We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
50
47
25
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
47
25
13
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I loved this place so much. My girlfriend and I wanted a couple of weeks somewhere to relax, rather than the month long adventure holidays we normally take, due to her being pregnant. Well, this place got it just right for us. The views are spectacular looking down to Aghios Nikolaos (cosmopolitan little place with great restaurants) and Elounda (large village with great seafood) from the rooms. I got through six books - that NEVER happens! - here and it was wonderfully peaceful around the pool and on our balcony. The bus stops at the bottom of the drive so you can travel into Ag. Nik. and across the road and forty paces towards Elounda to travel in the other direction towards Plaka (very peaceful and wonderful seafood). €1.60 in either direction and we found that buses were very reliable. Bus timetables on the reception door. :) Jan and Maria work tirelessly all day as you will have read and Jan is always on hand during the day to answer your questions about the area or prepare food/drinks. Maria seems to work so hard and she is lovely too! Nikos is always there at night - don't turn your back on him if you have sunburn! - and always ready to serve you a drink in the evening. The studio we had was very very clean, basic but more than adequate (what do you really need on a holiday like this?!), with a small kitchen area more than suitable for cooking should you want to save your pennies one night, a bath/shower, toilet and A/C at €4 a night. Well worth it once those mozzies get in and believe me, they do...

Restaurant/bar across the road at Adrakos with really good Greek food and incredible views. If you get onto the wine over there and look at the view, you'll find it difficult to leave...

All in all, fantastic location. It's no Elounda Blu but then it's cheap. Excellent value for money for a quiet, well placed, clean, friendly place to stay. I'm not one to return to places for holidays but the next time I want a few days to sit and chill overseas, I'll find it difficult not to go to Kalithea.

For couples! Definitely not for groups of teens!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stoff101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I my sister stayed mid June my sister had travel from Australia we had a good time and enjoyed our stay
Nicos Jan and Maria made us so welcome Jan cook and served us drinks she was very helpful with the bus timetable making sure that we got on the coach back, Everyone who was staying was very friendly and we meet evening for drinks , Nicos is the manager and served drinks in the evening he was very entertaining and we had some laughs .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Midcounties Co-operative
1  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

These appartments are 3k from Elounda and 5k to Aghios Nikolaos with breath taking scenery t this is not for the faint hearted as there are many s teps to the tops rooms,although some are available at lower levels each with a sea view,,the rooms are clean and equipped with bare essentials enough to make a lunch or tea the balcony is private not overlooked ,the pool is cleaned each evening, also the bar is open most of the time with snacks available and there is a small shop for the essentials. A very enjoyable stay here being central with a bus stop outside and a tavern opposite with views of Elounda.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Lovely apartments with stunning views. The holiday was made complete by Nicos, Jan and Maria. Basic apartments with everything you need, kind and helpful locals, fabulous food, couldn't have asked for more. Thank you so much.....Perfect! Phill and Diane.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, stunning
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank isitweekendyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed here in early May and had a fantastic time. It was the beginning of the season so quite quiet, but the staff were amazingly friendly and gave us a great apartment with stunning views each way down the coast and a large terrace which caught the sun all day.

The apartment was equipped with a full kitchenette with all utensils etc. There is a small shop on site but in early May it was quite low on stock so best to bring ingredients with you if needed. Apparently there is also a nice restaurant across from the site but we didn't eat there on this occasion. The pool was immaculate and surrounding seating and loungers were plentiful.

Location wise, the apartments are a little remote from the local towns, but this allows for a peaceful nights sleep and a picturesque surrounding of lemon trees and goat herds. A car is very handy, but buses are regular and close by.

We would definitely return to this area and if we did, we would certainly stay at Kalithea. Especially considering the low price. It appeared far batter value than a lot of other, more expensive, hotels that we passed on the way there.

One word of warning, we booked through Sunmaster.co.uk who tried there best to ruin our holiday. Avoid them at all cost.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a balcony and sea view. But I think we stayed in '21' which was very large (1 dbl room, 1 twin room) and had a huge balcony. It was also detached from the other apartment units which gave some privacy and quiet - not that it was ever noisy. The apartment was towards the back right as you look at the site.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews