hrs but what staff are there are great. Maria works her socks off and Jan (a more well spoken (ex)rep you couldn't possibly find) attends to your daytime needs whilst Nickos does the night time bar shift. All rooms have good views I would say but the higher up you are the more steps you have to ascend. Air con is extra - normal in my experience. Cooking was a bit of a stretch with one electric ring which didn't kick out much heat. We used their recommended hire car company which was very straight forward and cheaper for cash. One thing I wasn't happy about was the chained up dog Arris up behind the main building. I went to see it as much as possible changing it's water and giving it some titbits. We were told it was seen too but still.

Room Tip: I would say half way between top and bottom would be ideal, far enough from the pool but not so many steps to climb up.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

2nd stay here and we really love it. Basic, but clean accommodation and you really can't beat the value for money. Amazing views to Ag. Nik and Elounda bay, simply beautiful. Nice and quite with a well kept pool area with sun beds etc. Nikos runs the bar and is very friendly and helpful. Maria cleans the apartments every day with towels and linen changed mid week. There is a great taverna opposite where the apartments are, which somehow we managed to miss last year. Excellent food with a beautiful terrace that looks down on Elounda bay, very pretty at night with all the lights. Would highly recommend for a peaceful holiday that is exceptional value for money. There is a bus stop just outside, but we had a hire car so could drive to beaches etc.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top have the best views obviously, but you do have to climb about 30 stone steps. Only a problem for some.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews